We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEWARE OF OVERCHARGE!!! CHECK EVERY ITEM IN YOUR TICKET!!!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of O Vieira

O Vieira
R. Gen Humberto Delgado 19, Guia, Albufeira, Portugal
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 20 restaurants in Guia
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Guia, Portugal
1 review
“BEWARE OF OVERCHARGE!!! CHECK EVERY ITEM IN YOUR TICKET!!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

I am Portuguese and I know this people! they will overcharge you if they can!!! Always check when the time to pay comes!!! Items that you didn't had suddenly appear on the ticket! Attention!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

73% Recommend
    19
    7
    6
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Barnetby le Wold, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“You really need to try this, ignore the dingy entrance and embrace the local cuisine.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

I've been going to this restaurant for a couple of years every time I've been to the algarve! The staff are very friendly, they can speak English very well and the menu comes in different languages. you get served a couvert which comes to around 2 EUR p/person and you get bread, butter, cheeses, fish paste, tomato and onion salad and olives so its worth the charge. Because Guia is the home of chicken peri-peri they will ask if you want peri-peri or wether you want to see the menu, don't feel forced to order the chicken they are happy to get you the menu. If you order the chicken it will be nothing like nando's, the local chickens aren't force-fed like ours so the chicken will have less meat on the bone, but the flavours that you get from it is second to none. I have the mixed kebab, its amazing, chunks of steak, pork and mediterrainean vegetables grilled. Its all so well priced, a t-bone steak the size of the plate it was served on with chips is 15 EUR it is such a well priced restaurant for amazing quality food. The house wine is perfect with your meal and really well priced too. Our family of four got couvert, mains, drinks and desert for 80 EUR for the party.
I really would recommend the visit to anyone, it is a fantastic place!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Always very good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

We visit this pleasant restaurant every time we stay in the Algarve, the food is always very good, a traditional friendly atmosphere for locals and visitors. If you want fine dining and to spend lots then this is not for you, however if you want good food drinks and value for money with a good night then this is well worth a try!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Just a nice place to eat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Pros-everything full 4 course meal including wine 10.50 euro. Try the sardines. Almond pie with cream pie--share with someone.
Cons-ate too much

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very good chicken piripiri”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Good Choice and tasty food , real typical and everything in a nice family athmosphere - always worth visiting

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O Vieira also viewed

Guia, Albufeira
Guia, Albufeira
 

Been to O Vieira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage O Vieira, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.