We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just lovely” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marmita

Marmita
30, Evangelistrias, Skiathos Town 37002, Greece
+30 2427 021701
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 109 Restaurants in Skiathos Town
Price range: $13 - $39
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: For us the cuisine is, above all, 'memory', pleasure and hospitality We believe that Greek cuisine should reflect the clarity, the austerity and the harmony of the landscape
Worcester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Just lovely”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

Fantastic food with a complementary pudding and attentive service.
The veggie selection was good especially the starters, especially the tomato fritters.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    247
    88
    23
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Second time, consistent excellence!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

This summertime We visited Skiathos and Marmita in June. There's only one word to describe our dining experience and this is "excellent"!
Panos, the owner, is a brilliant host and you will well do to lisent to his recommendations. Our dinner consisted from a fresh, perfectly cooked fish called mayiatiko, a delicious and crispy kritama salad accompanied by a rich and refreshing Gerovasilliou Chardonnay.
Oh! And the music was simply wonderful.
Service once again was friendly and prompt.
Simply perfect.
Without any doubt, we will be back and hopefully again this year.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsteignton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
204 reviews 204 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
191 helpful votes 191 helpful votes
“Well worth the visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

What a lovely place. Away from the hustle and bustle. A delightful garden with pretty lights trees and flowers. The service is top notch and the food delicious. The house wine from macedonia was a great surprise. Get there before nine without a reservation. It is very popular. Non touristy very authentic.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agrate Brianza, Italy
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“The best so far”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

We arrived in a very strange night. It was raining a lot and the restaurant has the majority of tables under the sky so....a little mess.
Even though bad weather, the hosts were excellent. We travel with 2 little kids and thanks to reservation we found our table despite many guests were refused due to the rain. We ate good starters as crostini, fried tomatoes and, over the top,grilled goat cheese. Then unbelievable Greek tagliatelle with seafood and spaghetti with mussels. Grilled Orata (in Italian) with Greek vegetables very good. Santorini wine very good as well. Chocolate cake gorgeous. A special note to the workers who made their best to satisfy clients in a very difficult stormy evening. Well done!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piraeus, Greece
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We had a dinner there during our summer vacations at skiathos.
Yes we waited for a table since we had not made a reservation, but while we waited they were kind enough to treat us with a cold beer.
We ordered the fish plates that were available for the day, alongside with a salad and a side dish, followed by a bottle of wine. All of our dishes were delicious, and beautifully served.
The atmosphere and the way that the yard is decorated was very nice and romantic as well, so we were very satisfied with our dinner experience in this restaurant.
If given a chance I would revisit it any time!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marmita also viewed

Skiathos Town, Skiathos
 
Skiathos Town, Skiathos
Skiathos Town, Skiathos
 

Been to Marmita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marmita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.