We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gone done hill (and it's a long way back up!)” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Nostos Village Hotel and Bungalows

Save Saved
You added Nostos Village Hotel and Bungalows to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Nostos Village Hotel and Bungalows
Bay of Janeria, Skiathos Town, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 13 hotels in Skiathos Town
Stafford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Gone done hill (and it's a long way back up!)”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We previously stayed here some years ago and had a wonderful holiday. We used to hop aboard the funicular and have lunch at the fabulous beach taverna and at night we would take the little ferry into Skiathos town, to take our pick of all the busy restaurants. Happy memories.
This time, it was different. Very different.
For a start, on arrival we were told that half board was compulsory on our self-catering holiday. Then, that the funicular was 'out of order'. It must have been out of order for a very long time indeed because there were trees growing on the line.
Instead of being in one of the bungalows as per our booking, we were put in the main hotel. This was described as an upgrade but it turned out that everyone staying there that week had been put in the hotel - all in adjoining rooms, probably to make it easier for the cleaners. The noise was a significant problem.
Because we were on the blessed half board, we ate breakfast in the hotel - the same every day and fairly uninspiring. Do not, on any account, consider scrambled eggs. Dinner was most disappointing of all - the hotel has bought the beach taverna. So now it offers a very limited menu of uninspiring dishes. Hardly anything for vegetarians, which is unheard of in a Greek taverna and when I asked if they could possibly do a stuffed tomato (try finding ANY taverna without that on the menu) the waiter simply shook his head and said that wouldn't be possible - without even asking in the kitchen. It wouldn't be possible of course, because they don't have to try. They can serve half-hearted meals which would leave the place empty anywhere else and rely on all the poor unfortunate residents who have been hit with surprise board arrangements.
There is only Wi-Fi in selected parts of the main Reception and there are over 400 steps between the hotel and anywhere.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    26
    14
    10
    21
See reviews for
20
44
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, England
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We came to Nostos on an RCI exchange, and this positive review is a result of being moved out of the bungalow we were initially offered, and into a lovely room in the main hotel block. If this move had not have been possible, given the state of the bungalow, we knew we would have gladly paid to move to a different hotel.

We had a lovely week, and hotel has much offer. Top of the list is the service offered by hotel manager Panos, and his team. Friendly, charming, helpful - the people are the hotel's greatest asset. Perched on the top of the hill, the hotel has a beautiful view of the sea, a glorious, huge, warm swimming pool and pool bar, a beautiful taverna at the foot the hotel on the beach. It is a great location on one of the best beaches on the island, and it had the feel of an authentic Greek resort, rather than an antiseptic international chain.

For me, this ticked all the boxes, and we had a lovely week.

Things I didn't like? There are plenty, but that didn't spoil the week. Our room was run down, and if you are looking for a modern bathroom you are going to be disappointed. The wifi is only available in main reception, and was very unreliable. The food was plentiful, but unadventurous. No international TV channels, only Greek.
And those 400+ steps down to the beach will get on your nerves after a while.

We rented a car, which I would strongly recommend, and driving around the island was a great adventure. We also rented a boat for the day which was a hoot.

Room Tip: Check out the room you are offered before taking your bags in. I asked to be moved, and the manager...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We felt in love with Nostos 21 years ago, and still feel like it is our home away of home. Beautiful nature, hotel nestled in green peaceful pine wood, and shell like beach with natural shadow brings the memories of old time. In contrast, evenings in Skiathos town move you into all night fiesta on Greek way.
Staff is more than friendly, bungalows and hotel is very clean and well managed.
We only miss the escalator on our way from beach. With reparing it Nostos can be a 5 stars hotel!

Room Tip: Avanturist and nature lovers go in bungalows. Spoiled take a hotel rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

If you want clinically clean and super smooth then go elsewhere, Nostos is Greek which means relaxed and full of character and proud of it. And so it should be. No plug? go and buy one. No kettle? use the frying pan or take one (like we did this time). Can't do steps? ask for the car or make the effort it does get easier. When you get to the top look up and see that view, the swallows, that breakfast!
Our apartment was clean and kept clean during all our stay (hubby did the washing up bless him) beds are v. firm but a folded blanket helps the old bones. George was always on hand for technical hitches (hurrah for George) and carrying cases. We had 2 connecting rooms and 1 air-con unit did for both of them at night as I like peace and quiet.
The mandatory half board is a pain but is negotiable (lunch instead of dinner) I just wish they did tea and coffee in the restaurant at all times and not just at the beach bar, also plain ice cream would be a simple alternative as a desert. Can't fault the staff though, great bunch especially Angelos.
The beach there is very well looked after, not private but feels like it. There is a taxi boat to town or you can get the bus very cheaply.
Last but not least the famous Poppy Derkos, who helped us do an overnight trip to Athens, complete with booking a hotel and organising a guide. She even lent me a bag for the trip, a super lady indeed.
Skiathos is beautiful, the people are great and Nostos is a great character filled resort.

Room Tip: The 'suites' are lovely with the best views but the bungalows are more 'Greek'
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

This was our 4th visit to Skiathos but our 1st to Nostos Village.
The apartment was spacious with a huge veranda overlooking the sea.
The setting of the hotel is beautiful and the interior is typically Greek.
The staff were very helpful and in particular, Poppy Derkos who couldn't do enough for us.
Skiathos is a beautiful island and we will certainly be returning

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2011

We are Kiwis who have recently spent a most enjoyable week at Nostos Village. We always carefully research the resorts where we choose to stay and noticed the adverse comments from other guests along with many very positive comments. Our concerns were unfounded. We really enjoyed our stay in one of the apartments just below the hotel pool area. The standard of the apartment was quite adequate and was very clean and well serviced. The facilities at Nostos are excellent especially the pool.



While we had reservations about it, we had the mandatory board option which was good value – both the breakfast at the hotel and the evening meal at the excellent beachside restaurant where the service was good. Only comment would be that a little more variety in the breakfast would be good



We found the staff friendly and helpful and we especially appreciated the personal interest and attention to guests by Poppy. Contrary to some other feedback, we found the restaurant to be well managed with prompt service. Also we didn’t mind the steps up to the resort from the beach and used that as an opportunity to get fit. The steps are made well known in RCI guest info and the hotel provided transport for those who find this a challenge.



If you want bland five star globalised pampering go somewhere else. If you want a Greek experience Nostos has a lot to offer.We took away happy memories of our week there and there is lots to see around Skiathos..

----- Original Message -----

Room Tip: Rooms close to reception area are convenient to pool and breakfast area
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2011

We stayed in Nostos for 2 weeks in September on an RCI exchange. The complex is unique, the property being build in the style of a traditional Greek village and, as such, had plenty of charm, and so different from a standard holiday hotel. The views from the top of the complex, where the reception, lounge and breakfast room was situated were outstanding and the pool area pleasant, although in September the pool bar was not functioning. We had three different apartments over the two weeks; the first one was a family unit; two units joined together by a central door which was ideal for our purposes. The second was a single apartment as there were only two of us for the second week and this was not so good. We were given the option of moving to a different single apartment which was much nicer where we stayed for the majority of the second week. Although charming and traditional the apartments are very run-down and tired and quite simply do not match the standard of other RCI sites (and I know this from experience). There were various things wrong with the apartments ranging from no plugs to blocked sinks to broken aircon. In fairness the staff at the hotel did their best to fix things promptly and it was their determination and attitude that helped make the place work for us. The reception and restaurant staff were all very friendly and generally helpful. Poppy, one of the managers was so pleasant and helpful and had a genuine desire to mix with the guests and do everything she could to help - a lovely person who is an asset to the resort.
The notorious steps were just part of being in the place and kept one fit during the holiday. It is easy to see, however, that this place would just not be suitable for many people from a practical point of view. The beach taverna was lovely; very Greek in a beautiful location, situated at the bottom of the hotel complex. There was a mis-understanding over the half-board arrangements which were not obvious enough within the joining instructions from RCI and is, in my experience, an unusual arrangement. We did not want half-board as part of the joy of the Greek Islands is the variety of tavernas to try out, so we negotiated it down to just part of our stay. The half board menu was very limited. While other guests enjoyed a comprehensive choice, the half board menu not interesting enough, and although the food was fine, the variety and thought put into the options was not good enough. Small things like the salad starter could have been far more interesting than simply a bowl of shredded lettuce and chopped spring onion, which was served one evening. A bowl of tomatoes was on another. It wouldn't take much to produce a decent varied salad each evening. The other factor was that the menu was exactly the same each week so for people staying for 2 weeks, it was very boring! Having said that the restaurant staff, the live music and the location were excellent and, oh, on the subject of the evenings, a Greek night once a week would have been lovely and something I think that tourists expect when visiting Greece.
Finally the breakfasts; these were fine but, why not provide fresh fruit juice instead of 'squash' and the coffee could have been allot hotter on occasions.
I think that’s about it. In short this resort has a lot going for it; it is unique, is in a fabulous position with great staff. It is however, very badly run down and needs a massive injection of funds to enable it to reach its potential. The half board option is not good enough in my opinion and I don't believe guests should be tied to that and be able to enjoy the much better menu available to other restaurant clients. Nostos is a place you either love or hate. It will never be everyone's choice due to the layout of the site and particularly the steps but its appeal would be much wider if the site was significantly refurbished. Thanks anyway for a great holiday!

Room Tip: If possible ask to see an apartment first before you comit to it. They vary enormously in standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Nostos Village Hotel and Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nostos Village Hotel and Bungalows

Address: Bay of Janeria, Skiathos Town, Greece
Location: Greece > Sporades > Skiathos > Skiathos Town
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 13 hotels in Skiathos Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Nostos Village Hotel and Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nostos Village Hotel And Bungalows Skiathos/Skiathos Town
Nostos Village Skiathos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nostos Village Hotel and Bungalows, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.