We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved Every Minute” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taxiarchis Apartments

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Skiathos Town
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Taxiarchis Apartments
Save
You added Taxiarchis Apartments to your Saves list
________, Skiathos Town, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Skiathos Town
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Loved Every Minute”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

Deciding where to holiday with a toddler and infant in tow is no easy task, so I cannot put into words how happy we are that we chose to holiday here. The island of Skiathos itself is stunningly beautiful. We stayed in a maisonette here and were very pleased. Having holidayed in Greece numerous times we know what to expect from Greek self catering accommodation but we actually found this above average to what we are used to. It was a split level maisonette with double bed upstairs ( very comfy) and two single beds downstairs. We were also provided a cog for the baby, already in our room on arrival which has never happened before. Small kitchen area with kettle, fridge and utilities, more than ample. Bathroom with shower and shower curtain for those who feel anxious about having a wet room. We also had a lovely, private terrace to enjoy some peace and quiet. Rooms were maintained well and very clean. Air conditioning also available at a supplement and was a godsend. Out front is a lovely swimming pool, also well maintained, and snack/bar area with stunning views. The photos in the brochures do not do it justice as it really is a beautiful, relaxing haven. But like everybody else says about these apartments, the family who own/run them are fantastic. Very friendly, extremely helpful and really made a fuss over our little ones which was lovely, our son didn't want to leave. Many of the fellow guests are returning holiday makers and it's clear to see why they all return. We found that all the other guests too were really friendly, which really made for a lovely holiday. Would we go back again? In a flash!! Our son is already asking us when we are going again. Thank you to everyone for such a brilliant holiday :-)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    11
    3
    3
    3
See reviews for
16
34
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stockport, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Just returned from our first visit to Taxiarchis. The whole family were really friendly and welcoming. They all took the time to get to know us and the other guests - they are very genuine and we all enjoyed our evenings at the bar. The atmosphere they created helped to generate friendships between guests and made our holiday very special. The room was maisonette style and typically greek with a lovely terrace overlooking fruit trees and a small garden. The location is ideal, a short walk to the town centre and harbour and about 10 minutes from the long sandy town beach. We would definitely go back - a really special holiday.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the accommodation are quietest as there is some road noise at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Reading the reviews before we went to the Taxiarchis Apartments left us hopeful we had found somewhere special - what we had not accounted for was what we actually found. The reviews underplayed just how special, warm ,welcoming and amazing this accommodation is! After a flight delay, we were met at the door by Taxi the owner who showed us to our room. Off to the bar after settling in we were welcomed by Panos and Stavros the owners sons, watered (mmm!) and suddenly food was provided from a spontaneous barbeque. We were made to feel like old friends - despite not having been here before. Our room, number 4, opened onto a courtyard with lemon trees, vines and plum trees - great to sit in the sun in the morning. The room was comfortable, well furnished and if you are used to Greece you will be happy with the bathroom and shower arrangement. We didn't hire air conditioning but it was readily available, as was safe deposit box. The bar and pool area are fabulous, and Eleni - the warm hearted hostess cooks up a fabulous breakfast as well as other snacks. Rania, her daughter, smiles welcoming from behind the bar and nothing is too much trouble for the whole family. The weekly barbeque is a feast and well worth the money! Don't do as I did and try one arm press ups with Stavros - I still have a sore shoulder! The local town beach is a 2 minute walk and bus stop 4 not much further. The town centre is close for evenings, and there are great small streets to explore in the old town with a wealth of great restaurants and tavernas. I cannot speak highly enough of all the family and the great Skiathos people we met who came to have a drink in the bar. For me, this was the type of holiday I have been looking for all my life. Thank you Taxi and all the family.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

This was our fifth time staying at these apartments. As people say the rooms are basic but clean, Aphrodite the cleaner makes sure of this. It's part of the charm of the place and we dont mind the typical Greek accomodation. We love this place and Taxi, Heleni, Rania, Panos and Stavros are like a second family, they make you so welcome they are such lovely people, their eyes light up when they see you and its a lovely warm greeting each time we return. Nothing is too much trouble for this family and we are very sad when we have to leave, hence we have already booked again for next year. The fuller breakfast that Heleni makes is always a winner and the lunchtime snacks are just as delicious. The barbeques are a feast to be seen and there is such a lovely friendly atmosphere with all of the other guests its a really fun night. We meet lots of people who return year after year as we do and they all have the same opinions, so if you want a homely, friendly laid back holiday, this is the place to be, see you next year cant wait.

Room Tip: Rooms 9 and 10 are at the top they have lovely views if you dont mind the stairs, rooms 5, 6, 3 &...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Just returned from our 5th consecutive stay here and it just gets better every time. We've had a brilliant time meeting lots of "regulars" and also new people who have stayed here. The hosts, Taxiarchis, Elenh, Rania, Panos and Stavros made us feel at home, as usual, and nothing was too much trouble for them. They all work really hard to ensure that our holiday feels special and welcome everyone old and new. It's a reasonably priced apartment complex with everything you need - if you want an all frills holiday then you need to dig deep and stay elsewhere for what the taxiarchis apartment lacks in 5* exclusive rooms - it more than makes up for it in the warmth of the family and their hospitality and let's face it - you don't go to this beautiful island to spend all the time in your accommodation do you?? Well worth the stay I say!!

Room Tip: Rooms 1 & 2 are downstairs at the front at are quite dark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Just returned from our 3rd consecutive holiday here
No doubt we will be back next year
We noticed many others returning the same week as us
Good friendly atmosphere but a little cliquish, perhaps we need do a couple of more years to be truly accepted in the club, it could be us by the same rule, let’s say it’s a work in progress we will make much more effort next year.
For us this is an prime location just outside Skiathos town so most evenings we can walk down to enjoy the sophisticated Greek nightlife.
For the daytime there are a few beaches within walking distance, ideal for us lazy bones who don’t stay too far
lunches are big and tasty so watch out for that waistline
The rooms here are of good size and comfortable great base for memorable holiday

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

The Taxiarchis Apartments are at the top of Skiathios Town and their location is the best part of this complex. I have read many reviews about the owners and how well they treat their customers around the pool and in the bar and to be fair we did not use this part of the hotel as we were out in Skiathos town every night and the location of the apartments made this easy. The room facilities were appalling. The main bedroom (we had room number 4) had not been painted for some time and had not been cleaned properly when we arrived but we could have lived with as we have holidayed in Greece for the past 30 years so this is Greece but the bathroom was quite disgusting and a disgrace, smelly, broken and rusty sink, loose tiles, the shower was filthy with the shower head being covered in mould and the flow of water out of this shower unit was so poor I needed to heat up pans of hot water to rinse the shampoo out of my wife's hair. We booked this through Olympic Holidays and we can see that Olympic are not using this complex in their 2014 brochure and I can understand why. I would also recommend Olympic send someone into room 4 and the other rooms and ask themselves would they ask their reps to use the bathroom facilities. I suspect not ! and remember this is the start of the 2013 holiday season.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Taxiarchis Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taxiarchis Apartments

Address: ________, Skiathos Town, Greece
Location: Greece > Sporades > Skiathos > Skiathos Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Skiathos Town
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Taxiarchis Apartments Hotel Skiathos Town
Taxiarchis Apartments Skiathos/Skiathos Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taxiarchis Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.