We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel for time of year” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cartago Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Cartago Hotel to your Saves list
Cartago Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Puerto de San Miguel | Ibiza, 07815 Port de Sant Miguel, Ibiza, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
blackburn
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good hotel for time of year”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

Went with my mother daughter and 2 sisters with their daughters we had a lovely time the all inclusive food good drinks good the Chinese was excellent rooms nice bit of a musty smell on corridors all in all we had a excellent time. The pools were freezing but the sea was warm compare to the pools

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    82
    29
    11
    14
See reviews for
73
61
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

An outdated hotel. Smelled like a hospital. Food tasted like in the hospital. The atmosphere in this hotel almost spoiled our holiday on Ibiza. But if you already booked: run out of the hotel early in the morning and comeback late.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Well, first of all, this is the first time when a hotel satisfied me completely. And because of this my vacation was totally great. I never felt so "rested" before. Maybe it wasn't the best hotel in the island but it had everything I needed for a good rest.
The hotel is located rather far from Ibiza town. This can be either positive or negative moment depending on the aim of your holiday..If you really want to have rest, relax and don't be bothered by loud music at night - the San Miguel hotel is an ideal place.. But if you want to come only to see Ibiza night life, San Miguel is not for you as it is far from everything ). I wanted to see Ibiza town either but I had no difficulies in going there by bus and taxi.. I liked that I could sleep well at night in San Miguel and when I wanted I could hang out in Ibiza... But the location is wonderful. An amazing view to the bay from the window. The sea was always calm.
A bus stop is in a few step. Hotel also offers car rental and excursions around Ibiza and Formentera (but we went everywhere by ourselfs. The receptionists are very friendly and helpful. The food was very tasty. I would give 5* for the food :).. but yet..the was a very few moments I'd like to mention. The first one doesn't refer to the hotel but to the bus schedule. It's not convenient at all.. The intervals are very big and for some cities the buses runs only once or twice per week. For the reason we had to use taxy quite often..and it's rather expensive 25-30 euro. The second was the hair-dryer in the bathroom. The air's only hot..very hot.. And sometime we felt a bad smell..probably from an algea from the sea.
In total my opinion is still very good about the hotel. When I have children this place will be one of the first we will visit :D..

P.S Better don't use seabus to San-Antonio. It was late on the way to San Antonio, but on the return came half empty (didn't wait till all passengers with return tickets come back ) Regular bus is much more quickly.

Room Tip: The elevators were busy almost all the time. Restaurant and reception is situation on the 8th floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Having never heard of the resort before we took a chance and did we strike lucky. The hotel overlooks a lovely sandy cove, all the rooms have sea views, the bedroom we were allocated had one double and two singles (although we were just a couple), was parklingly clean and had a large balcony. The a/c was effective but had to be turned on every 2 hours, something we were warned about on our arrival..
The all inclusive option was an excellent choice, allowing us the opportunity to use not only the main buffet restaurant but also the tapas bar and the Chinese restaurant in the hotel. The food was always of a high standard with loads of choice and a chef at hand to grill meat or fish each evening. Similarly, thge chef would make you an omelette of your choice for breakfast. The steaks on offer to be cooked by the chef were some of the nicest I've ever tasted on holiday. The wine on tap was very palatable and service in the bars was polite and friendly. One beef I had was that they only offered plastic glasses in the main bar even if not using the pool. The latter was a little cramped with the sun beds almost touching the pool edge but there were two other pools just a short distance away with plent of space around them.
The entertainment was good and catered well for the cosmopolitan clientele (the French seemed in the majority).
I would unreservedly recommend this hotel and hope to go back there soon.It certainly merits the "very good" Tripadvisor certificate hanging in the reception area.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms in the left middle of arrow configuration of the rooms as they have little sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

This is a 3 star hotel for families. If you dont have a family or don't have kids, maybe you'd like to go somewhere else. But if you do, this could be THE place for you. It's not new but well maintained. The target is english people so you’ll get english entertainment and english food. We are italians but loved the entertainment both for kids and adults and found the food average considering the price paid and the all inclusive fare. Certainly we are not the type of italian family which goes to Ibiza looking for the perfectly cooked spaghetti dish (and -anyway- the pasta dishes at the Cartago are really inedible...). The all inclusive formula is a real all inclusive with ice creams and beer and hamburgers all the day long from 10 am to 11 pm. The rooms are big and clean, every room has a terrace overlooking the wonderful bay, our room was very simple and it wasn’t new but had a new lcd tv screen and new air conditioner. The beach club is really big and there are many activities all day long. Our kid enjoyed a lot the games with Goha and Emma and we loved Zorro and his comicity after dinner. Of course if you don’t speak english at all this club could be not your very first choice in Ibiza. And of course there are things that could be better. The only two elevators are always packed with people and you have to wait for too long. The restaurant area is frozen and you tend to get cold. The food is certainly not top-quality and the hamburgers at the saloon bar are not the type you’d call “first choice meat”. Spanish food is somehow missing and that’s really sad when….you are in Spain! Drinks are low quality too but you can pay for your Smirnoff Vodka or Befeater Gin if you wish. But I have to say I cannot pretend more for the price paid. The beach is wonderful, there are a lot of fishes, and if you rent a car you’ll have the occasion to visit event better beaches nearby. The entertainment for families is great. Ibiza is a wonderful place, specially in September when it’s not packed. We’ll be back.
P.S. Finally, fet me say that I consider stupid to blame Italians, or French or English or Spanish people for being rude or bad mannered. In an all-inlcusive resort filled with tons of people it’s easy to find rude people, wherever they come from. But we have to learn to live togheter without blaming each other!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chichester
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

This hotel is basically combined with the beach club hotel. You have access to lots of facilities are straight onto the beach and the all inclusive is very generous without queues. The entertainment swimming pools and other facilities are all good. The rooms are a little dated but our room was really big.

The one bad thing was that because the resort is so big you do have a fair bit of travelling in the lift to do which can be quite tricky if you forget something. A lot of French and Italian in this hotel and almost entirely British in the club hotel which part of the same resort. Free kayaks and included tapas bar, cocktails and Chinese restaurant were bonuses.

Room Tip: Ask for a floor at either end of the hotel either 8 where the restaurant is or 0 where the beach and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012 via mobile

Such a beautiful location and lovely hotel. wonderful staff if slightly annoying entertainment team. have been here 7 or 8 times. great place for toddlers, safe beach. highly recommended

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cartago Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cartago Hotel

Address: Puerto de San Miguel | Ibiza, 07815 Port de Sant Miguel, Ibiza, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Port de Sant Miguel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Port de Sant Miguel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cartago Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Cartago Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cartago Hotel San Miguel
Cartago Hotel Ibiza/Port De Sant Miguel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cartago Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.