We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the climb” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Windmill Restaurant

The Windmill Restaurant
Kotroni | Skiathos Island, Skiathos Town 37002, Greece
+30 2427 024550
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 109 Restaurants in Skiathos Town
Price range: $32 - $56
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: All outdoor Restaurant fantastic stunning views. An old converted Windmill one of the highest points in Skiathos Town. Reservation is necessary
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Worth the climb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

The view from here is well worth the effort climbing the stairs. We have dined here at least once on our 3 visits to Skiathos (so far) The food was not as good as we have remembered it from previous years but still very good. Staff as polite and helpful as ever and we will be using it agian on our next visit to this wonderful island.
Not to be missed when in Skiathos bur I would recommend that you ask your hotel to book your table in advance so you don't need to climb the stairs more than you need too!! Use the back stairs as well as they are an easier climb

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    274
    71
    47
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“FAB!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We planned a year ago to visit the windmill for our 25th wedding anniversary. We were not disappointed- it was amazing:) beet root starter was the best I've ever had:) staff amazing and the surprise sweet wishing us a happy anniversary was a lovely touch :) amazing food and amazing staff - recommend to everyone, go you will not be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Beautiful views but average experience”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

My husband I ate at The Windmill restaurant on 26th June, which was the last night of our holiday in Skiathos. The setting is very romantic, with beautiful views across the water to neighbouring Skopoles.

The quality of food was good however our disappointment and memories and hence our subsequent rating came from the speed of service. Our table was booked for 7:30pm and through no choice of ours we had eaten our starter and main course by 8:10pm, which gave the impression it was more a fast food joint rather than a restaurant.

Due to the speed of service we did not order dessert or coffee, which we would have done had we had the opportunity to digest our previous 2 courses. When we advised that we didn't wish for anything more at present the waiter produced the bill immediately and we felt we needed to leave the restaurant, having not even been seated for 1 hour.

From both a customer service and business perspective I found this very poor. We felt we could not enjoy the meal property and the restaurant missed out on additional revenue as we would have ordered an additional course and more wine should the service have been better planned.

In summary, The Windmill has a lovely setting and the food was of good standard but it was let down by lacking the fundamental basics of customer service.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skiathowindmill, Owner at The Windmill Restaurant, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Sorry to learn of your disappointment whilst dining with us. Firstly, this is a fine dining restaurant, not fast food as you described. As per the rules concerning service time in any gastronomic restaurant, from the moment an order is taken, the customer should wait no more than seven minutes for their starter and twenty minutes for main course. Additionally, all our tables are rebooked again at 21:30 hours therefore we would not issue a bill earlier than required.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
“Fantastic food with fantastic views.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

It's always a climb to get there. Hadn't been for a couple of years. Great to go back. Food was really great. The chilli prawns brilliant! Great unintrusive service but very friendly as well. Good range of choices for main, with a special, and for desserts. It's an international menu but there are so many choices for local cuisine in town that a visit to The Windmill, with its spectacular, view will a highlight.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester england
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Simply outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

Firstly the climb to the windmill certainly if you approach from the back is honestly not as bad as I expected and once there is worth it.This truly is a beautiful restaurant in a fabulous location and is not to be missed. The service was excellent and all the staff were so warm and friendly . The food was fantastic and the whole experience is one of the highlights of our holiday. We will certainly return to the windmill on our next visit to Skiathos and we cannot recommend highly enough....it is so worth the climb!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Windmill Restaurant also viewed

Skiathos Town, Skiathos
Skiathos Town, Skiathos
 
Skiathos Town, Skiathos
 

Been to The Windmill Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Windmill Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.