We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bel Mare Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Bel Mare Hotel to your Saves list
Bel Mare Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lardos 85109, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Lardos
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“nice staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

nice staff, free wifi in the reception. Not really much diversity in the breakfast buffet though. Nice pool and bar by the pool. The air condition is 8 euros per night i thought that was a bit excessive.

The location could be a bit better but for the value it's pretty good.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GisliFreyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

We visited this hotel for a one week break in early September 2011.The hotel was adequate for our purposes and very reasonably priced. We booked bed and breakfast only. The breakfast was continental but unfortunately a let down, however there are a couple of restaurants next door to the hotel that serve very good food. The room was a good size but the bathroom was the biggest letdown, and the sink covered pretty much the whole bathroom. The air conditioning in the hotel is charged at a daily rate of 8EU and in the middle of the summer this is a must. The beach is a 5 minute walk away and was very nice. Pefkos is 5 minutes on the bus, and Lindos is about 10 minutes. The bus stops outside the hotel and had a fairly good service. You have to visit the restaurants in both Pefkos and Lindos. Overall this hotel was adequate for a budget break, you get what you paid for and I would recommend this for couples looking for a budget base without children.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Tony1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

This was our thrid visit to Rhodes.. and was a last minute booking. Before we have stayed in Pefkos (Matina and Pefkos Beach) but we couldn't find anywhere this time so we decided on Lardos.

Location
Not so great. You need a taxi or a Bus to Pefkos as it is a 40 minute+ walk as we discovered on our first night...
The guys in the hotel will order you a Taxi but it will cost you an extra 2 euros. We did this once and just to go to Pefkos cost us 10 euros. If you flag a taxi down yourself, it will cost about 7 euros.
To save even more money. you can get the local bus, this is 1 euro 20 cent and the bus stop is just up the road from the hotel (not far at all)

There are three local supermarkets which are good but they all have very simular things in them. I think there are about 3 places to eat locally maybe more.. but to be honest we only ate once in Lardos.

Hotel
First impressions were ok, the Guy who greeted us was lovely and help carry my case to our room..
The first night was so hot I took off my bed sheet and slept on the floor... in the morning I discovered there was loads of ants about!! They were everywhere in the bath, the sink, my suitcase everywhere!

Air conditioning is available at 8 euros per night! So this added another £50 to our holiday as you certainly need it... and the maid turns it off when your out!!

The apartments are bed and breakfast .... we never actually ate breakfast in the hotel as there was only bread and ham... but my mother in law said the bread was lovely.
There was a fridge in our room... no hob, kettle or anything...

The beach is about 250 metres away.. maybe a little more...
The pool is small but its ok

I personaly wouldn't go back to Lardos, but this place is ok for a base but it is really basic. If i were to go back to Rhodes, I would go to Pefkos and stay in the Island Blue Hotel or Pefki Islands. We spent most of our time here as all my partners family where out ther for his Brothers Wedding... these are lovely hotels with gorgeous pools and lovely lovely food!

We really are not fussy about where we stay... were only 23 and dont have high expectations but the main problem was generally the location of the hotel. Pefkos is more lively but its not full of nightclubs or anything.. just lots of beautiful resturants especially Nostalgia and Inigma :) There is much more things for kids to do in Pefkos too as the pubs have massive play areas for them; bouncy castles ect.

I think we paid about £350 for 1 week each, and you do get what you pay for but we stayed in Pefkos (Matina) for less and had a kettle... the main thing my boyfriends mum missed as she stayed in this hotel too.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank samantha c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

We have just arrived back from a week here and would not recommend, we were very disappointed. I have stayed in cheaper, better self catering accomodation. The room was very basic but it was the bathroom that was rubbish, the sink was so hugh that you could not sit straight on the toilet (not a problem for chaps) but for us ladies my knees were touching the bath (in case you were wondering I am not a big girl) . The shower was near to useless, the sink had no plug the hot tap was cold and the cold tap was hot. We had problems with the air conditioning kept turning its self on and off and blowing warm air out and beeped every time it did this keeping us awake most of the night. We made two complaints and it was repaired on our second day, but the room was left in an appalling state and I again had to speak to the manager to get the maid to clean the room. Not the best start to what was supposed to be a relaxing holiday. Needless to say we will not be returning.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank useruk711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

When we first booked the hotel, the agent described it as clean but basic and that's all we wanted and exactly what we got. The room was clean and had all the things that we would have needed such as a fridge, little dressing table and big wardbrobes, and we had a good sized bathroon with a shower and a balcony. The pool area and bar were really nice and well priced. Bar food was again, nice and very reasonably priced. However, the staff were absolutley amazing. We arrived at 3am and Nikos was just brilliant. Showed us personally to our room and even re opened the bar for us. He remembered us every night of our stay and was friendly, helpful and it was obvious that he cared about the hotel and its guests. Location wise, its a 20minute walk away from Lardos, which has some lovley bars and restaurants and about a 40min walk away from Pefkos. The local buses unfortunately aren't very good but if you're lucky (unlike us), there won't be a taxi strike on when your there. All in all, great holiday and will definately be returning!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank aimzdudette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2011

We have just returned from a wonder week’s stay at the Belmare and would recommend it to everyone. We were nervous when we first booked our holiday on the internet as there weren’t many reviews for the Belmare or much information on the internet about it. However as soon as the coach dropped us outside all our fears were squashed, it is a lovely and pretty little hotel. The greeting we got at reception from the owner was very warm and welcoming, he showed us to our room and could not do more for us. The hotel is spread across 3 / 4, 2 story villa type accommodation and is very charming, the grounds have some wonderful flora and fauna in them. The swimming pool is a great size with plenty of sun beds and umbrellas and the sun is on the pool area all day long. The bar serves some great food from Greek mezze to pizzas all washed down by lovely cold beers (in frozen glasses) and cocktails. The bedrooms are great, nothing fancy but very clean and comfortable and they have everything you would want, fridge, television, hairdryer, extra pillows, extra blankets, power shower and a bath and the balcony is a lovely size with a table and chairs so you can sit out and enjoy the view. The hotel is a 2 min walk, to the beach and is located directly opposite a great little shop that sells everything from you could possibly want and a great car hire place 2 min walk away that offered very reasonable deals. Lardos and Lindos are both short cab rides away and if you ask reception to book the taxi it arrives minutes later. We could not fault this hotel at all, it is a charming family run hotel and we are already booking to go back in September.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank KennySarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

We were a bit nervous about staying in the Bel Mare after reading the negative reviews and because we'd booked last minute. However, the warm friendly welcome (from the infamous Nikos), clean room and lovely poolside area soon put our minds at ease! We can't remember a week when we've laughed so much and this was mainly due to the lovely people we met. Hellas mini golf is a MUST the couple that run it are so sweet, and if you get to the weekly finals you'll get your picture in the paper :) The sunseekers cruise, run by Perikles and Nikos (no.2), is also recommended - ask for some raki :)
There are lots of lovely bars and restaurants nearby. The local Taverna Perikles is one of our favourites as is Valentinas in Lardos - ask for Petros the waiter - but watch out for the EVIL cat!! Nearby Yammas bar, run by George (from Cambuslang, aherm!!) is also worth a visit!
Overall, the Bel Mare is what you make it. For the price you pay it's good value for money and in a good location. Although Nikos and Aggis don't know everything they're more than willing to ask their dad :) We went hoping for fun in the sun...and that's exactly what we had!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank TheJollies4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lardos
0.5 mi away
Olive Garden Hotel
Olive Garden Hotel
#5 of 15 in Lardos
4.0 of 5 stars 377 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lindos Princess Beach Hotel
0.0 mi away
Sunshine Hotel
Sunshine Hotel
#3 of 15 in Lardos
4.5 of 5 stars 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Lindian Village
Lindian Village
#2 of 15 in Lardos
4.5 of 5 stars 568 reviews
20.7 mi away
Eagle's Nest Hotel
Eagle's Nest Hotel
#14 of 35 in Pefkos
4.0 of 5 stars 71 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Kamari Beach
Hotel Kamari Beach
#13 of 15 in Lardos
3.0 of 5 stars 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bel Mare Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bel Mare Hotel

Address: Lardos 85109, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Lardos
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lardos
#7 Family Hotel in Lardos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Bel Mare Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the enchanting Lothiarika area of Lardos Village, Belmare Hotel provides the perfect accompaniment to your stay in Rhodes whether it is for a magical holiday, a romantic getaway, honeymoon or any special occasion. Discover miles of sandy beaches and experience the thrilling water sports only minutes away from the Hotel. Belmare Hotel is conveniently located in the heart of Lothiarika, with bars, restaurants, supermarkets, souvenir shops, beaches, a golf course, car & motorbike rental agencies and a bus stop minutes away from the hotel. Plunge into the outdoor pool with the magnificent Lardos View pool bar serving the most exquisite drinks. Enjoy your favorite refreshing Cocktail while soaking up the Greek sun. Savor the delectable dishes at the Sea View dining area, serving Greek, Caribbean and European cuisine. Enjoy the convenience of the latest technology including high-speed internet access. Belmare Hotel is an exquisite 3-star Hotel with 50 tastefully decorated rooms (queen size double beds and twin beds), including 12 superior/family rooms with a separate seating. Each room has its own private balcony overlooking the freshly manicured gardens, the spellbinding beach or the exciting Lothiarika region. All rooms are recently renovated with the best in class amenities. We guarantee, you will fall in love with the newly refurbished Belmare Hotel and cherish every moment of your vocation with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Bel Mare Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bel Mare Hotel Rhodes/Lardos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing