We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classier than many” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 1901

1901
Grigoriu E, Skiathos Town, Greece
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 111 Restaurants in Skiathos Town
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $13 - $33
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: In the past eight years, the Chef Petros Pikoylas, has turned the place into an Art Restaurant of unique ambiance. Its Mediterranean cuisine is renowned for its creative "touch" in Greek flavors, herbs, aromas and magnificently worked sauces. Fresh products like fish, meat and vegetables, in the hands of the Chef are transformed into wonderful and delicious plates. Shrimps a la chef, fish fillet with crayfish sauce, lamb chops with pesto sauce, beef steak stuffed artichokes and spinach salad, are some of the famous plates of the menu.The friendly and quality service, the dignified wine list as well as the specially good house wine, accompanied with jazz and easy listening music, the traditional narrows, and the honorable relation between price and product, contribute to make you enjoy a unique dinner experience in Skiathos.
Bristol
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Classier than many”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We have visited Skiathos on many occasions and always make time to visit this restaurant. The food has always been superb and our visit last week was no different. The service is attentive. When you walk through the cobble streets of Skiathos this restaurant stands out from the others, its definitely got a more upmarket, less rustic look. You won't be disappointed.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    72
    23
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Very good must try”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful restaurant with a beautiful setting. Tables are set in the cobbled streets. It's very romantic.
The service is fantastic, so much so I would advise to book.
The food is fantastic. We've been here a few times now and can't talk highly enough of 1901. A must!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“great little place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

lovely place, great food, fab setting in the back streets of skiathos town, with the hustle and bustle in the background.
Had a great wine list too, and NOT overpriced as some town eateries were.

Really glad we found it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Quality and Quantity”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Lovely little restaurant along the side streets of the old town.
Excellent food choices, to suit just about anyone.
Try the garlic bread, first class....
Excellent choice of wines.
Really pleased to save this restaurant as our last pick of our holiday
Well worth a visit

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“WHATEVER you do... don't miss out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

on one of our most favourite restaurants in all the world; the dreamy, 1901, which can be located just two minutes from the port at Grigoriu E, Skiathos Town, Greece .

The restaurant's setting alone is serene; sitting ever so charmingly on the corner of one of the old town's quintessential back streets; lit up with candlelight and colourful flowers, this venue is perfect for any groups up to six, but I personally recommend a romantic dinner for two.

Out of our party of eight (4 couples). All of us ate here at separate occasions - some couples twice during the holiday and there was not a nit-pick to be found.

The staff provide a seamless service and traditional menu, which is delivered with precision and love. Bread and authentic and accompaniments are provided as well as a delicious dessert with two spoons, four spoons it depends how big your party is - a truly delightful touch!

All of our meals were mouth-watering as standard as was the temperature of the red wine... and the complimentary digestive is the perfect ending to a perfect evening.

We have personally visited this venue three consecutive years now for more than 1 occasion per visit and would warmly recommend it to anybody visiting Skiathos.

Worth every Euro!


www.skiathos1901.gr/ ‎

Opening every day from: 18:30 RESERVE: +30 6956 250 019 +30 24270 21717.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 1901 also viewed

Skiathos Town, Skiathos
Skiathos Town, Skiathos
 
Skiathos Town, Skiathos
 

Been to 1901? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 1901, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.