We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A delightful hotel for a relaxed and enchanting holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vasilikos Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added Vasilikos Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Vasilikos Beach Hotel
St Nicholas, Vasilikos 29100, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 19 hotels in Vasilikos
Stroud, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“A delightful hotel for a relaxed and enchanting holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Vasilikos village (at St. Nicholas Beach) is ideally located on the south-eastern tip of Zakynthos and "Vasilikos Beach Hotel" is a gem situated in this ideal location.

The low-lying hotel is tastefully built around it's own private courtyard at the centre of which is a pristine, sparkling, swimming pool surrounded with reclining sun lounger chairs and umbrellas. Set back to one side of the pool is a very pleasant terrace shaded by plentiful trees with an open-air bar where you can enjoy drinks and snacks in a range of comfortable and relaxing chairs.

One arm of the "L shaped" hotel faces towards the sea (which is around 100m away over their pleasant garden) and without doubt these are the 'prime' rooms to have. The other sides of the hotel are either "garden facing" or "pool facing" but are also very pleasant too.

Our room and all public areas of the hotel were always kept neat, clean and tidy by a tireless crew of jolly staff who always had big smiles and a cheery greeting for us. The reception staff, most notably Hilary (the English lady owner) and Alexisis (her charming Italian lady number 2) were always on-hand to answer all questions about the hotel, the island and it's excursions (surely they must be fed-up with all their visitors asking the same things??? But they never showed it!).

Our room was always impeccably cleaned each day and fresh towels and sheets appeared at frequent intervals. The room, sea-facing on the third floor, had a wonderfully airy north-facing balcony from which we could see both the sun rises and sun sets on either side. It was of a good size with a high ceiling and well equipped with a good bathroom (with a shower - lots of hot water) and a good sized refrigerator (no extra charge). Air-conditioning is available at an extra charge (c. €8.50 per day) but we chose to buy a floor standing fan locally (€20) as I prefer the breeze rather than a cold a/c. To be honest, the hotel may also offer fans - but we didn't ask. Wi-Fi internet is available throughout the hotel with the first 30 mins complementary, thereafter a charge of €10 for 5 hours.

To either side of the hotel are a number beaches starting from around 100m from the hotel. The beaches offer a complete range of activities from full-on water sports with jet skis etc. to quiet relaxing sun-loungers on both sand and grass. As each beach faces a slightly different way the sea conditions can vary from one to another but generally range from calm to a gentle swell with light waves. It is worth visiting each one to see which is best for you!

In the small village immediately surrounding the hotel are 5 'family restaurants' each with a slightly different menu at very reasonable prices. Portions were always generous and we often found ourselves sharing plates. Some beach bars will also serve snacks. The hotel also has a limited, but adequate, menu of snacks for lunch time and the evening. They offer A "Greek Night" on Mondays which looked good fun.

Breakfast was always generous and tasty. Plenty of fresh fruit, yoghurt, boiled eggs, cereals and breads. Fetta cheese and sliced tomatoes also often appeared. Plentiful coffee and tea continually on tap. Cereals with honey and yoghurt were my favourite!

Vasilikos village is a pleasantly quiet location for the hotel. If you want noisy night life, with all that brings, it is further up the coast. Within the village you can hire scooters, bikes and cars with which you can explore the rest of the island. We spent 11 nights at the Vasilikos Beach Hotel and found that it was great to have a car for 5 days so that we could enjoy all that was on offer on the island (I will post separately a list of suggestions).

Without doubt, I reccomend Vasilikos Beach Hotel and a big thanks to Hilary, Alexsis and their team for a delightful stay!!

Room Tip: You may be lucky enough to request a "room with a sea view" which are delightful - other r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Vasilikos Beach Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you very much from myself and the staff team for your very kind words & honest review of the Hotel and surrounding area.
I would just like to point out that the air-conditioning is 7€ per day & safe 2€ per day dependant upon the reservation type. On Individual reservations all charges are inclusive in the rate.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank all of our guests for choosing us this summer and very much look forward to welcoming you all back again in the future.

We head towards winter now when I will be asking Giorgos & Lambis Vithoulkas( the owners) for my budget for 2013. I shall be, as always ,working towards improvements in all areas of the hotel as much as the funds will allow.
Yours Truly,
Hilary Yates, Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    79
    37
    12
    3
    1
See reviews for
26
82
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Very nice hotel with large garden, beautiful breakfast area, big swimming pool. The breakfast was nice, good continental breakfast, with fresh fruits and Greek yogurt. The location is very close to the most amazing beaches and definitely is great for relaxing holiday, far from noise. If you are the young couple though it may be too quite for you and far from any night life. There are some really good taverns just across the street, with great food and reasonable prices, but that is all you can find in the area an night. The Greek night with some food and dances was just ok, would not pay for it next time. Free Wi-fi and parking.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012 via mobile

Helpful owners and friendly staff... Nice people... The pool is always clean..! Nice view from the balconies.. The greek nights are very joyful... There are also cute dogs around... ;) For any question look for Ria! You may find her at the reception desk..

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hebburn, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

I really liked this hotel, it had a great atmosphere and the staff are so friendly, every year i come to greece, i always stay here, i recommend you to do the same, try it, you wont be disappointed. its a great place to bring familys, i must say.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Have just returned from Vasilikos Beach and thought I should add to the reviews of this hotel as they were instrumental in booking this accommodation and staying in the area.

Firstly what does the hotel do well, it has an excellent location, you have a choice of 3 stunning beaches within a 2 minute walk in a beautiful quiet, relaxing part of the island. Secondly the staff are all very helpful, have read many people speak of Hillary and yes she was helpful and welcoming but I would say that for every memeber of staff including the bar staff that have been criticised in earlier reviews. Thirdly the hotel rooms are very clean, the pool and bar area is always kept clean and a very relaxing place to spend your time.


On the negative side I do feel the rooms are dated and if you are used to staying in very modern plush hotels you wouldn't be happy with the quality of the accommodation. However you are not paying 5 star prices so cannot expect that type of room quality so I have no complaints because as mentioned above the rooms were kept very clean. I know the management read their reveiws so one piece of constructive crtiticism and something they could change easily would be the chairs on the balcony. I always feel a balcony is an important place to relax on holiday and the plastic chairs are so uncomfortable it certainly wasn't the retreat I normally like the balcony to be and would be great if the management could address this.

The area is absolutely beautiful, very quiet and perfect for a relaxing holiday. The local taverna's are of a high standard and pretty consistent in their quality. At first glance it appears there isn't enough taverna's in the immediate area but as long as your happy to walk 15 minutes or so and perhaps have a car for a day or take a taxi out one evening there are ample places to eat for 10/14 days.

Great holiday, hope to be back in the area at some stage and if we are will certainly consider staying at Vasilikos beach hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Vasilikos Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind & honest review of Hotel Vasilikos Beach & surrounding area. I agree with comments entirely. We would dearly love to completely re-furbish the rooms but sadly in this harsh economic climate we are unable to make major changes. This season we have been able to provide 1/3rd of the hotel with new high quality mattresses & almost half of the hotel with flat screen tv's together with four extra hand-made double beds & major re-decorating work throughout. We are planning more improvements for next season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

Just arrived back from Vasilikos Beach Hotel after 2 weeks stay - this is our 3rd time.
Have to say once again had a great holiday - Hilary again made us feel really welcome and was really helpful on the occasions we needed her help/advice.
Hotel and our room were very comfortable and the staff were very pleasant and helpful and made our 3rd time at Vasilikos just as enoyable as our first visit.
We enjoyed sitting under the pine trees to have our breakfast which was very good and adequate especially the peaches and greek yoghurt which were my favourite.
This holiday ticks all our boxes and Vasilikos Beach Hotel just adds to our enjoyment.
Hopefully will return next year.
Ken and Pam
Notts England

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

Our second time and we already considering ways of booking for next June altough we've only been back 3 days. The tour operators are cutting the flights back so we need to be a bit inventive.
We had a fabulous time - Hilary and her staff looked after us very well and the room we had was great with shade nearly all day. The hotel is very well maintained, cleaned daily with the pool always immaculate and always with space if you want a change from the beachs which are close by and lovely. The resort is just as lovely and the locals even more friendly to see a familiar face. A new taverna has opened to widen the choice a bit. Will probably hire a car next year - best to see Hilary for the best local deals. A fabulous time was had and thanks to all involved, so we will see you next June,

Andy & Linda Reid
Northallerton

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Vasilikos Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vasilikos Beach Hotel

Address: St Nicholas, Vasilikos 29100, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Vasilikos
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Vasilikos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small & friendly Hotel nestled between the famous St.Nicholas beach with it's Water-sports & Diving Center and the long stretch of beach which starts from the hotel garden. Each area of this beach is defined by its beach bar & provides a different experience along the way.The Hotel is comprised of 52 standard rooms & 2 Suites housed in 3 buildings.The Accommodation is simply furnished.In each room facilities include.. air-conditioning,fridge,TV & telephone,safety deposit box,shower-room & furnished balcony or terrace. WiFi access in all areas of the Hotel. Relaxing gardens with pine trees & palms with a beautiful cool poolside bar serving a variety of dishes & exotic cocktails as well as refreshing drinks & ice-creams. Ample Parking for hotel guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, HotelsClick, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Vasilikos Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vasilikos Beach Hotel Zakynthos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vasilikos Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.