We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love Mesogia” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mesogia Taverna

Mesogia Taverna
Georgiou E, Skiathos Town 37002, Greece
24270 21440
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #65 of 109 Restaurants in Skiathos Town
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
South Yorkshire
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
314 helpful votes 314 helpful votes
“Love Mesogia”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

My husband and I visited this taverna twice last year and made it our first stop this year. We weren't disappointed.
We arrived quite late due (around 11pm) but this was not a problem for the lovely owners; they made us feel very welcome and relaxed.
We had a meze of dishes... a Greek salad, tzatziki, shrimp saganaki and calamari... all washed down with house white. It's true that the food is quite basic but it's good cooked, rustic Greek food served in a lovely side street with a wonderful ambience.
The place was still busy at that time and we were just left to our own devises to enjoy our food at a steady pace so it was a lovely first night on the island.
All for great value with a great ambience.
We love Mesogia and we will return next time we're in Skiathos.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    9
    7
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

Well, we are a Greek couple visiting the island for the second time, we were recommended to dine here cause the food is great and it is a traditional Greek restaurant and that we would enjoy it. I have to admit that the only thing I liked was the Greek salad and the atmosphere.. all the others was a huge disappointment. The food, completely tasteless, that is what we call in Greece a restaurant meant for tourists. Why? Because they have never tasted those Greek plates before and do not know if they are good or not...for them it is something new something exotic. For us it is something ordinary.. I didn't expect those plates to be so average.. But the worst thing about this restaurant was in the end when I asked for the check, and there was no ckeck!! Only a paper indicating the amount we had to pay.. when I asked for the receipt the waiter told me that their machine has been broken, out of the blue, and that we should wait for the technician to fix it..my girlfriend insisted on waiting but it was obvious that there was not going to be any technician..lol for that.. after half hour waiting we left...totally disappointed not only for the quality of food but also for this behavior..never visit this restaurant again..

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Warm welcome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

We visited Mesogia Taverna on a previous visit to Skiathos some 4 years ago and were so impressed then with the level of service and quality of food offered,we decided to try and find it again on this recent visit.Very pleased to find that Pandalis
and Susan still run the Taverna with all the warmth and quality they are known for.The welcome was warm and friendly and we were treated like friends,the food is good quality and plentiful.The House wine is very palatable and is served in an old fashioned way adding to the charm of the whole dining experience.We were not rushed despite the Taverna being very busy and the Cheese and Spinach Pies which were left over at the end were very obligingly placed in a foil food container for us to take away and enjoy later.No hesitation at all in reccomending a visit to Mesogia,(if you can find it?)




Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Greek and friendly”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Good traditional food in the heart of the Skiathos streets. Great owners too. Always made us welcome and lovely to have little red tin jugs of wine and old fashioned glasses and chairs

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geilo, Norway
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Rabbit Stifado!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

First time I've seen a stifado dish with rabbit and it had been recommended by a friend. Despite being delicious there was very little meat on my rabbit, making the meal relatively expensive!
However excellent service and great back street location.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mesogia Taverna also viewed

Skiathos Town, Skiathos
Skiathos Town, Skiathos
 
Skiathos Town, Skiathos
Skiathos Town, Skiathos
 

Been to Mesogia Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mesogia Taverna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.