We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stairway to Heaven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Windmill Restaurant

The Windmill Restaurant
Kotroni | Skiathos Island, Skiathos Town 37002, Greece
+30 2427 024550
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 103 restaurants in Skiathos Town
Price range: $35 - $63
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: All outdoor Restaurant fantastic stunning views. An old converted Windmill one of the highest points in Skiathos Town. Reservation is necessary
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Stairway to Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

Visited this fabulous restaurant 3 times during our 2 week stay, First off all warm welcome by fabulous professional staff (hi to Karen Jo, and Ben)Then the view takes your breath away, the food was absolutely gorgeous on every visit,as was the presentation , can't wait to return, Thankyou for making our visit to Skiathos even more special. X

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    220
    53
    40
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“First class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Recommended by someone I actually booked over the Internet two weeks before arrival. It's busy so I would advise this. My expectations were high and they delivered on everything.. Staff are friendly and are quite happy to talk. The food was excellent, I had the lamb shank on mash. All perfect. We used a Thomson voucher for a free glass of wine and this was used with ease. That's what it's for was there attitude. They also had a very reasonable white wine at just ten euros. The downside is the walk up but the view and ambiance is worth it. This is a must restaurant to visit

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Revisit- still got the best view in the town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

Already reviewed The Windmill a few years back and it was nice to go back and see what had changed, if anything.

Well it's pretty much as I remembered it. Not a walk up that will suit everyone, but taxis can drop you 3/4's of the way up. A view to die for and make sure you get up before its dark to fully experience it. The menu is more Pan European with not much Greek influence but it's all very nice. The steaks were of high quality and cooked just right. The deserts lovely. My only complaint (and not just for here) we were a group of 8, that's 4 one side, 4the other, not a table of 6 with one at either end, when you have wine, water, bread etc you have little or no room. Just a minor gripe! Don't come here expecting Greek cuisine, come for good food in a great environment.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Wonderful.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

I ate in this restaurant due to the reviews. The atmosphere, views and service were outstanding. I also enjoyed the food which is not typical Greek. My husband was disappointed as he requested a change to his dish which was a fillet steak, he didn't desire to have the fondant potato but the wedges. The waitress informed him that it was not possible. Although it didn't ruin the night we couldn't understand why this would be a problem especially when it costs 24 euro. Even so, it is beautiful and definitely worth a visit.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Let down”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

We were really looking forward to coming here, as we had seen good reviews on here and from the holiday reps, so we were excited and had a table booked for one evening! We found it very over priced compared to all the other restaurants in Skiathos town, we had better meals with better views else where for a better reasonable pice! We felt the food had nothing Greek about it but it tasted fine, just like bland English food really. Rather disappointing overall. We also had a cat mithering us throughout our meal constantly jumping up around us and ready to leap to the table, rather off putting.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Windmill Restaurant also viewed

 
Skiathos Town, Skiathos
Skiathos Town, Skiathos
 

Been to The Windmill Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Windmill Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.