We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit of paradise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Angeliki Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Angeliki Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Angeliki Beach Hotel
Megali Ammos Bus Stop 5 | Megali Ammos, Skiathos Town 37702, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Skiathos Town
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A bit of paradise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012 via mobile

Simple, but clean rooms! The garden and the placement on the beach fulfills the simple standard, as well as the nice people working there, a lovely stay. Aircondition with no problems. Beach service, room service every day, and very nice food at the bar. I had a lovely stay at this hotel :-)) definitely coming back next year!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    15
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
54
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Angeliki is in a great position a few stones away from the beach. The rooms are comfortable and maybe even bigger than the average. They have all the amenities and a fantastic view, as do all the small hotels around that beach. It s lovely to wake up with such a great view in front of you and the garden in front of the rooms makes it even better. Indeed, in front of the rooms, there is a large garden with a few flowers, a great place to sunbathe, when it is not very hot. Unfortunately, in July, it is just too hot to stay in the garden during the day and has too many moskitos in the evening (this year, they are vicious). There are some studios around the garden and we were surprised to hear they are more expensive, even though we understand they have kitchen ammenities, as they lack the view that the actual rooms have. During the day, one can also rent two chaises longs and an umbrella for 8 euros, in front of the hotel or in any other part of Megali Ammos. Still, the sun and heat were too much when we were there and all six of us found staying there too hot (and our skins getting too red only too quickly!). Trying to fit one's body under the changing shade of an umbrella is definitely not the way to avoid skin cancer! One could spend the day in one of the cafes by the beach getting in and out of the sea and drinking and eating. Unfortunately, this cannot apparently happen in Swell, the adjustant bar of the Angeliki hotel, as the waiters clearly told us. They "allowed us" to stay in Swell between 1-4 only provided we were eating and not for long periods anyway!! This made our stay a bit more difficult (and us rather annoyed ), as it is a very well known practice and happily acceptable in all other places in Megali Ammos (we asked in Thessaloniki cafe and they could not see the issue at all), in Koukounaries and in all other islands we've been in Greece. Greed, even when expressed politely, is certainly a turn off. We also felt at times that the owner of Angeliki himself was not as helpful as the owners of other small hotels near by; always polite, but rather indifferent (and no, we re definitely not needy...)
Overall, a great place, maybe a re-think about customer service will indeed make it paradise.

Room Tip: Go for the rooms of the first floor, not the studios/bangalows. Make sure you have a moskito repel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
angelikihotel, Owner at Angeliki Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Dear sir
thank you very much for your review, all your comments are very useful to us
Of course I cant apologise for the mosquitos of the island :-)
by the way we have devices in the rooms against them, offering free tablets to all our quests, that is not very usual for a small hotel.
I am really sorry that you suffered from the greek sun,, it was a very hot week fro all of us, an unusual heatwave but most of the quests were very happy for the heat and the sun, this is the reason they come in our nice country.
According to your comment for the "stay at the swell beach bar 1to 4 etc" I am sure it a misunderstanding , because the waiter clearly explained to you that the tables were all of them reserved, swell beach bar is a very busy place on the beach, we believe is the busier
and all our quests from the hotel or other hotels quests who stay on the area for one two weeks, usually make a reservation for their lunch .It was a very busy week, and if I remembe well you had this table for 3-4 hours and then the waiter explained to you that at one o clock is reserved.
we have lots tables and umbrellas and sunbeds in our lovely garden where you could enjoy your day
One more time thank you very much for writing this review and i wish you all the best for you health,
I am really sorry that you felt , that I was not so helpful as I could, because quests who come years and years believe the opposite
I am really sorry failed to this point with you
regards
Nikos Kantarakias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Devon, UK
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

The Angeliki Beach Hotel is perfect for anyone wanting to be a stones throw from the beach where at night you can lie in bed and listen to the waves, have a lovely garden with free sun beds to lounge on, have a cold beer on tap at the adjacent Swell Bar at good prices, which also serves great food until late afternoon....sounds good doesn't it....
I stayed in a garden room.... basic greek, twin beds, fridge, free air con, free safe, shower, tv, free wifi, lovely patio, clean sheets on a regular basis as were the towels, didn't use the air con as you could open the windows either side of the apartment and get a great flow of air also the sound of the sea came free...ok you may not get the views of the sea like some rooms but to be able to pop out your room and be so close to the beach worked well for me, I often slipped out late evening to paddle my feet in the sea not having to worry about disturbing other guests or I just sat in the garden watching the full moon with a glass of wine for me it was perfect, a view isn't everything for me also the other rooms do not get the late sun but the garden does just depends on what you prefer.
As for location just a 10 min walk to Skiathos Town which offers so many choices of shops,bars and restaurants, at bus stop 5 you can visit some super beaches which is opposite the Angeliki and at 2 euros is a great way for exploring, closer to home 3 mins walk, there was only one Taverna for me and as a solo traveller I went back several times to the Thessalonika, ooh the calamari is melting in my mouth as we speak and the waiters are lovely and as for the setting which was right on the beach...it was wonderful.
There are 2 supermarkets very close to Angeliki, nice warm rolls in the morning if you so wish...
What else can I say other than Nikos and his brother will look after you so well and will give good advice on anything you wish to know.
If you wish to know more please feel free to ask.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heraklion, Iraklion, Greece
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

A lovely place! I enjoyed every single moment, the sea view, the sea that is just next to the rooms, the service, the magical sunset... Absolutely relaxing time that I will have again soon for sure!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WREXHAM
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

We returned last week from a forthnight's stay at the Angeliki Beach Hotel. It was our first visit there and what a very wise choice. On all counts, it exceeded all our expectations. What do you especially look for with accommodation? Safety, cleanliness, comfort and regular change of bed linen etc,and also to be given a warm and genuine welcome. The Kantarakias brothers, Dimitris and Nikos excel themselves in their desire to ensure that all guests are well taken care of, it matters to them and it shows. I mentioned cleanliness, not only in the rooms but outside on the patio, each day this is hosed down and everywhere is spotless.

The location is second to none. Although adjacent to the main road, once you go past reception into the beautful garden all you can hear is the gentle swell of the Agean Sea - it is just so tranquil. The garden has free sunloungers together with parasols and if you fancy a swim, just a couple of meters from the end of the garden you have the narrow beach and the sea. There are masses of flowers everywhere and as for butterflies, never seen so many, in such an array of colours. Not only flowers but so many shrubs as well as olive and fig trees. The Swell Bar serves very tasty food, tempting and delicious and their fresh baguettes are so enjoyable as well. Not forgetting a chilled glass of beer with for us, a dash of lime juice cordial.

On the taxi trip from the Airport we were rather dismayed to see the distance between the top town bus stop, The Acropolis, No. 4 stop and the number 5 outside Angeliki. Quite a trek.
However, go through the garden, out of the side gate in the Swell Bar, turn sharp left and through a path overflowing with flowers and you are on a lower road that is in fact, a short cut to No 4 stop where from there, you can easily go down into town. This walk, [more of a lane than a road] into town is so pleasant, again, flowers everywhere, so peaceful except for when the Cockerel decides to crow and no traffic to contend with. You carry on along, all on the flat until the last part of the walk where you walk up steps between cottages and come out, as I said at No. 4 stop. The last part of the walk is slightly elevated but nothing too strenuous. Most times it was a 10 minute walk or maximum 12 minutes if we stopped to talk to the lovely little dog that lived in the lane.
.
I suppose the highlight of our stay was the Day Cruise on the Calypso. Not only stopping at beaches around the island but also going over to the Pelion - main land Greece for a tasty lunch. One of the stops at Lalaria Beach just took our breath away, so beautiful.

If anyone wants any information about Angeliki Beach Hotel, I will be more than happy to help. It truly is a magical place, sitting on your small terrace looking out over the sea, cannot be beaten.
I will also be posting my thoughts on Skiathos and posting restaurant reviews as well.

Nikos and Dimitris you can be very proud of your lovely place, you work hard to ensure that all guests are well taken care of. Five Stars all the way. Thank you.

Room Tip: All rooms are good. Some open out on to the garden and can be nice and cool. Apart from the garden...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

A very nice sipmle place on the best spot of this beach
Visiting the web page know what to expect and after some email with Niko, the manager or owner , felt very safe to make a reservation and didnt dissapinted at all
The rooms are very clean, the owners very polite and nice people.
The view 180 of sea sun and the offshore islands.
Stayed there last August and allthough the island and the beach is crowded , because all greeks go for holidays this month, the hotel was so quite during night.
We could jumb to the very center of the town, its only 10 minutes walking
We had also very good wifi and the most importnt everywherein the garden, and free.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bang Lamung, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

we stayed at this lovely place last july
The view is magic especially in the morning as the sun comes up.
At night the only noise I could hear was the sea waves
The garden is beautiful and full of olives.
the bar is fantastic and the people there know how to serve good food and play very good and relaxing music
it's a pitty they close at night
it could be an excellent place to have a glass of wine
the owners are very friendly and the service is extremely good
During our stay we would spend the whole day on the garden area sunbeds, under the shade of the trees
we will come back for sure.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Angeliki Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angeliki Beach Hotel

Address: Megali Ammos Bus Stop 5 | Megali Ammos, Skiathos Town 37702, Greece
Location: Greece > Sporades > Skiathos > Skiathos Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Skiathos Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Angeliki beach hotel is situated right on the Megali Ammos Beach (else Ftelia). It is set in a beautiful garden leading down to the beach. You can relax on a Greek lawn, in the shade of olive and ornamental trees and surrounded by the flowering shrubs. All rooms and studios are renovated and they have air condition, fridge, television, telephone, safety box and their own private balconies over viewing the garden, the sea and the off shore islands. The hotel is about 900 m away from Skiathos town, 1.5 km from the port and 3km form the airport. There is public transportation bus stop (No5) outside our main entrance. Buses to all road accessible beaches of the island run every 10 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Angeliki Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angeliki Beach Skiathos
Angeliki Beach Hotel Skiathos/Skiathos Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Angeliki Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.