We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A peaceful place for a holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nostos Village Hotel and Bungalows

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Nostos Village Hotel and Bungalows to your Saves list
Nostos Village Hotel and Bungalows
Bay of Janeria, Skiathos Town, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Skiathos Town
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A peaceful place for a holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

I honestly have to say that Nostos is our ideal holiday destination We love Greece and the no frills accomodation puts us immediately at ease. Ok so its not to everyones taste but don't choose this hotel as a destination if you want five star experience. That's not what Greek holidays are about .They are about the people and the rustic down to earth beauty of the country. Nostos fulfils all of this. The people are a joy to know Poppy, Effie, Harry, Panos and George head up the most hard working dedicted team you could ever hope to have in a hotel.The pool area is often so quiet it is like a private villa.The bungalows are basic but very clean and the hotel is more upmarket . The tavern has excellent food and lovely wines and of course Mythos The beach is a delight and well mantained. All in all I can say with certainty that after eleven years of holidaying, Nostos is home from home. See you next year .

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    31
    16
    15
    31
See reviews for
33
52
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

On arrival we realised we were at the of hill with 280 steps down to the beach!
The pool area was unkept and univiting
We waited for luggage for an hour so had lunch at the pool bar this was awful and very expensive.
After walking down about 100 steps with some help from George carrying our luggage we arrived in the room! This rinsed me of a cave with basic essential amenities .
You hold the shower in your hand and shower!' Air conditioner worked but that noisy you got no sleep ! Poppy I'd as false as rocking horse poo poo!!
However Skiathos is a beautiful island

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Skiathos Town hotels

Nr Doncaster
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Our room (426) was very small but the balcony was fantastic with a view out to see, and very quiet. Apparently the rooms on the top floor of the hotel are the best so it's worrying what the rooms on the lower floors and the bungalows are like. I think some of the bungalows are in the process of being refurbished but some are clearly no longer used. They are on a path that doesn't get cleared very often so don't bother investigating this part of the complex. I found a decomposing cat on one of our walks in this area. The funicular still isn't working after several years out of service. There is a car service down to Nostos beach taverna and back between 9 and 4 then 7 to 11 but this does mean you have to carefully think about what time you come back if you want a lift back up to the top. If you walk there are over 340 uneven and irregular steps from top to bottom and no hand rails. At night it gets very dark on the steps so take a good touch. On my last evening the car used for pick up/drop offs broke down but we managed to get a lift up from one of the staff. Unfortunately my friend was staying an extra week and she went grocery shopping having been told by reception that the car was fixed but when she arrived back at the Nostos bar for pick up she was told the car wasn't working and she would have to walk all the way up. She had to leave her shopping behind as she couldn't possibly carry it all the way to the top.

Poppy is often in reception and if you have a problem or query she is always eager to help. We had reported our door lock faulty and when we returned home late one evening our room door was wide open. The evening reception didn't really understand so the next morning we reported it to Poppy, she arranged for it to be sorted and was upset that our room had been left unsafe. George is one of the men who often does the car run and is always cheerful. There is a great guy at the coffee bar down on the beech and collects drinks orders from the beach. He had his 23rd birthday whilst we were there. He hopes to work and further his business degree in the UK at some point in the future so readily engages in conversation to improve his language skills. Unfortunately I cannot remember his name but he makes the most delicious coffee. Finally the new Manager called Panos is working very hard to improve the Nostos village and hotel complex's ageing appearance in the most difficult of circumstances. Whilst I was there many of the guests had noted that paths were being cleared and some things improving. Hopefully Panos will get the support from the owners and he will achieve great things. It certainly has potential to be a lovely complex but a lot needs to be done to make it what it pretends to be.

Great swimming pool, few facilities. Breakfast poor.

Room Tip: If travelling with a friend and don't mind a small room ask for 426
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We previously stayed here some years ago and had a wonderful holiday. We used to hop aboard the funicular and have lunch at the fabulous beach taverna and at night we would take the little ferry into Skiathos town, to take our pick of all the busy restaurants. Happy memories.
This time, it was different. Very different.
For a start, on arrival we were told that half board was compulsory on our self-catering holiday. Then, that the funicular was 'out of order'. It must have been out of order for a very long time indeed because there were trees growing on the line.
Instead of being in one of the bungalows as per our booking, we were put in the main hotel. This was described as an upgrade but it turned out that everyone staying there that week had been put in the hotel - all in adjoining rooms, probably to make it easier for the cleaners. The noise was a significant problem.
Because we were on the blessed half board, we ate breakfast in the hotel - the same every day and fairly uninspiring. Do not, on any account, consider scrambled eggs. Dinner was most disappointing of all - the hotel has bought the beach taverna. So now it offers a very limited menu of uninspiring dishes. Hardly anything for vegetarians, which is unheard of in a Greek taverna and when I asked if they could possibly do a stuffed tomato (try finding ANY taverna without that on the menu) the waiter simply shook his head and said that wouldn't be possible - without even asking in the kitchen. It wouldn't be possible of course, because they don't have to try. They can serve half-hearted meals which would leave the place empty anywhere else and rely on all the poor unfortunate residents who have been hit with surprise board arrangements.
There is only Wi-Fi in selected parts of the main Reception and there are over 400 steps between the hotel and anywhere.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We came to Nostos on an RCI exchange, and this positive review is a result of being moved out of the bungalow we were initially offered, and into a lovely room in the main hotel block. If this move had not have been possible, given the state of the bungalow, we knew we would have gladly paid to move to a different hotel.

We had a lovely week, and hotel has much offer. Top of the list is the service offered by hotel manager Panos, and his team. Friendly, charming, helpful - the people are the hotel's greatest asset. Perched on the top of the hill, the hotel has a beautiful view of the sea, a glorious, huge, warm swimming pool and pool bar, a beautiful taverna at the foot the hotel on the beach. It is a great location on one of the best beaches on the island, and it had the feel of an authentic Greek resort, rather than an antiseptic international chain.

For me, this ticked all the boxes, and we had a lovely week.

Things I didn't like? There are plenty, but that didn't spoil the week. Our room was run down, and if you are looking for a modern bathroom you are going to be disappointed. The wifi is only available in main reception, and was very unreliable. The food was plentiful, but unadventurous. No international TV channels, only Greek.
And those 400+ steps down to the beach will get on your nerves after a while.

We rented a car, which I would strongly recommend, and driving around the island was a great adventure. We also rented a boat for the day which was a hoot.

Room Tip: Check out the room you are offered before taking your bags in. I asked to be moved, and the manager...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We felt in love with Nostos 21 years ago, and still feel like it is our home away of home. Beautiful nature, hotel nestled in green peaceful pine wood, and shell like beach with natural shadow brings the memories of old time. In contrast, evenings in Skiathos town move you into all night fiesta on Greek way.
Staff is more than friendly, bungalows and hotel is very clean and well managed.
We only miss the escalator on our way from beach. With reparing it Nostos can be a 5 stars hotel!

Room Tip: Avanturist and nature lovers go in bungalows. Spoiled take a hotel rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

If you want clinically clean and super smooth then go elsewhere, Nostos is Greek which means relaxed and full of character and proud of it. And so it should be. No plug? go and buy one. No kettle? use the frying pan or take one (like we did this time). Can't do steps? ask for the car or make the effort it does get easier. When you get to the top look up and see that view, the swallows, that breakfast!
Our apartment was clean and kept clean during all our stay (hubby did the washing up bless him) beds are v. firm but a folded blanket helps the old bones. George was always on hand for technical hitches (hurrah for George) and carrying cases. We had 2 connecting rooms and 1 air-con unit did for both of them at night as I like peace and quiet.
The mandatory half board is a pain but is negotiable (lunch instead of dinner) I just wish they did tea and coffee in the restaurant at all times and not just at the beach bar, also plain ice cream would be a simple alternative as a desert. Can't fault the staff though, great bunch especially Angelos.
The beach there is very well looked after, not private but feels like it. There is a taxi boat to town or you can get the bus very cheaply.
Last but not least the famous Poppy Derkos, who helped us do an overnight trip to Athens, complete with booking a hotel and organising a guide. She even lent me a bag for the trip, a super lady indeed.
Skiathos is beautiful, the people are great and Nostos is a great character filled resort.

Room Tip: The 'suites' are lovely with the best views but the bungalows are more 'Greek'
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Nostos Village Hotel and Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nostos Village Hotel and Bungalows

Address: Bay of Janeria, Skiathos Town, Greece
Location: Greece > Sporades > Skiathos > Skiathos Town
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Skiathos Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Nostos Village Hotel and Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nostos Village Hotel And Bungalows Skiathos/Skiathos Town
Nostos Village Skiathos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nostos Village Hotel and Bungalows, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.