We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't bother!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Il Posto - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Il Posto
Thassos Town (Limenas), Greece
Improve this listing
Restaurant details
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
“Don't bother!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

Having read the reviews on trip advisor prior to our holiday I was looking forward to a visit to this restaurant.

I seriously wish we hadn't bothered!

We were the only people eating in the restaurant at the time so you would have expected things to be good.

There was an extensive selection of food on the menu, which did make it difficult to make a choice.

We opted for garlic mushrooms for starters, which were swimming in oil & sliced so thinly they were virtually non existent.

We both opted for pasta dishes for the main course, one with chicken, one with bacon. The meat was plastic, the pasta cold & no parmesan cheese in sight!

On top of getting things so wrong with the food even our beers & wine were warm. I had to ask for ice for my wine to be able to drink it.

The only positve thing I have to say about this restaurant were the staff who were very friendly & attentive. Just such a shame the food lets all their hard work down.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    0
    0
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Not great value and a bad belly to boot”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

A group of us went last night on the back of the good reviews. We all had pizza and they varied from uninspiring to inedibly salty and I was sick all morning after having the signature pizza.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidmouth Devon
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Excellent food & a cracking bar!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

The food in Il Posto is excellent not only are the pasta dishes and pizzas the best in town the Greek cuisine is top class as well.
Kosta and Rena are so friendly and the Secret Garden bar is run by Mike who has been on the island for many years and is a font of knowledge about Thassos.
Kosta always tries to add new things to the menu and has a fantastic selection of European/Worldwide beers to choose from, Il Posto is definitely worth a visit for dinner or for a drink when you are in Thassos town.
Lovely place!!

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Overlooked by many, sadly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

We (my son & I) ate a few times this year in Il Posto. It's a great restaurant and not expensive. We first went a couple of years ago having been to the Secret Garden (through and) behind for a couple of beers and decided to try the food. We were not disappointed! The minted meatballs are to die for!!! They'll also bring a beer from the back if you want something out of the ordinary.. german, belgian etc etc - all good stuff. (Mike treats his beers like a sommelier, very knowledgable).
For those who want to ignore the tour reps and make their own way down to the ferry when they're going home, check out the breakfast - even if it's just the bacon butty! Sit and watch the chaos and when the crowds start boarding, drink up and go. They also do a cracking sandwich to takeaway too, saves queuing up at the airport

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle Of Wight
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Couldn't Fault It”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

The staff couldn't be more friendly and helpful. The food was excellently presented and came with a few vegetables (a rarity for a greek restaurant). The chicken a la creme was to die for - it was by far the best one in Thassos town. It was very quiet on the night we visited, which was a shame as it is well worth patronage.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Posto also viewed

Thassos Town (Limenas), Thasos
Thassos Town (Limenas), Thasos
 
Thassos Town (Limenas), Thasos
Thassos Town (Limenas), Thasos
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Posto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.