We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big Disappointment” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Hacienda Na Xamena

Save Saved
You added Hotel Hacienda Na Xamena to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Hacienda Na Xamena
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Buzon 11, 07815 Port de Sant Miguel, Ibiza, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Rome
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Big Disappointment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

I thought this was going to be a real treat, an intimate and super pampering exclusive escape. The reality is very different. This is the tackiest hotel I have ever seem. It is immediately clear that it was not renovated by an architect but by very 'confused' amateurs/new owners.
It is a mixture between India, Bali and ...the flintstones! The main area of the hotel where the swimmingpool is located is a painful juxtaposition of stones, plants, water tunnels, huge stones. It is so badly laid out that it takes a couple of days to work your way around this labyrinth.
Many details are not cared for, and the place is so big that the many public areas look tired.
The 'suspended waterfalls' are so ridiculous, first of all you have to pay €35 euros to enter and in addition you have to move around a circuit (timed by an operator) and can't freely enjoy them.
Why not just a huge whirpool?
Food is too expensive, staff generally friendly but with little experience (especially at reception).
This place needs to learn a few lessons from places like 'gecko club' in Formentera: the beauty of architecture and interior design which blends with the surroundings and is utter simplicity.
I have seen top-end real estate in Ibiza and it looks incredible. What happened here?
This is one of the most beautiful places in northern Ibiza spoiled by this messy place. What a shame for what could have been the most beautiful hotel ever.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    63
    25
    22
    23
See reviews for
39
176
7
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Wonderful location and very good restaurant spoilt by siginificant lack of investment in rooms, public areas and facilities. Not a 5* hotel by any stretch.
We stayed for 2 weeks in August - setting is stunning and eden restaurant which looks out across the Med beautiful with a very good kitchen.
However the public areas are very tired - the rooms have had an attempt at renovation in small doses but are generally tired and cheaply done and overall the public areas are very poor indeed.
The service in the restaurant is generally good if sometimes understaffes but the overall cleaning around the public areas is poor with cleaning equipment left around the pool and one morning we came down to dirty towels and broken glass left around the pool area.
The gym areas is extremely poor with an old largely broken multi-gym and old damaged mats.
Its a shame as this hotel with investment could be fantastic- sadly its let down and it shouldnt have 5*. Overall hard to recommend without a discounted rate and a short stay only.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

The most beautiful spot you' ll ever see . It is a place one cherishes forever. Too bad it's pricy, but once you are there you are hooked. You need a car as the property is very secluded.
The views are breathtaking - the hotel is small, and very quite. The breakfast is incredible.

Room Tip: Anything on the 4th or 5 th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

We have just enjoyed a week here escaping the London rain, I was last here in 1984 and I'm happy to say that the hotel lived up to my good memories of the place . The location is simply stunning, the views and the sunsets are breathtaking .The hotel is a little quirky and there are definite retro touches such.as a wonderful original mural in one of the hallways . we really liked the contrast between the simple white architecture and the buddas and other oriental touches that have been added,very eclectic. The pool is lovely and reminded us of the Cesar Manrique pools on Tenerife.
The service standards were high from the charming young staff and we also found the food quality to be good . The a junior suite with shower was spacious with an amazing view,although the shower cubicle sited in the ,room Is a little odd and dated.
Loved the upstairs terrace bar (added since 1984. !) and on the Saturday night we listened to great chill out music from one of the Pacha Dj's whilst sipping cocktailfs and watching the sun go down, very lovely, very Ibiza. But what really makes this place is the chilled relaxed lovely atmosphere in a very unusual and individual setting.
A few negatives, the gym is awful, needs updating with new equipment and is dingy, the wireless broadband (thankfully free) was very erratic in the bedrooms. lastly the amount of shade on the terrace by the pool is inadequate and more needs providing.
Apart these comments love the hotel ,will come back and it won't take 28 years. !!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

I used to stay at this Hotel years ago when it was the perfect, quintessentially spanish hotel. Simple white walls inside and out which complemented the fabulous views. Whoever owns it now obviously loves Bali or the Far East. The plain white walls in the grounds have Balinese posts stuck on them - very incongruous. I just looked at the bedrooms online and they have hideous wooden bedheads and orange furnishings. Also there are no sun umbrellas round the pool except for about 2 fixed ones. Ibiza gets very hot in the Summer!
I had lunch there and even the mozzarella and tomato salad was served with beanshoots
If I won the Lottery I'd buy the Hacienda and make it what it was

Room Tip: One with a view of the sea
See more room tips
Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012 via mobile

Great views and nice breakfast - those were the main positive points when it came to my Hacienda na Hamena experience... Rooms were just ok, especially considering the rate!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
265 reviews 265 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

My wife and I were staying near Santa Eulalia for a week and we went here for dinner as a treat on the last night of our holiday and we weren't disappointed. Some of the reviews said the hotel felt a bit tired, but it was streets ahead of anywhere else we had seen in Ibiza, and we were there for the food, which was excellent.

We didn't bother with a starter but we got a nice selection of breads and an anchovy based amuse bouche which was very tasty if a little oily.
I had the sea bass with a lemongrass foam for main which was very tasty. The foam was unusual, but flavoursome and went well with the fish which was well cooked. My wife had the beef, which was cooked just as she'd asked and served with potatos and maybe too little sauce.
For desert I had creme brulee which was competant if not perfect. My wife had tarte tatin which was very good.

Mains were about 28€ each and the deserts 14€. The cheapest wine on the list was about 20€.

The service was generally good but it was obvious that a couple of the staff were fairly new to the place, perhaps as it was near the start of the season.

The location on the cliff was really incredible, and even though the restaurant was sat back a bit, on the other side of the pool from the drop, we still got a great view of the sunset. The area around the pool looked really nice, and from walking through bits of the hotel it looked good. Maybe not a full 5 stars, but definitely a solid 4.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Hacienda Na Xamena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hacienda Na Xamena

Address: Buzon 11, 07815 Port de Sant Miguel, Ibiza, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Port de Sant Miguel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Port de Sant Miguel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Hacienda Na Xamena 5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Splendia, Orbitz, Tingo, Odigeo, Otel and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Hacienda Na Xamena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Na Xamena Hotel
Hacienda Na Xamena San Miguel
Hacienda Ibiza
Hotel Hacienda Na Xamena Ibiza/Port De Sant Miguel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Hacienda Na Xamena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.