We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time had” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunshine Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Sunshine Hotel to your Saves list
Sunshine Hotel
| Lothiarika Beach, Lardos, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Lardos
Greenock, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great time had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Just back 5th sept.very clean well run Hotel
my wife and I had an excellent stay for our
2 week. Popi & the family are luvly thanks
mr Alex & mr Peter the food at this hotel is
very good.thanks for all the help when wee
had 2 call the doctor. Mr Allan & Sadie Mclelland

Room Tip: we found the rooms at rear of were quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    32
    8
    4
    7
See reviews for
22
73
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Blandford Forum, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

We were, in the end, really pleased with our choice, being initially slightly disappointed after reading all the rave reviews on Trip Adviser. Its all a matter of perspective! No water on arrival - tiny detail really, but expectations were raised by previous reviewer! When we were led to the (very clean) rear ground floor room with balcony looking out on the slightly barren raised shrub area, we felt a little disappointed. Speaking to someone a couple of days later we learned that the lower down the cooler you will be and the back of the hotel is quieter and cooler too. Then we really appreciated our room! You can hire a fridge 10 EU pw and air conditioning is available at 50 EU. The swimming pool is spotlessly clean and oblong (my husband loved this).

A tiny detail about linen and room service - the towels were very hard and the sheets were a bit too small for the beds so did not tuck in easily lengthways. Although we were were serviced every day I was not aware of a linen/towel change.

The restaurant Popi's is worth five stars, excellent service and brilliant food. We ate there 4 nights out of 7! We stayed B&B as no self catering was available. The breakfast was simple, juice roll and jam, but adequate (full English and other options at extra cost).

If we were to return to Rhodes we would probably stay here again and recommend it to friends too.

Room Tip: Please see above!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Me and my wife had a great holiday, the hotel was clean and tidy the staff were brilliant ,POPI and the family looked after your needs, the restaurant served good food. and steve the barman looked after you at the bar at night ( into morning ) for drinks and cocktails. and meet some really nice people as well would definately return there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012 via mobile

My husband and i stayed for a week. We had a fanastic time, the staff are all really freindly and very heplful. The hotel is very clean and great value for money. The only thing negative was the breakfast but you could by a better one for not much. Met some really great people. would definately return. Great hotel and staff. Have to say a huge thankyou to poppi who is superb. thanks again for a great stay.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

we went here on our first couple holiday,2 week stay, and absolutely loved it!
we're aged 20 and 18.
there was excellent staff, all friendly and helpful.
rooms are spotless, fresh bedding and towels about 3 times a week! cleaners leave rooms neat and tidy.
breakfast is basic, but another menu is available for you if your not happy, but at an extra REASONABLE cost.
pool area is spotless, and the snack bar by the pool had lovely food every time, big portions!
poppy and her family were great, always helpful with anything we needed.
air-con was reasonably priced at 7 euros a day, so 50 a week and the fridge and safe were an additional 20 euro each.
we couldnt have asked for a better location, as we were only 50m from beach, and there was plenty of supermarkets around us and bars and restaurants although if you are looking for a more lively atmosphere lardos is 5 minutes up the road and so is pefkos, lardos is 5 euro taxi and pefkos around 6 euros. all local restaurants and shops all have friendly workers and owners.
cats are wondering around, but your in Greece, where there is a large quantity of wild cats, they wont hurt you as there happy enough to just be lazy and sleep in the shade somewhere all day.

overall the hotel is a really great place to stay, great location, amazing staff, would definitely stay again here without a doubt! I've been to a few places including Rhodes and Crete with family but the hotel this time compared to none. Excellent, we will be returning!

Referring to a review below, there are only 4 Studio apartments, which have the amenities like a kettle etc..you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxon
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Once again we were given a lovely welcome from both the family and the girls who help out (and who have been returning year after year to work here). As usual we couldn't fault the standard of cleanliness in the rooms and the regularly changed towels and sheets. The food in the restaurant is as good as ever and we found it hard to drag ourselves away to other places in the evening. We noticed that the restaurant, rightly so, is becoming more and more popular. The Sunshine is just the place for a lazy, relaxing holiday where you can doze by the beautifully maintained pool all day, or take one of regular buses to Pefkos, Lindos, etc if you want a bit more excitement. There is a small shingley beach nearby with sunbeds available at a small charge. This year we met several guests who where soaking up their first "Sunshine experience" and planning to return. This is a small, friendly, family run hotel which provides very good basic accommodation. You get what you pay for. Would also highly recommend a restaurant in Rhodes Town called Archodiko, just off Sokratous str - superb freshly cooked traditional greek food. Just a point of interest the "cat incident" referred to in another review was a feral cat who was attacking anyone who went anywhere near the garage. There are one or two strays who spend their days quite happily lounging around the grounds undisturbed by anyone.

Room Tip: Back of hotel quieter, but no sea view. They do have SC apartments near pool, but these get booked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayrshire
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

We stayed here in July 2011 and after seeing some of the reviews thought would add mine. Yes, the breakfast isnt great but my son never made it anyway so I managed to get two cups of coffee after the staff realised this. The hotel is in a nice area with some decent restaurants nearby. We usually went to Crazy George's bar in the afternoon for a cold beer and wifi access and to chat to Paul and Diane. Pefkos and Lardos not far away by bus or taxi to enjoy the bars and restaurants there. The pool and pool area at Sunshine is great and room clean and adequate - it really does what it says ont he tin. Poppy and her family were very friendly especially Steve who taught my son how to make cocktails and pour a pint. Lots of people return each year and we might do that at some point.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunshine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunshine Hotel

Address: | Lothiarika Beach, Lardos, Greece
Location: Greece > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Lardos
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Lardos
#2 Family Hotel in Lardos
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lardos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sunshine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunshine Hotel Lardos
Sunshine Hotel Rhodes/Lardos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunshine Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.