We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This Hotel it Currently Closed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Eden Village Galeon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Eden Village Galeon to your Saves list
Eden Village Galeon
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Puerto San Miguel, 26, 07815 Port de Sant Miguel, Ibiza, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Lincolnshire
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“This Hotel it Currently Closed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

We booked this hotel for arrival 5.5.12 on arrival we found this hotel is closed. It is joined with Hotel Cartago and Club San Miguel and Cartago will accept you if you are booked for Galeon. However there was no clear information on the door that this is the case.
The Cartago we ended up in was a good hotel- please se my review on that page for full information.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    183
    58
    30
    28
See reviews for
184
87
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

this hotel was great value for the price we paid. The view from the room was magnificant. The hotel room balcony was the most roomy. Could not fault this holiday .Have stayed in 5 star hotel but had a worse exprience.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

I must admit I was a bit apprehensive having read the other reviews but Im not going to write what we did, the time we got up, how much I ate! These are the experiences we had at this hotel based on a pretty average persons perspective on an All Inclusive basis. We booked and flew with Thomson and are both 40 and we went alone, no kids! for 1 week. So I'll start with the good. The views are amazing, sea boats, lush hillside, food was very good offering choice and plenty of it, hotel was clean, Food times were kept to (evening restaurant 7-9pm, not 9.05!) hotel was cool and felt spacious, you could use the sister hotels facilities also, just below on the beech you can hire canoes, pedloes, sunbeds, go on the glass bottom boat.
And now the not so good (without pushing the point too hard as its just my opinion!) The hotel rooms and restaurant are very tired looking, the rooms very basic, walls paper thin, slamming doors and this was the 6th floor so we moved to the 9th floor (top floor) These are definately superior, still tired, but there was a picture on the wall, the lock on the patio doors worked and the maid came every day ( not with fresh towels, just made your bed and replaced a toilet roll, rinsed the bath) The corridors occasionally smelt of drains, the carpet runner was not hoovered all week, aprox 75% of the staff were so very obviously rude to English people, the Dutch French and German were clearly favoured which I found a mystery as we have visited Ibiza before and Spain etc and they are always lovely but why this hotel was so like this I dont know.The alcoholic drinks were very watered down and the coke was not coke as I know it. The meal times are so punctual, beware the wrath of the waiters! There are snacks at another two places though very limited. The building has lifts which you can spend a while waiting for. The chinese restaurant in a sister hotel has to be booked (no problem) but there were 9 dishes only of way below average food, coke lemonade and beer only, no music, no atmosphere and you are told where to sit.Comparable to a school canteen only really small ( no windows to see out of) NO talking allowed! Very weird!
Ibiza is truly beautiful, the hotel is in a picturesque part and we hired a car which was very straight forward. Just a quick note on the Thomson reps at the sister hotel (they're based there) they were helpful but not always around when they were supposed to be which I know others have mentioned in other reviews. Would we go again? Ibiza every time, Hotel Galeon, No but San Miguel is small but very pretty and the sister hotel next door was far less tired looking and more appealing. Whichever hotel you may chose, there are hundreds of steps to clime and a steep hill, so very difficult if your a bit unstable on your feet!

Room Tip: Book a 9th floor room if you can. Not alot here for children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

Hotel in beautiful location overlooking the bay. Food was edible most nights however, limited choice and shortage of veg.The themed nights provided slight improvement on menu, breakfast was good and was a shame this wasn't carried on at other meals. Part of complex and 2* hotel which was linked to it spoilt the complex if you were coming for a relaxing holiday. Hotel was clean and majority of the staff were pleasant, a couple of the waiters could have smiled once in a while.
Felt a little intimidated at the pool as entertainer appeared to be in everyones face so we spent our time at the main beach, which was a little dirty with cigarette ends and empty cups, we found a lovely cove on opposite side of the main beach. A bit of a trek but worth the peace and quiet and had a quaint little beach bar.
Great holiday with friends but doubt we will be visiting the complex again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

Had a three day anniversary break with my husband here. Firstly, for me it was absolutely ideal for a short time - I personally wouldn't have like two weeks here without a car or other means of transport - a little off the beaten track. What an absolutely perfect location though - especially if you really want a good rest. There are two neighbouring sister hotels that you can use in addition to the Galeon so it was nice to eat lunch, dinner or breakfast in a different location. My only complaint - wingeing, moaning fat Brits who complain about the food then stuff their faces on copious amounts of chips, bread rolls, sausages, bacon, beer etc. We were all inclusive and the food was absolutely fine - fish, veal, pork chops, lamb, paella, salads galore, soups, fruit, pasta, rice, squid, prawns, salmon, etc., etc., etc. Not to mention the option of a chinese restaurant, a burger bar (spot the Brits!), even a Mexican corner serving tacos, burritos, etc. WIne, soft drinks, beer and cocktails are free from early in the morning until midnight. The hotel is a little dated - but was remarkably clean. Very comfortable beds and hot, hot showers with good water flow. The view is just perfect and it is just a couple of minutes walk from an incredible cave. Lovely beach facilities and a couple of bars, pizzeria within a stones throw of the hotel. Can somebody please tell me what these English really want to eat on these holidays? The French didn't seem to have too much problem with the food - well, they acted perfectly civilised and were really respectful of the Spanish who worked incredibly hard at this resort. We didn't pay a fortune for this hotel - I was well satisfied!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

I have just got back from a week spent at Hotel Galeon with my partner and we enjoyed it so much we didn't want to leave. The rooms were spacious, had everything you needed and very clean. The balconies were a good size and the views overlooking the sea and beach were just beautiful. The only complaint we had about the room was that there was only one pillow to each bed, but I suppose this is the case anywhere you go. The food was really good. There was always a good selection, even on the themed nights there was a good choice of other food and we always managed to find something we liked. I wouldn't reccomend the cereal at breakfast time though! Also, we didn't enjoy lunch in the main restaurant as much as dinner, but we mostly went down to the Western Saloon bar on the beach in the San Miguel Beach Club part of the resort for lunch, which was brilliant. We also loved the chinese restaurant, although when we poured the lemonade, or lemon Kas, there was bugs in it which put us off. You have to book a day in advance for the restaurants in the other two hotels, except for the Western Saloon bar, and it is quite difficult to get a table in the chinese restaurant as its very small. I loved the fact that we were so close to the beach, the Western Saloon bar is actually on it, but the steps down to the beach from Hotel Galeon are really steep and dangerous, and very difficult to walk on when drunk! There's a little gift shop actually on the site and a souvenir shop on the other side of the beach which sells english newspapers and magazines. There is a bus stop just outside the reception of Hotel Cartago (the one in the middle, reception is on the eighth floor) which takes you to different places such as Ibiza Town (which is a must) and San Antonio (although buses to San Antonio are only 2 days a week and not very good times). The price of the bus is reasonable. There is also a bus stop near the souvenir shop on the other side of the beach which takes you to other places such as Portinatx. Its really easy to get around and the island is beautiful so well worth exploring. A must-do when in Ibiza is the waterpark, Aguamar. Although its not very big, the rides are awesome and you get photo's taken on certain rides which are only 6euros to buy. The Hippy Market is another must as there are some really great stalls and live music, although make sure you take a map from the entrance as its like a maze and very difficult to find your way out without one. The evening entertainment in Hotel Galeon was mostly catered for Spanish, French and German people as there were a lot of these staying in the hotel. However, the entertainment in the San Miguel Beach Club was very good. The entertainment team, Zorro and crew, were very funny and got all the audience dancing to party dances at the end of every night. The shows were pretty good too, especially the hypnotist who was hilarious. Up until 9pm though the entertainment is all for the children, which is great if you have kids but not so great if you don't and you have to sit through the same party songs night after night. The daytime entertainment was really good too, with a different activity on every hour. The staff are all very friendly and helpful. However, we didn't think much to the Thompson reps that were there. They were never around when you wanted them and very difficult to find and weren't available to help with excursions or airport transfers. The welcome meeting in Hotel Galeon was a quick chat with just one of the three reps, whereas the welcome meetings in the other two hotels had all three reps, free drinks were provided and the meeting went on for much longer. As for the lifts that most people have complained about, we didn't have a problem with them. They are very small so can only fit 6 people in at a time, but they don't take as long as people have made out, you just have to be patient or take the stairs. The glass lift which goes down from Hotel Cartago to San Miguel Beach Club is very unreliable and kept breaking while we were there, so its probably best to walk it. The San Miguel Resort is a massive complex with lots to do so its probably best to have a good look around when you first get there as its very easy to get lost. For instance, the bus for any excursions you book picks you up outside the San Miguel Beach Club reception, but we ended up waiting at the Hotel Cartago reception! If your stuck on anything, its probably better to ask the people at reception, who are very helpful, rather than hunt for a rep! Overall we had a fantastic holiday and would definately go back and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

Having read the reviews we were a little apprehensive about what we would find - but we were honestly delighted! The staff were all very friendly and helpful - as with anywhere you go, treat people right and they treat you with respect too! They all worked tirelessly to ensure we had a good stay.

We had 3 rooms altogether and each of us had a beautiful view and lovely big balconies. The rooms were fairly basic - although air conditioning worked just fine (if a little noisy) and were all very clean. The rooms were cleaned daily and fresh towels appeared at last every other day! There is a TV in the room for which you can 7 euros to have extra channels for a week - but hey you're on holiday - who needs it?!!! Our rooms were below the bar/pool area but we had no trouble with noise.

The food was very good with plenty of choice. Our whole party ate very well the entire time. There is the option of eating in the 2 lower hotels but we found that Club Galeon had the nicest food and best choice. The lower 2 hotels seemed to do more British food and always seemed really busy. The Chinese was okay for a change but again, not a patch on the food back at our hotel. Also you had to book the day before for any of the other hotels other than the Western Bar on the beach.

The entertainment staff were excellent - managing to entertain the French, Spanish, German, Italian, English and Czechs! Vanessa especially deserves a mention if not an award for her tireless efforts and constant good humour! She managed to involve everyone in our party - we ranged in age from 11 to 68 - and we did everything from sandal throwing to rifle shooting! The entertainment was very good except for the caberet - although that was so bad it was funny! The Ghanian acrobats were amazing - worthy of any stage! Overall, a varied and fun evening was always had.

The lifts have been mentioned a few times on other reviews, only 3 for the whole hotel, but as long as you were patient they were fine. Otherwise use the stairs and work off the food!!
The beach was clean and not too busy but the walk back up is steep. If you're not very fit it can be trying in the heat. Between 5 and 15 minutes to walk back up.

There is a local bus service to various parts of the island which is reasonably priced and very reliable. We went into Ibiza Town which I would recommend although it was just livening up as we left in the evening at about 8pm. There is a Hippy market there too which is a fraction of the cost to get to compared to the organised trips! Very easy to find too.

If you fancy some locally organised traditional Spanish dancing, San Miguel Village has a show once a week on a Thursday (5 euros per person) which was well worth the visit.

Overall we had a fabulous time and enjoyed our stay immensely there. I would recommend Club Galeon to anyone!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Eden Village Galeon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eden Village Galeon

Address: Puerto San Miguel, 26, 07815 Port de Sant Miguel, Ibiza, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Port de Sant Miguel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Port de Sant Miguel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Eden Village Galeon 3*
Number of rooms: 192
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Venere, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Eden Village Galeon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galeon Hotel San Miguel
Galeon Hotel Ibiza
Eden Village Galeon Ibiza/Port De Sant Miguel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eden Village Galeon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.