We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“100% sublime!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Niriida Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kamilari
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Niriida Guest House
Save
You added Niriida Guest House to your Saves list
P.O. Box 98 | Timbaki, Kamilari, Crete 70200, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Kamilari B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Greece
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“100% sublime!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

This tiny resort with only 3 detached houses/rooms might be the best well kept (not for long) secret of the island. Location is great as it is really near some spectacular beaches (Komos, Agios Pavlos etc), the sympathetic village of Kamilari, the lake of Zaros, the unspoiled Amari valley. Modernistic and functional rooms are designed by 1 of the 2 owners and they all have a private terrace with views towards the mountains. Breakfast is total bliss as the 2 owners prepare with love and care (home-made breads are lethal). While eating your breakfast let them design your day-trips....

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niriida, Manager at Niriida Guest House, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you very much for your review and your kind compliments. We highly appreciate that you took the time to share your experience with other travellers and we are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay at our guesthouse. It was a great pleasure having you here and we hope to welcome you again in the near future. Best wishes from Kamilari!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
120
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Berkshire
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We stayed here September 2012. A fantastic experience all round. Dietmar and Denis are the perfect hosts - full of useful hints and tips about the surroundings, solicitous about your comfort and experience, but respecting your privacy. Breakfast was a delight with many surprise eggs and totally delicious cakes. Most days, I was so full I didn't need lunch. Niriida is close to many lovely, simple restaurants, an easy stroll in the evening. The rooms were perfect, everything we needed, and beautifully clean. I can't recommend the place highly enough.

Room Tip: All rooms are equally excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niriida, Inhaber at Niriida Guest House, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words and compliments. We are very delighted that you enjoyed your stay at our guesthouse and we hope to have the pleasure to welcome you here again soon. Best wishes from Crete!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

I can not say enough good things about this place. Dennis and Dietmar are WONDERFUL hosts, they make you feel right at home and yet are very discreet. Their property is so beautiful, from the rooms, to the pool, to the breakfast patio, and whenever I'm feeling the winter "blues" here in rainy Paris, I think about the outdoor shower amidst the olive grove and I can't help but smile. What great memories !! Like heaven on earth. We only had the time to stay 2 nights, and it wasn't enough. I can't wait to go back ! Thank you so much for sharing your beautiful place with us.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niriida, Inhaber at Niriida Guest House, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you very much for your wonderful review and all the compliments. It was a great pleasure having you here and we are happy that you enjoyed your stay in our guesthouse. Hope to see you again soon. Best wishes from Crete!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

My husband and I had such a nice time staying with Dennis and Dietmar. Everything was perfect, down to the very last detail. They were so helpful with planning our week in Crete - they know of all the nicest walks, best restaurants and interesting sites.

It is truly such a personal experience - tasting the oil made on the property, sampling the daily selection of freshly-baked cakes and jams. All delicious!!

And at the end of the day, sitting around the beautiful pool amongst the olive groves as the sun sets is absolute bliss.

Can't wait to come back!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niriida, Inhaber at Niriida Guest House, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words and your compliments. We are very delighted that you enjoyed your stay at our guesthouse. It would be a great pleasure to welcome you here again soon. Best wishes from Kamilari!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Everything you read in the reviews already posted remains true. This special place created by Dietmar and Dennis is so successful in part because it is calm, considered, relaxed and understated. Every detail is intentional and designed to improve the visitor's experience - and there was no sense of end-of-season in our late October visit. The other elements that make this a 6-star favourite are the beautiful and peaceful setting, proximity to some stunning coastline, and the connections the hosts have made with local craftspeople and restaurant owners that so enhance your experience. Their recommendations on places to visit and things to do are also well worth following.

Whether you are here to indulge yourself by the pool or to hike through the amazing gorges; to read in your room or swim in the almost-deserted coves, you will not be disappointed that you chose to stay at Niriida except when it is time to leave. Oh, and say yes to a 'surprise egg' with your delicious breakfast.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niriida, Owner at Niriida Guest House, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Thank you very much for these wonderful words. It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback and we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our guesthouse. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voorschoten, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We stayed at Niriida Guest house for four nights during our round trip of Crete. The location is very beautifull and from the property you have great views of the surrounding valley. It is very close to the village so you can walk to the taverna's for dinner in the evening. The accomodation is very spacious with an own terrace and high quality bathroom with indoor and outdoor rian shower. Breakfast was delicious and the afternoon tea was an extra bonus.
The service of the hosts is great. Dennis and Dietmar, are allways there when you need them.
Out of the accomodations we stayed in during our roundtrip this was by far the best! Well done!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niriida, Owner at Niriida Guest House, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind words and compliments. It was a great pleasure having you here and we are very delighted that you enjoyed your stay at our guesthouse. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We are having a very good time, being at Nirrida for the second time. Everything is perfect here! Hospitality of the owners, food, room, lovely pool, privacy. And the surroundings are just of amazing beauty. We discovered new valleys, gorges, mountains with stunning views and picturesque villages. Do yourself a big favor, go to this unspoiled part of Crete, and get spoiled at Niriida guest house.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niriida, Owner at Niriida Guest House, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
It was again a great pleasure having you here. Thank you very much for your wonderful words and for sharing your experience with other travellers. We look forward to welcoming you back to our guesthouse in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Niriida Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Niriida Guest House

Address: P.O. Box 98 | Timbaki, Kamilari, Crete 70200, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Kamilari
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Kamilari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish Bed & Breakfast with three unique guestrooms and a large pool to be found snuggled cosily amongst the olive trees on one of the three hills that make up the picturesque village of Kamilari. Idyllically positioned between the mountains and the sea, we offer all you need for a beguiling and relaxing stay on Crete’s unspoiled south coast. Out of consideration for non-smokers and for fire-safety reasons, Niriída Guest House is a 100% smoke free property. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Niriida Guest House Kamilari, Crete, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Niriida Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.