We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit of a let down” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Teodosio

Teodosio
Algoz Road 8200-417, Guia, Albufeira, Portugal
351289561318
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 25 Restaurants in Guia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Portuguese
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“A bit of a let down”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Have been coming here for years and we were really looking forward to returning, chicken piri piri is always a highlight of a holiday in the Algarve. Maybe the place has just grown too large, the staff were a bit curt although it wasn't that busy and the portions a bit stingy. Disappointing.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    66
    39
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“hot stuff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We went to Teodosio for dinner , we are all glad we did , it is not an intimate dining experience, the place is very big and gets busy. The service cannot be faulted, someone said the staff were miserable, we did not find this, they were very helpful and polite and in view of how many people were there , service was very very quick. We had chicken with and without piri piri both were good
Several of the party said it was well worth the trip , and it was. You have to go , its like going to Japan and not eating sushi, you wont regret it and it is not expensive , with a couple of small beers , about £14 a head

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“King of Chicken!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Or 'Rei de Frango' as their self acclaimed title states - they're not wrong though...

It's a favourite destination when in the area, big canteen style Portuguese family dining experience - it's Chicken PiriPiri, Pork Fillet, Chips and Tomato salad in quantity.

Excellent service, fantastic puds and great value - it's tricky to find (on the road to Algoz off the EN125 at Guia) but find it at least once!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“The best piri-piri Chicken in Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

I've been to this restaurant many times before and I never get tired of it.
Chicken is great, the chips are amazing (they are home made) and a great salad.
Everytime I visit the Algarve, teodosio is on my route.
Be aware though that the restaurant is all about about piri-piri Chicken so if you are looking for something else this restaurant is not for you.
Also important is the large car park.
If you plan to go in for a meal during High season, make you arrive early or you might have to wait a long time.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne, australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Amazing!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We decided to come here to try the Piri Piri chicken. It was pretty busy, but as Portugal was playing a soccer game it didnt get busier until after the game. There is no menu, but all you need to know is the word 'frangos' (chicken). The meal begins with the usual bread, olives, cheese that is bought to your table in most Portuguese restaurants, but if you eat these you pay for them, so just say no if you dont want them. The hero then comes out - the chicken - served on a platter in the amazing mix of olive oil and spices, with a platter of chips and a platter of tomato salad. We were enjoying this so much that we asked for another half serve because we didnt want it to end. We also did go for desert too. It was full of Portuguese, rather than international tourists, which is a nice change when in the Algarve. Definitely add this to your to do list.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Teodosio also viewed

 

Been to Teodosio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Teodosio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.