We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Calm and efficient under pressure” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Limanaki

Limanaki
Ring Road, Skiathos Town, Greece
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 109 Restaurants in Skiathos Town
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Bethesda, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Calm and efficient under pressure”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

I was part of a group of 180 people that were stranded in Skiathos on 27th July when our plane developed a fault leading to a 29 hour delay.We were all treated to a free meal courtesy of the airline at this superb venue.With only a few hours notice the owner and his staff pulled out all the stops to serve us all a tremendous three course meal.Well presented,well cooked and well served.The welcome shown to us all was genuine and warm and the whole experience became a welcome break from the stress of the long delay.I would certainly return and have no hesitation in recommending this Taverna as a place to visit when in Skiathos .The prices of Beers and Wines were very reasonable given the ideal setting of the Taverna ,on the waters edge overlooking the runway.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    26
    8
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lancz
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“An excellent restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Somewhat surprised at the negative comments below. We are currently in Skiathos and over the past fortnight have tried Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner at Limanakis. Service has been efficient and friendly, thee range of options is wide and the quality of food and wine has been excellent.
My wife is Vegitarian..(I'm not) but the menu was fine for both of us.....I tried the Courgette Balls and they were really tasty.
Veal Steak (medium rare..) just the job for me and a few bits for the friendly cats.
Location is good for watching boats, ferries etc coming and going.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“First time - but not the last.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We happened on this taverna as we wanted to have a beer and a view of the incoming planes. We were offered a menu ("not to choose now, but have a look and see if you want to come tonight or later"). We were glad that we did, and we returned that night for a meal. We chose one pork chop meal and a burger "mexicana" (a Greek burger, not a fast food UK type). Both accompanied by half of a jacket potato with cheese and broccoli florets a pleasant change from chips and rice). A very pleasant evening.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield
Top Contributor
199 reviews 199 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
“Great Waterfront Taverna”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

If you are staying at the Alkyon hotel in Skiathos then you literally tumble into the Limanaki as you exit the front door. Always very busy and enticingly lit on an evening we ate fairly late here to ensure a waterfront table. The food we had was nicely cooked and delicious and the atmosphere very convivial and relaxing. Just one of the many excellent tavernas on this particular stretch of road. We visited most of them and it's difficult to decide which is the best as they are all good quality.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Very Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We had never tried Limanaki as we tend to stick to a few favourite restaurants when we visit Skiathos but as we were in town we thought we'd try it as the setting is very pretty. We started off with the baked feta with peppers and onion and it was not that good - the feta was still hard and it had a meagre amount of peppers and onion, the taramasalata was ok but the bread was totally stale. For main course we had the lamb souflaki, this was quite tasty but the accompanying half jacket potato was cold and the frozen broccoli didn't add anything to the dish. The service was ok until it came to trying to get the bill and that took forever - other's around us were having the same problem. There are much better places to eat on Skiathos - I would neither recommend or return to this one.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Limanaki also viewed

Skiathos Town, Skiathos
Skiathos Town, Skiathos
 
Skiathos Town, Skiathos
Skiathos Town, Skiathos
 

Been to Limanaki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Limanaki, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.