We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Money Grabbing” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Cova de Can Marca

Cova de Can Marca
Apartado de Correos 25, 07815 Port de Sant Miguel, Ibiza, Spain
+34 971 33 47 76
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Geologic Formations, Caverns/ Caves
Attraction Details
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Money Grabbing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Well where do I start, the leaflets look great and was a great journey by car from Ibiza old town, however the €10 it cost each adult to go and see, I was thinking wow this is going to be great. The Views around from the top before climbing down the stairs to the cave was great. inside the caves it looked like it was built by a film studio for thunderbirds, but though its got to get better, then when we went to the best bit, the tour guide turned on the music and lights and then started the water pump to show the water cascading down the rocks, so no natural water free flowing on its own. 5 minutes later were all out and heading back up the vast amount of steps.

Positives - if your really hot and need to cool down then this is a great place to visit.
need to waste some euro's
plenty of parking
nice views from reception area.

Negatives -
loads of steps to climb, not worth the value of €10 entrance fee

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    32
    23
    13
    8
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Better to give this a miss”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

There's very little to make the entrance fee to this site worthwhile. Caves can often be interesting and significant places to visit, and this site could have some potential, but the visit is chaotic, crowded and somewhat opportunistic.

There were far too many people queuing to wander through the three or four stops of the short tour (the sea view while waiting were great, though) for the guide to handle, and the "cave of Babel" this creates was not dealt with well. The lighting inside was ok, but we were left to wonder whether this was worth the price. Not really. The musical waterfall was funny rather than profound.

My advice would be to give it a miss and head off instead to the nearby, very relaxed,beach Cala Beniras, where there are several excellent restaurants.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Don't bother unless you have children”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

The attraction would have been nice to see if it was in its natural state. However it had been a bit "blinged up" with coloured lights and "fake" water that they had running through it. The guide didn't hide the fact that most of it was fake or enhanced in some way. Also the waterfall show was just cringeworthy - water they had pumped in, coloured flashing lights and the guide even said there wasn't even a waterfall there originally. Not worth 10 euros - we felt robbed! The only good thing I could say is that children may enjoy it.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

View from cafe was amazing over the bay. Disappointed by the cave tour. Too many people, too many languages.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Caves lovely, shame about tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Caves very interesting & reasonable value for 10 euros. Be prepared to wait for entry, you have to go round with a guide & though they give a time for the next tour they change it at will if there are not enough people. The views a great, while you wait though! There were about 20 in our tour, Spanish, English & German & we had to keep waiting while the guide spoke to one group at a time very annoying & what was said was dull anyway. We just kept going off on our own where possible. Lit waterfall show, though well done, rather detracted from naturalness of caves.Those with mobility problems may find it difficult as there are a lots of steps to get into caves. Overall we enjoyed the trip but much better without guide.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cova de Can Marca also viewed

Ibiza Town, Ibiza
Ibiza Town, Ibiza
 
Ibiza Town, Ibiza
Port de Sant Miguel, Ibiza
 

Been to Cova de Can Marca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cova de Can Marca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Cova de Can Marca to your Saves list