We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge disappointement ! DO NOT GO THERE...” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Scorpios Hotel Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Scorpios Hotel Apartments to your Saves list
Scorpios Hotel Apartments
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kalistratous 131 | Kalami, Samos Town 83100, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Samos Town
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Huge disappointement ! DO NOT GO THERE...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We had booked at Scopios hotel for 7days. Once we arrived at the hotel, nobody was there. We had to get back to the town, buy a calling card, find a working telephonic cabin and call the owner. There, she answer that her husband was at the house in the back and they were waiting for us... First lie. Once there, we went to our room and we were disapointed. On their website, there is no picture of the bathroom wich is in decomposition neither pictures of the renovation in the backyard where the pool is. We didn't like the room and the place at all so we tried to make an arrangment with the owner. We were ready to accomodate her for a couple of days. We argued for a long time and she refused. We decided to stay there anyways. Once our luggages in the room, we realize that the room was very dirty : dirt sport on the bathroom, room, closet walls. Stains of the sheets. Spider's web al over the place. There was no way we would have slept there. In the end we paid 500 euro, we never slept a night there we found 2 hotels with view of the ocean bigger inpecably clean for less money (Nefteli and Penelope's suite). While talking to people in the island about our story, everyone told us the same thing : ''we fell on the wrong people and they've done similar things to other guests''. Whe have been 4 times in Grece. Whe have visited 14 islands and some of the main land and we have never experienced something like that.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy-Scorpios, Owner at Scorpios Hotel Apartments, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
I am sorry you feel this way. We did try to help you and tried to give solution to all the matters you raised. Your review is welcomed, along with so many other good reviews.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    10
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
15
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
piraeus
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

great place ,very clean , nice swimming pool with nice view Wonderful space well equipped, and very quiet
We truly enjoyed ,We stayed for 6 days at this fabulous appartment with my friends and we had a wonderful time.
The apartment is in a great location very nice and convinient .
We look forward to returning again in the not too distant future.
thank you !

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

We have stayed at Scorpios twice so far, this year the place was our starting point of our dodekanese island hoping itinerary. We love relaxing in our balcony or by the swimming pool enjoying the wonderful view. The property is squeaky clean and tidy throughout, located in a quiet area and in close proximity to the town centre. Parking space is available and for our sightseeing tour, we were even given a rented car for free!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2005

We stayed at Scorpios Studios during the last week of July 2005 - just before the school holiday season. We've used the pool/bar facilities at Scorpios on two previous holidays to Samos, when staying at a nearby hotel in Kalami.

The pool is maintained to an extremely high standard - very clean and appealing. The sun loungers are of a high standard and the view from the end of the pool over the bay is, to be honest, amazing !

The bar area is all you would want and drinks and snacks are freshly prepared whenever you want by the very friendly owners.

The only disappointment was that, during our visit, as there were few other people staying there, a very noisy TV was often to be heard blaring out from the bar area. When more people are around, the owners put on very relaxing background music which we felt really added to the atmosphere.

To present a rounded view of the apartments, you should realise that:

Although the rooms are reasonably spacious and most have fabulous views, the standard of the bathroom/shower was very poor even by basic Greek standards. Looks like no money has been spent in this area for many years !

Scorpios Studios are located up a very steep hill above Samos Town. This is a benefit in that they are away from the noise and bustle of Samos Town itself. Bottom line - you will need taxis or better, hire a car and make sure you explore around the island. There are SO many wonderful places to visit.

Please don't take this as a negative review - as a base for a relaxing holiday on Samos, the Scorpios Studios are an excellent choice !

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2005

We stayed twice times (2003 and 2005) in Scorpios ! And every time with the same (very great) pleasure.
Many thanks to our hosts.

J. & J.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2005

although abit off the beaten track, cannot fault the property. the review of this property giving a very negative view, should get their facts right. golden sun have NEVER had Samos as one of their destinations. if you are going to be insulting, GET YOUR FACTS RIGHT FIRST

  • Stayed July 2004
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
1 review
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2005

We stayed for two weeks self catering at Scorpios apartments in May, we were bowled over by the views from or apartment(Of Samos bay and the distant Lazarou mountain above Kokarri), the cleanliness of the apartments and the friendliness of the owners (Nancy and Takis) and their staff- we would highly recommend this place for couples like ourselves who want a place to use as a base to explore this wonderful island. The apartments are about a half hour stroll from Samos town past many friendly tavernas and with lovely views as you walk- in a car the journey takes about 10 mins max. Taxis from Samos town are cheap (3 euros or so) andf take you straight up to the door.
The pool is clean and well-kept with gorgeous views over the bay...and Nancy serves snacks and drinks when ever you want them!!
The island although devestated by a fire in 2001, is now recovering and is still amazingly beautiful- we walked alot using the sunflower guide which we found a little out of date as paths etc have altered since the fires, but it is a place well worth exploring.
Food is cheap - and very tasty!!- and the islands people are so warm and welcoming.
As we had no car, we didn't make it over to The sw side of the island but we hope to go back and take a look over that area asap.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Scorpios Hotel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scorpios Hotel Apartments

Address: Kalistratous 131 | Kalami, Samos Town 83100, Greece
Location: Greece > Northeast Aegean Islands > Samos > Samos Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Samos Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Scorpios Hotel Apartments 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scorpios Hotel Apartments is located in the popular Kalami area, right in front of Beis Beach. The hotel features a large seafront swimming pool with free sun beds with towels, Snack Bar and the 1st Hotel on Samos Island with Certified traditional Greek Breakfast.Constructed with local stone and following the traditional architectural style of Samos, the spacious rooms have a fully equipped kitchen, a TV and a balcony with sea or pool views. Free Wi-Fi is provided in public areas.Scorpios Hotel is situated 11 km from Samos International Airport, and just 2 km from the old port and 4 from the new port. The beaches of Laka and Gagou are a 15-minute walk. Free parking is provided on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Scorpios Hotel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scorpios Apartments sámos
Scorpios Hotel Apartments Samos, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scorpios Hotel Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.