We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Costas Mary

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Skiathos Town
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Costas Mary
Save
You added Hotel Costas Mary to your Saves list
Skiathos, Skiathos Town 37002, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Skiathos Town
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

I can only echo anu63 review, Mary i am still laughing at your antics!! Thanks Mary, your lovely family, and girls, you made our stay with you so special, and indeed the special friends we made, Imana i can still hear your infectious laugh, Looking forward to our next visit,

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    18
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
24
99
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Skelmersdale, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Returned from a wonderful two weeks staying at Costas and Mary Hotel in Skiathos yesterday (14/08/12).
I visited with my husband and 13 year old daughter.
Costas and Mary is a small family run hotel which is 5 – 10 minutes’ walk from the main port and a great selection of restaurants and bars.
The hotel is spotlessly clean and very efficiently run by Mary, her family and her two hardworking ‘girls’, Claudia and Val(?) who serve the buffet style breakfast and keep the hotel sparkling clean at all times.
Claudia is great fun at breakfast, joking with all the customers, singing and taking time to get to know names, especially the children with whom she is especially lovely.
Breakfast was buffet style - basic but sufficient – a selection of cereals, cake, bread, jam, ham, cheese, omelettes, fruit and yogurt with orange juice, and tea or coffee – all served with a smile and a bit of banter from Claudia.
The (essential) air conditioning was an additional €150 and the room safe an additional €15 for the two weeks. Towels were fresh every day, rooms vacuumed and the beds made daily and changed every couple of days.
We used the hotel as a base and spent most of our days visiting the beaches of which there are many beautiful ones. The bus terminus is 5 minutes from Costas and Mary’s and there are 26 stops to Koukounaries and Big and Little (naturist) Banana beaches – the Banana beaches were a (15 minute) hilly trek from the bus stop. The bus price was only €2 for the whole 26 stop (30 minute) trip. All the beaches we visited were lovely, our favourite beach tavernas were on Vasilias and Kanapitsa beaches - we found it easiest to visit Koukounaries and Kanapitsa beaches by water taxi (hop off the boat and straight onto a sunbed) and also had a boat trip one day to Tsougari Island – gorgeous peaceful beach with a small taverna but not a great choice of dishes.
The beaches all seemed to be very safe for young children with warm, calm, clear waters and fine sand. Sunbed + parasol were a standard €8 for two on all beaches and then an additional €3- 4 for an additional sunbed for our daughter.
There is a great choice of restaurants in Skiathos but our favourites have to be ‘The Final Step’, ‘Olive Land (Elaias Gi)’, ‘En Plo’, ‘Lo and La’ and ‘The Windmill’ – booking is essential for all of them and Mary was endlessly patient and helpful in booking restaurants and taxis where necessary. We also loved the ‘Rock and Roll Bar’ and would highly recommend the passion fruit caipirinha (half price cocktails before 9.00p.m.).
If you’re looking to film the scary take off and landings, we had a lovely lunch in the ‘Little Windmill’ at the end of the runway one day, lovely food and great fun to see the planes coming in and parting our hair a few feet above our heads.
My husband was chewed by mosquitos (I was okay ;)) so I’d recommend taking mosquito sprays and an anti-histamine cream to sooth any bites.
Skiathos is a lovely, friendly family orientated island, all the people we met were warm and kind and we felt we had real value for money and wonderful service wherever we visited.
The boat trips along the old port were far better value those offered by the holiday company and I’d highly recommend chatting to the people selling these trips, collecting a few information leaflets and booking trips from there.
All in all, a wonderful, relaxing two weeks made even more special by Mary and her fantastic, hardworking team.
I’d also like to say hello to our new friends – Sam and Wayne (so sad when you went home a few days before we did) and the wonderful and lovely Chris and Steve – thanks for making our holiday even more special.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the pool had a better balcony view but we heard from other guests that that th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Costas and Mary is a small, family run hotel. Me and my wife selected it, each independently from the Thomson reviews and werent disappointed. Mary is so friendly and welcoming - she never stops tidying up! It was spotlessly clean, with towels changed frequently. There is a small fridge in the room, which is handy to chill the endless bottles of water we consumed. There is a 50 Euro charge per week for the Air- conditioning, but it was necessary.The breakfast buffet had a lot of choice, but maybe could have varied. The bathroom was at times small and hot but adequate. Location is great for access to the town, the bus stop and the restaurants, but dusty, quite dark at night and had to constantly dodge cars & mopeds as a free car park is on route and became very busy at night. These are niggles, not moans and if we go back to Skiathos again, without doubt we would choose this accomodation as everyone staying in the hotel at the same time as ourselves said the same thing, it is spotlessly clean, convenient and you feel like you're part of Mary's family!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
poole
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Stayed with Kostas and Mary last week and had one of our best holidays ever.Mary is a genuinely lovely woman and makes everyone feel so welcome,all the staff and other guests were realy friendly , have never been to a hotel where so many people talk to you. The hotel is very clean, food lovely couldnt have asked for more , we will be going back next year for two weeks as one was not enough, thanks Mary for a lovely holiday.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SURREY
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Well located for the Town.
Small.friendly hotel.Rooms are clean and comfortable ,pool area small but sufficient.Breakfast basic but o.k.I would return to this hotel as overall good location for strolling into town at night and high standard of cleanliness.

Room Tip: Make sure you dine at The last Step in Skiathos Town
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012 via mobile

Me and my girlfriend have just returned from Mary and costas we could not fault a thing everything was great from the friendly staff to spotlessly clean rooms. Staff are there 24/7 and very helpful booked restaurants for us just made everything easy really. Ideal spot 5mins from port. Had a great time there they really made us feel welcome will definetly recommend and will be returning ourselves. Sean & Jodie

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

We stayed at the Costas and Mary hotel in Jul 12 and had a wonderful time. First time in Skiathos for us but have stayed on many Greek islands before. We choose this hotel based on the excellent reviews on here and so it had a lot to live up to and we were not disappointed. Arriving at the hotel just minutes from the airport without our luggage was a strange experience but routine (it arrived by truck 15mins later). The hotel is located down a small back street on the edge of town with the harbour and excellent selection of tavernas about 10 mins walk away. We found Mary and her family genuinely very warm and friendly being totally dedicated to keeping their hotel spotlessly clean, in fact one of the cleanest we have ever stayed in Greece. Mary has a great sense of humour and always ensured she spent time talking and getting to know her guests always making an appearance at the pool bar at night. During our visit there was a heat wave and it was essential to have the high quality double glazed balcony doors shut at night with the air conditioning on otherwise it was just too hot for us. Any noise from the low key night clubs which are some distance away did not disturb us but one or two guests did mention it during our stay. It has a lovely little pool with plently of sun beds surrounded by an intimate garden area. Many of the guests during our visit had stayed many times. Claudia helps at breakfast and cleans the rooms and has a fun sense of humour. This is a fantastic small and friendly hotel run by a great family team, we had a wonderful stay here on this lovely island and will certainly return and stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms on the opposite side of the hotel to the pool may be quieter at night if you want the balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Costas Mary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Costas Mary

Address: Skiathos, Skiathos Town 37002, Greece
Location: Greece > Sporades > Skiathos > Skiathos Town
Amenities:
Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Skiathos Town
Number of rooms: 22
Also Known As:
Costas Mary Hotel
Costas Mary Skiathos Town
Hotel Costas Mary Skiathos/Skiathos Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Costas Mary, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.