We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab little gem!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cartago Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Cartago Hotel to your Saves list
Cartago Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Puerto de San Miguel | Ibiza, 07815 Port de Sant Miguel, Ibiza, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Dublin
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fab little gem!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Just returned from a week here, our first time to visit & all solely based on Trip Advisor comments.

The hotel is in a beautiful location, moments from a small sandy beach, and if you've a sea view room you can hear the waves lapping all day & night.

The public areas - bathrooms, eating area, lobby, bars are all spotless with staff ensuring tables cleared/areas kept cleaned all long. Any staff we encountered were very nice.

The food in the restaurant was nice. I did find some of it bland & not always varied, more veg would of helped but in general it was plentiful and always hot. They have a "kiddie" buffet & it was horrendous, I think my daughter would of starved to death if she was expected to only eat from that area! Lots of salad & fruit options for lunch & dinner. Desserts weren't to our tastes but did seem varied. Drinks of all types, juice, coffee, various teas, beer, wines & fizzy drinks on tap. Dinner seen a selection of chicken dishes, pork, meatballs, hake. One night there was a full fish buffet, salmon, mussels, prawns etc. Another night they had various roasts but it wasn't as nice as the fish, cold & the chicken was over done & completely dried out.

We visited the Chinese one night & if visiting hotel again I'd not bother. The food wasn't great & didn't have much choice.

There were lots of alcohol options, we did find the drink weaker than at home, maybe just cheaper types of vodka/rum etc?

We had a room on the first floor, but unfortunately we were near the lift & stairwell so until 12.30 each night it was noisy, not much the hotel could do, some people just have no consideration for others and can't control their own kids & mouths! I'd request a room well away from lift/stairs next time. The benefit of 1st floor was pool the floor under us which meant been able to pop up down to room not needing lift. We only needed lift to go to 8th floor (reception & restaurants). The lifts took forever!!!

Our room was nice. 1 double bed, 2 singles so our daughter had a choice. Balcony was small but over looked sea and got sun from 2pm. It did get very hot so ensure to close curtains in the afternoon and use Air Con. Room cleaned every day, fresh towels etc.

Entertainment was hilarious. Zorro & his team put on a great show. And Zorro himself has a great comic timing. My daughter didn't participate in kids activities (preferring pool all day long!) but she loved the kids time each evening. Didn't think much of the hypnosis night they had, he was a bit rude to the kids telling them to shush all the time
We didn't use facilities at the neighboring apartments but did attend the entertainment each night, the sunbeds @ Cartago are much more comfortable than the white plastic ones next door.
The pool was a disappointment, it was stone cold. My daughters lips were blue after the 1st day and I only got in once, it was a shame.

Overall it's a great place. I'd be hard pushed to visit during high season, the pool and restaurant got very busy towards the end of our stay so I can only imagine what July/August would be like. We went during the midterm for the UK at end of May/beg June & was nicely busy.

If you want a week of sunbathing/reading/kids in pool work away, and unlike the rest of the island not a peep after 00.30am!!

Room Tip: Avoid rooms near lift/stairwell. Low floor near pool, high floor near restaurant. All seem to be sea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    83
    30
    11
    14
See reviews for
74
61
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Great value for money. It was off season. Great Location, Super food ,All inclusive. Great and friendly staff Bed was less comfortable (mattress was little bit hard) Overall excellent stay. Will recommend to everybody and i will return again in future.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

We returned to the cartago hotel and we had another fantastic time, you must take part in the activities as Zorro and his team are very good at getting the best out of people. The food is very good for a three star we had fresh salmon as thick as you like and other seafood twice on our stay and the joints of veal, pork, and other meats were well cooked. Also lots of veg including broccoli, sprouts, cauliflower, spinach and mushrooms, the bedrooms are not luxurious but are very clean as is the whole of the hotel. Can't complaint about the drink as we certainly enjoyed it. Now for a gripe the lobby bar has stopped serving drink in glasses, I so hate plastic glasses. The children's team from Thompson's need to buck up their act, kids don't run to greet them like they do with zorros animation team,

Room Tip: We were in room 614 and had a lovely view of the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

Hotel was great value it was off season so the resort wasn't fully opened .The staff were very friendly.Restaurant food was buffet style and had a great selection. we also used the Chinese restaurant which you have to book in advance it was nice, not as much selection as I thought but good all the same. Its a secluded area with beautiful forestry surrounding it great for a quite holiday and catered well for children.If your looking for a bustling nitelife or shopping expericance this isnt the place to go!!!! We hired a car to get round the island

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

We went in September 2013 for 7 nights all inclusive.

Overall the hotel offered good value for money for the price we paid, staff were very friendly and food at the buffet was of good quality.

The hotel front desk area and reception were really nice with resort feel to it. It has long windows overlooking the bay which was gorgeous.

Our room is very basic, tv very small and mattress might need replacing. However, the housekeeping did a great job ensuring the place was clean. Our room has a balcony facing the sea which was great.

Food had a variety of selection, salad bar was great and we never found difficulty finding something we would like. They were tasty and of good quality. They always had one seafood/fish item every day. Vegetarian meal is a bit limited but salad on offer was aplenty.

Chinese restaurant was definitely worth booking but be warned, very limited vegetarian options if you are one.

The western saloon food was not something we fancy, they were on the other hand low quality fast food items. Maybe the hotel should also offer pizza slices? We only went there for the ice creams and drinks!

Pool and other areas of the hotel were always clean. The water in the pool was a bit cold and the sea was warmer when we were there.

We had fun riding the bikes, playing table tennis and tennis. There's also a playground just down the road.

Lift a bit slow so we always made an effort to walk down from our 4th floor room.

The hotel is very family friendly, and we found other customers to be friendly too. But its sister's hotel, San Miguel Club on the other hand was crowded with drunk and rowdy mix of people. Not generalising, but suspected most of them were on benefit. Sorry

The hotel is a bit secluded so if you want to explore other areas in Ibiza, get the bus timetable from reception.

Highly recommended for families

Room Tip: rooms with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penzance Cornwall
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Some "last minute type" flight only deals to Ibiza were more expensive than this package so we booked thinking we would be disappointed by the hotel and could book into a "better" one when we arrived.
Our first impression of the Cartago was good it looks fine from the front . Receptionist was polite and efficient , lifts were a hassle one broken but we found our room (430 overlooking the beach) which was a bit shabby but very clean, the staff do a top job . I would make sure you have locked the door to your balcony when you go out, it looks too easy to climb over and we paid the extra for the safe key.
It took us a while to get used to the all inclusive , serve yourself style but have to say the restaurant was surprisingly good very clean and well managed .
Overall our October experience was very good BUT!! I would be reluctant to go at the height of the season ,
The Western Bar was even then pretty raucous when at best 50% full and the children's entertainment which was great for the smaller guest did allow the more aggressive kids free reign , if your children are polite and have manners they will not do well mixing with the more aggressive less considerate kids of the people who enjoy the western bar .
The quality of the Cartago is down to the staff, they make it what it is. The only downsides we saw were a product of the guests . The Cartago is selling what they advertise,,, good value cheap holidays in the sun

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

I booked a 10 day holiday at this hotel from the 18th October 2013, on arrival i was allocated a room on the second floor next door had German TV on very loud this continued 24/7 after 3 days of endurance i dealt with the matter at 0430 am. I then complained to the head receptionist regarding the matter who i found to be very rude and unsympathetic, i requested to see the Manager who i found very helpful & suggested his head receptionist needed customer care training & further staff development. We were moved to the 8th floor one of the two lifts was out of order for 5 days half the hotel was shut down and the entertainment was curtailed the beach was also stripped of sunbeds, when i approached the rep i was informed it is the end of season SHUT DOWN!!!!. I then requested a flight home four days early which cost an additional £170, my concern was that families were still coming in to the hotel/resort for the half term and the hotel was not providing the service it was advertising. It felt like they had the end of season blues and they just wanted to shut down a total disrespect for the customer very disappointing hotel/resort experience.

Room Tip: Main hotel is the best in the complex
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cartago Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cartago Hotel

Address: Puerto de San Miguel | Ibiza, 07815 Port de Sant Miguel, Ibiza, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Port de Sant Miguel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Port de Sant Miguel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cartago Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Cartago Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cartago Hotel San Miguel
Cartago Hotel Ibiza/Port De Sant Miguel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cartago Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.