We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best of ZANTE” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Contessa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Contessa to your Saves list
Villa Contessa
3.0 of 5 Villa   |   Xirokastello, Vasilikos 29100, Greece   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“The Best of ZANTE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Just returned from a weeks stay here,rooms spotlessly clean and very comfortable with amazing view from the balcony.We were looking for a more traditional place to stay instead of the usual tourist traps. Spiros goes out of his way to welcome his guests and nothing is too much trouble. Villa Contessa has a few lovely traditional restaurants close by where the food was always good and service excellent our favourite was the Agnadi about fifteen minutes walk away. This is not the place to go if you want to party till late but if you want lovely beaches and a laid back atmosphere i would thoroughly recommend it. Will return one day.Thank you Spiros for an enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 8 great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
34
88
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

This was our first trip to Zante and we picked this area because of the beautiful beaches. Villa Contessa has ten apartments all with a balcony or terrace facing the sea. They are so clean and decorated with modern furniture. The couple who own the villa are extremely friendly and helpful. Treats are put in your fridge from time to time during your stay; it was such a personal touch. We will certainly return to Villa Contessa one day. To make the most of this area you need a car or moped as there is little public transport; hiring vehicles there is easy. The area is quite hilly so would be hard work for those with walking difficulties. Superb studios, beautiful unspoilt area, and a smattering of great traditional Tavernas. Greece at its best!

Room Tip: All rooms have a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Volos
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Zakynthos is a beautiful island, Vasilikos is the area with the nicest beaches, Villa Contessa is perfectly situated (quiet, clean with great view) and the owners are the most appropriate people to make you feel like home. Mr. Spyros and Mrs. Froso, many thanks for a memorable stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

My wife and I couln't have been more pleased with our stay at Villa Contessa. I would have to say that it is situated in the nicest area on the island, it was quiet and had great views and was far enough away from the busy "tourist areas" to give you the piece and quiet you'd expect, but yet not too far that you were limited in any way. Close to nice taverns, two of which are just up the road and close to the islands best beaches.

The Villa itself has nice big rooms and very comfortable beds, all amenities were great and kitchenette. What more can you ask for. Fantastic views. Air conditioning. Rooms were kept spotless each day. Plenty of parking. Free Wi-Fi.

The best part of all was our host, Spiros, who immediately made us feel welcome. Spiros was always available to lend a hand, whether it was to help hire a car, or for directions, or sight seeing ideas or even just to have a general chat over a cup of coffee. Thanks Spiros, you and people like you are the reason why we keep coming back to Greece.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

We stayed at Villa Contessa in June 2012 and there we had fantastic holidays! Excellent villa location is near the best island's beaches. The nearest beach is small, clean, beautiful! All the rooms in Villa have seaview.
Spiros is a fantastic owner! He told us many interesting information about the island! Every day we found some nice presents from him in our room! Like apricots from his garden..The rooms are big and clean. We had two connecting rooms, with big private terrace There were beach beds and umbrellas and enough free place to play with children!
I do recommend this hotel to my friends!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

We've just arrived back from 7 days at the wonderful Villa Contessa, room was spotless, huge bed and great views of the Ionian Sea. Spiros was a great host and we loved his little presents each day. Best beach is Gerakas but Banana beach is very nice too. We will be back !

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

Mr. Spiros, thank you again for giving us a wonderfull experience. Planning on staying for four
nights, we decided to stay for three more. A nice room with a large outside space and a
beautiful view, what more could we ask for. The villa is situated in a beautiful surrounding,on a steep hill, within walking distance of the beach, a shop and a few tavernes. A car is needed if you want to get arround. Mr.Spiros will tell you everything you need to know.
The area of Vassilikos is the most beautilul of the island. If you're looking for a quiet holiday this is the place to be. If we ever decide to come to Zakynthos again we will surely come back to Villa Contessa.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Contessa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Contessa

Address: Xirokastello, Vasilikos 29100, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Vasilikos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Vasilikos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Contessa 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Contessa is located 7 km from the town of Zakynthos and only 3 km from Dafni beach – nesting beach for the endangered sea turtle Caretta – Caretta.Villa Contessa consists of 10 beautiful studio apartments all having been built to the highest of standards with their own spacious private balconies with breathtaking views of the Ionian Sea and at sundown is a wonderful place to enjoy the stunning colors of the sunset.All rooms are clean and nicely decorated with television, air-conditioning, safety deposit box, fully equipped kitchenette containing fridge, coffee maker and all utensils suitable for making light meals and bathroom with shower/wc and hairdryer.Villa contessa is only 150 m from the beach and within walking distance you can find tavernas and a mini market. Some of the best beaches of the island can be found within minutes by car, motorcycle or even a bicycle thus making Villa Contessa the ideal spot for relaxing after a day of exploring the magnificent nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Villa Contessa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Contessa Zakynthos/Vasilikos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Contessa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.