We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sixth trip to thassos” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lido

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Lido to your Saves list
Lido
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   14 Megalou Alexandrou, Thassos Town (Limenas) 640 04, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“sixth trip to thassos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Sixth trip for my wife and I staying in Thassos town,staying in 4 different hotels,two of which were Thomson.
The pics in Thomsons brochure do not do this hotel justice, it is absolutely spotlessly clean and tidy,bedrooms are great size and so is the ensuite,free air con,d, fridge and safe box.
Breakfasts a must on the patio overlooking a charming garden, pool is only a splash affair indoors with an opening roof,great central location for everything and the pretty harbour.
Try taverna Tavanaki in an alley way for a superb greek menu, two good meals wine and beer for 40ish.euros

Room Tip: room 107 on first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    15
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
33
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Holmes Chapel, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We visited Thassos on a package holiday with Thompson so that our eldest granddaughter could visit her father in Kavala. He picked her up at the airport so that left us with our daughter and youngest granddaughter (eight) in two rooms. The owner, realising that there was only going to be two people in our daughters room immediately took out the spare bed, this was just as well as the rooms at the back of the hotel are smaller and they would have been a little cramped.
We had a nice room (102) on the first floor with views over the pool, gardens and surrounding area. The bathroom was a little cramped but everything worked and there was plenty hot water.
The free air-con worked well, it was sometimes too cold in the morning even in a heat-wave, there was a fridge that made ice (supplemented from the bar for our pre-dinner drinks on the large balcony) and a free safe. the t.v. was a bit ancient with only the dire BBC world news in English but with free wifi we could keep up to date on an i-pad.There was also a kettle and cups etc. which was a nice touch. The rooms, reception areas and grounds were kept spotless by two very hard working ladies, one even cut the grass and cleaned the pool. We gave them a good tip at the end of our stay. The personalised sheets were changed every other day and the bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was a nice leisurely affair without the usual crush and queuing at larger hotels. The food was a bit limited and watermelon was in season so this was on most days, It didn't really go with the fab yogurt so we would sometimes take in a banana. there were the usual cereals, bread, cheese, boiled eggs, omelette, meats etc.
There was a discount for residents in the bar and the mojitos were amazing, made with fresh mint from the garden. The bar area was open to the public in the evenings, it was a little dark and trendy for our taste with chillout music, and usually quite empty. We sometimes had a coffee and brandy there after our meal out and our granddaughter loved to play hide and seek round the dramatic pool and garden area. The hotel is well placed for the town and port areas but once you enter the street outside you take your life in your hands, Cars, scooters, bikes, and even a horse and carriage coming from all directions until you get to the pedestrianised main street. One good thing about Thassos is that the flights have to coincide with the ferries so the times are excellent. We enjoyed the holiday very much.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
u.k
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Lido is a perfect little hotel in the heart of lovely traditional Thassos Town. Brilliant location with all you could want on your door step. Its well looked after and spotless. All areas of the hotel are great for relaxing, particularly the peaceful gardens/pool area that nobody seemed to use! The rooms are cosy (a little smaller than expected) with great town and mountain views. We were at the back of the hotel overlooking the gardens which personally I much preferred. Breakfast was fresh and tasty, and in my opinion plenty of choice - we ate it for 2 weeks and didn't get bored! (tea, coffee, juice, fruit, yogurt, honey cake, cereals, eggs, omelette, beans (cold!), cheese, ham...) There is road noise in the hotel, but that's to be expected considering the location and it didnt bother us at all. Overall - highly recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel have a nicer view. :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Please don't tell anyone about this superb Hotel i want it for myself , Tucked away in the town of Thassos you could walk past it if you were not looking for it.
The hotel Lido is lovely, very smart and spotlessly clean in all areas even in the lovely garden hiding away at the back . The pool although a little small is lovely .
The standard room we stayed in was perfectly clean and very smart not your usual Greek Hotel room, Towels changed every day. The bed was very comfy with great pillows . Breakfast was also the best i have had in Greece and would recommend this GEM of a hotel to anyone

Room Tip: Rooms at the back get the sun all day but nice in the evening in the shade , also room 202 has a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

This was our first time on Thassos but it won't be our last. We chose the Lido following comments by other travellers and we were not disappointed at all. We loved every aspect of this stylish and intimate boutique hotel. We were made to feel welcome from the minute we checked in and to the moment we left. The member of staff who was covering reception on the day of our departure came around from behind the desk to shake our hands! The hotel is spotlessly clean and beautifully decoratedl. There are only 15 rooms over two floors. The rooms are well designed, small but with plenty of wardrobe space. We had a bathroom with a shower stall and there was always hot water. Towels and bedding are changed every two days. The air conditioning is a God send, as we would not have been able to sleep as well as we did. The breakfast was good with hot and cold choices every day. The only disappointment we had was that on two days there was no Greek Yoghurt or peaches!!!

The hotel is conveniently located for shops, restaurants and the beach. There are some lovely restaurants in the town and all very reasonably priced. We ventured out of hte town one evening and went up to one of the local villages for a meal.

Thassos is beautiful and the people are incredibly friendly. We would highly recommend you visit Thassos and stay at the Lido - you won't be disappointed. We wished we had booked for two weeks but we will be back next year and hopefully staying at the Lido.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

The Hotel was beautiful and for the first time we could say that the photos could not do it enough justice. It was immaculately clean and is decorated beautifully. The pool has a retractable roof and it was lovely swimming late afternoon before going out for a meal. It is located a short walk from the shopping area and beach so is perfectly located!! We wished we had booked 2 weeks and would love to return soon but it appears to be getting very booked up ! Would highly recommend it. The breakfast was amazing too! Oh also had mosquito screens over door so no bites !

Room Tip: The rooms at the back face the garden and so would be a bit quieter but the sliding doors are double...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Delighted by this elegant small hotel with a designer's attention to detail,lift,pool,spotlessly clean room on 2nd floor (Rm 205) with balcony on to the front affording privacy and evening sun and really peaceful for sleeping.400 m to beach and a good local restaurant(Simi) and close to the central small shops.Thank you to Panos and his wife and their diligent cheerful team. The garden was a shaded oasis of flowers,and the bar area very attractive for the evening.

Room Tip: Second floor over the street side,corner room with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lido? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lido

Address: 14 Megalou Alexandrou, Thassos Town (Limenas) 640 04, Greece
Location: Greece > Northeast Aegean Islands > Thasos > Thassos Town (Limenas)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Thassos Town (Limenas)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lido 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LIDO HOTEL constitutes a space of high aesthetics and architecture, where the flawless structured service meets discreet luxury, combining the comforts of an ultramodern city hotel with an enchanting setting of the greenest pinewood of northern Greece. Our recently refurbished hotel is a modern and beautifully shaped hotel - with spacious & comfortable apartments, giving in same effort in the aesthetics as in the luxury aspect of its architecture design. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Lido reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lido Hotel Thassos Town (Limenas)
Lido Thasos/Thassos Town (Limenas), Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lido, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.