We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We'll miss you dear friend Aurelio” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Atlantico Restaurante

Atlantico Restaurante
Rua General Humberto Delgado 25/35, Guia, Albufeira 8200 447, Portugal
289 562 098
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 25 Restaurants in Guia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Camberley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“We'll miss you dear friend Aurelio”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We have known Aurelio for over 30 years and apart from being a great chef and restauranteur,he was a good friend who always had time for a cheery word.Condolences to family and staff.Chris&Shirley UK.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    45
    14
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Burnham-On-Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Aurelio, we will miss you”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Atlantico has always been an essential part of a visit to the Algarve. Being just a few days from a return this year, we are devastated to hear of the sad news. Our abiding memory is trying the door before opening time one wet November night, "come on in" he insisted, garlic bread was provided and a carafe of wine served without ordering (!) whilst the staff finished their pre-service meal. Suitably warmed and relaxed we enjoyed, as always, an enjoyable evening. Our sincere condolences to his family.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“TERRIBLE NEWS”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

I would like to add our condolences. Aurelio was a superb chef and attentive host, making you feel that the diners were the most important people in the world. He treated you as if it was HIS privilege to serve you. God rest in peace.

Gerry & Mari from UK

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Sad Loss”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Shocked and saddened to hear about the tragic loss of Aurelio " Mr Atlantico" . Having frequented the restaurant for several years we always enjoyed the hospitality and superb food there. It was like home from home ! Birthdays , anniversaries all spent with our friends and family, Aurelio was always the perfect host and his signature of placing a bottle of port on the table at the end of the meal will always be remembered with fondness !! Our heartfelt sympathy goes to his immediate family. Guia will never be the same again nor the Atlantico !!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Sad Loss”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Dear Friends of this site, it is with great sadness that I have learnt of the passing of the owner of this restaurant, Sen Aurelio. He was the very finest of hosts and his passion for his food and wine were second to none.

Anyone who knew this man, knew he was a gentle man and a gentleman. Personally I have never been to a eating establishement where the owner has such a passion for the food he delivers and the hopsitality he afforded his patrons.

This loss is a loss for all who love food and for those who admire decent men who bring happiness to others. Personally I am devasted. God bless you Aurelio and I thank God that I had the honour of having you as a friend.

DCW

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Atlantico Restaurante also viewed

 
Guia, Albufeira
Guia, Albufeira
 

Been to Atlantico Restaurante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atlantico Restaurante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.