We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful location, delightful hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Trapezaki Bay Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Trapezaki
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Trapezaki Bay Hotel
Save
You added Trapezaki Bay Hotel to your Saves list
Trapezaki, Kefalonia, Trapezaki, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Trapezaki
newmarket suffolk
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Wonderful location, delightful hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2007

Just had a very relaxing week at TBH, we booked after reading the excellent reviews on this website & would agree with all the comments posted so far. Most of the ( mostly mature )guests were on repeat visits.
The area is lovely, we hired a car & after exploring this beautiful island came to the conclusion that this was the perfect location as everywhere else was easily accessible.

In Short the best things about TBH are;
Location
Fantastic hospitable smiling staff
Cleanliness
Very Slight niggles are;
Pillows like breeze blocks
Not much privacy on your balcony although this is dependent on where your room is situated.

Nikos & Sofia are very friendly without being intrusive & provide exactly what their guests require, or they know someone who will!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — pillows
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
194
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
suffolk
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2007

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this small hotel. Our time on the island was the most relaxing two weeks that we can remember. The owners (Nikos & Sofia) do their utmost to be friendly, helpful and to create the right atmosphere for their predominantly English guests, most of whom return year after year. The food was excellent, the pool was mainly empty & it was blissfully quiet. When I put my back out, I was offered cushions and a different chair! The airconditioning in the hotel struggled to keep the hotel cool (last week of August), but I'm sure Nikos will recify it. The rooms are of medium size & ours had two balconies, a mountain and sea view - both glorious.
The hotel has some tavernas and beaches within walking distance, but is somewhat isolated. We found having our car for the whole holiday meant that we could tour the island and eat out whenever we chose.
The island itself is incredibly beautiful, but many roads are very steep, winding with scary drops & straying goats! There were some barriers, but not as many as I'd have liked!
All in all a great holiday and we can thoroughly recommend the Trapezaki Bay.

  • Liked — The views, the pool and all the staff.
  • Disliked — The aircon needs attention & only having a bar of soap provided in the bathroom.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2007

My husband and I stayed at the TBH for two weeks in August and had the best holiday ever!
We have stayed in five star hotels across the world, but this little hotel outshone them all in terms of the quality of the care we received. Every little detail had been thought of from the ice cold water and wipes which Marie presented you with as you stepped on board the mini bus to take you to the hotel, to the spotlessley clean air conditioned hotel with chilled bottle of wine to welcome you plus the beach mats and umbrellas you were given free of charge when you left for the beach!! Niko and Sofia are every bit as hospitable as all the other reviews state and were genuinely interested in you as people. Everyone of the staff was helpful and very polite. Spiro, Niko and Sofia's son also makes great cocktails and one evening he plied us with new concoctions he was trying out!!
Much as I love children ( I work as a headteacher), it was lovcely to be in a child free environment for two weeks. It was tranquil and extremely peaceful and the views rfom the hotel out to sea and over Zante are breathtaking. Niko and Sofia are justifiably proud of the hotel they have created and we will be going again next year. It's too good to miss!!
S.Tomlin

  • Liked — cleanliness and friendliness
  • Disliked — Having to go home!
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2007

Without doubt the most relaxing & friendly place we have stayed in.

Everything has already been said about how welcome Nikos & Sofia make everyone feel, & it is little wonder that people keep returning year after year.

There is an ongoing programme of refurbishment so many of the rooms & public spaces are actually even nicer than they appear on the website.

Attention to detail is great - fresh towels & sheets every day, and the food is better than the local tavernas & not much more expensive.

If you are a Brit of a certain age, then this is the place for you!

  • Liked — Setting
  • Disliked — Windy
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2007

We have just returned from our fourth visit to this idylic hotel on the beatiful island of Cephalonia and our holidays seem to be getting better. The owners Niko and Sofia do everything they can to make your holiday memorable and relaxing. It is a child free hotel and kids under 16 are not able to stay. We are not anti children as my wife and I are grandparents but is just nice to get a couple of weeks break to ourselves.The hotel is situated within 15 minutes walk of two beaches( St Thomas and Trapezaki) both with tavernas but there are some steep roads to walk if you don't hire a car ( which is recommended to explore this pretty island). If however you don't want to leave the hotel they have a buffet breakfast that is quite extensive, a pool bar serving meals from 11.30 and a highly recommended restaurant that opens in the evening. Sofia makes sure that only fresh food is served and Niko is incharge of the wine of which I have no complaints about and I tried quite a bit of it. Imust also mention ALL of the staff who are hard working friendly and helpful. A lot of the guests are previous visitors and I think that speaks for itself. Its hard to find anything negative to say about this hotel and we have already booked for 2008 and I advise anyone who wants a relaxing holiday on this island to do the same

  • Liked — The location and welcome from allof the staff
  • Disliked — Leaving it
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South-East
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2007

This is a super hotel overlooking the sea, and Sophia, Niko, and Christina do everything possible to make your stay perfect. We used the hotel pretty much as a base for visiting the south of the island, as we have stayed several times at Fiscardo in the North and wanted to get an idea of the other end of the island. The local beach at Trapezaki is long and sandy and you can walk easily along to Lourdata, and the local beach bar is superb and good value. It was great to come back after dark and get into the floodlit pool in the very hot weather while we there, as unusually the pool is open 24x7. The only real downside is the air conditioning, which compared very poorly with other locations on the island we have stayed at and other countries - it really was ineffective and is in need of some attention which I am sure Niko will rectify. Otherwise we could not fault the hotel which was amazingly soundproof at night, an unusual feature in modern hotels, and it was also kept spotlessly clean in our room and the public areas.

  • Liked — The pool and the cleanliness
  • Disliked — Ineffective air condi
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
1 review
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2007

We stayed in the TBH fo the past two weeks and have never before felt so welcome in a holiday hotel.
Sophia, Nikos and their staff treat you with the highest care, doing their utmost to make your vacation truly something special. We're not used to going back to the same hotel twice, but that might change now.
The hotel rooms are of average size and are being kept clean and well maintained. The breakfast buffet offers good variety of foods for every taste. The pool and the poolbar are a relaxing environment; there are enough poolchairs for all the guests.
Cephalonia is a beautiful island. A car is advisable though.
There are only few restaurants within walking distance from the hotel, but this shouldn't be a problem; the hotel restaurant offers good food and if you're renting a car anyway you can visit some of the restaurants in the neighboring villages which are only a 5 minute drive.

  • Liked — Combination of quality (i.e. comfort, effiency) and atmosphere
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Trapezaki Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trapezaki Bay Hotel

Address: Trapezaki, Kefalonia, Trapezaki, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Trapezaki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Trapezaki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 33

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trapezaki Bay Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.