We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A friendly place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Babis Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Skiathos Town
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Babis Hotel
Save
You added Babis Hotel to your Saves list
1.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Agios Nikolaos, Skiathos Town, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 39 Skiathos Town B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A friendly place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We were only in Skiathos for 24 hours, between ferry trips, so we were looking for somewhere well located for the port and central for restaurants and some condensed sight-seeing!
Babis Hotel is a great little place. The owners are very friendly and so helpful- free airport and port transfers etc.
Clean fresh room with great sea view. There is a lovely terrace overlooking the marina/ port and easy to spend a few hours with a drink watching the world go by! The pansion Is tucked up a few streets back from the sea front, it is steep steps to get there and a bit of a climb, so it may not suit everyone but we were sorry to be leaving after one night!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    26
    11
    3
    1
See reviews for
4
55
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Studio really good. Very clean and owners couldn't do enough for you. You need to be very mobile but it does state this on brochure. Only downside would be the balcony which was very small and you felt as though you were on top of the one next door. Would definitely go again but ask for room with larger balcony. Lovely relaxing fortnight

Room Tip: Ask for room with larger balcony. Room 1 has only small balcony which you couldnt really stretch yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Such a charming hotel, right in the midst of downtown Skiathos, and Greek neighborhood. While we did not have a sea view room (not available, but we knew that ahead of time), there is a lovely roof top terrace overlooking the port of Skiathos, which was a wonderful place to sit and read, or enjoy a beverage. Yiota and her husband were both very accommodating, and picked up my daughter and I at the ferry, as well as bring us back. This was a great location right in Skiathos town and near everything, although a bit of an uphill climb to reach it!! Our room was very clean, and our hosts are lovely people. We wanted to be able to experience a more typical Greek neighborhood rather than a large hotel, and we certainly achieved that here. We would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Feltham
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We have just returned from staying at these apartments. It would be difficult to get to if you had walking difficulties. But that is the only minus point. The people who own the apartments are very helpful and lovely warm people. They even collected us from the airport and took us back on our return for FREE. What great service. The fridge had water and a couple to beers to welcome you. The views from the rooms/terrace are fabulous. The rooms are very clean and well equipped. The maid service was 1st class. She cleaned everyday. Very good value.We would recommend these apartments and we will definitely be back. Thanks for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: A room on the 3rd floor with harbour view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bedford
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

What a fabulous hotel/pension just what we were looking for, we could have stayed at a 4 star hotel but we wanted to experience the greek way of life. Here we were living amongst greek families for neighbours and how friendly they were, we stayed for 2 weeks and moved from room 4 to one of the studios on the top floor after 5 days as it was already booked up for the first part of our holiday. Room 4 was very small but so much fun after we had organised where everything needed to be, the balcony was small but perfect for our requirements. The bathroom was very small but also very greek it was more of a wetroom and once we got the idea that everything got washed as we showered it was absoluteley fine. I liked the room so much I was reluctant to move after 5 days to the studio, the studio however was very spacious and had a shower cubicle with a curtain, the small cooker served our pupose very well, the fridge in both rooms was one of the coldest I have experienced in hotel rooms making it safe to store food, air con was included in the room rate and worked extremely well and also a electronic safe was included in the room rate as was transfer to and from the airport. The beds although firm were very comfortable.

The views from both rooms were amazing and you could see the planes taking off and landing and from the roof terrace you could see the whole runway along with outstanding views across the harbour.

Babis and Yiota are smashing people and take an interest in their guests offering them beer and Frappe when on the roof terrace. We were afraid of abusing their hospitality, as they were very good to us allowing my son to send pctures to their email address of his newborn baby which arrived in the middle of our holiday. Yiota and Babis are genuinley nice people and care for their guests and try to accomodate all their needs. You would not receive this level of kindness or hospitality in a large hotel.

The Island was truly amazing and a Jiminy Jeep, Quad Bike and scooter hire are a very good idea to visit some of the remote beaches on the North of the Island. However for the less adventurous is the bus just a couple of hundred yards downhill to the no. 0 Bus stop the best stop as you are pretty much guaranteed a seat if you get on at stop 0. From bus stop 4 through to 27 there is a beach at every stop. A real must is the Ma Ma Mia film showing at the open air cinema 3 times a week at 9.00pm. We arrived at 9.05pm to be told it was not already full but it was packed out, however they did manage to squeeze us in, it was amazing with the audience singing, dancing and clapping a real feel good evening, The other rmust is a boat trip on The Poseidon to Skopelos to visit the Ma ma mia church and its 200 steps which you can climb up. The Poseidon is the only boat that can get onto the beach at this location but it has no satbilisers and if the sea is a bit rouigh can be a bit choppy in places.

For aeroplane enthusiasts another treat is to watch the planes landing and taking off at the airport fence, where jet blast is experienced.

Skiathos Town is an absolute maze of streets, with restaurants, shops, cafes and tavernas lurking around every corner, brilliant place, we spoke to many tourists most of them wished they were staying in Skiathos Town as shops open until very late at night and an amazing choice of palces to eat.

Room Tip: Contact the owners and deal with them direct, they will email you confirmation and take a credit car...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

A superb self catering pansion. Wonderful owners, so friendly and helpful. Fantastic views over the harbour. Excellent cleanliness. Only 14 rooms over 3 floors. Unfortunately no lift but stairs provide good exercise to walk off dinner. Easy walking distance from main high street. Quiet location even though you are in the town.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Hotel Babis is in a great position, for us it was the quieter end of the main town which is great (maybe also because we are here in September). The hotel owners Yiota and Babis are lovely people. Babis picked us up from the airport and dropped us off at the port which was great. This hotel is up a hill and bit of a steep climb, just hold on the railings as it can be slippery. Our room was small but clean and tidy. We had a great view of the harbour from the balcony. The terrace on the top floor had even better views of the harbour. The shower was ok, at times the pressure wasn’t great. Wifi was good.

My only disappointment with the room is that the bed was small for two adults (not a queen size bed that we are used to), also it was very uncomfortable, old and lumpy.

I think if the mattresses were comfortable I would of rated this placer higher. Sorry Babis but seriously your mattresses are very uncomfortable and need replacing.

Skiathos is a beautiful town, enjoy!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Babis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Babis Hotel

Address: Agios Nikolaos, Skiathos Town, Greece
Location: Greece > Sporades > Skiathos > Skiathos Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Skiathos Town
Hotel Class:1 star — Babis Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Babis Hotel Skiathos/Skiathos Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Babis Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.