We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of San Miguel Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Port de Sant Miguel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
San Miguel Hotel
Save
You added San Miguel Hotel to your Saves list
Carretera General del Sur, 07815, Port de Sant Miguel, Ibiza, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Relaxing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Just returned from a week all inclusive. Place is very quiet, away from the hustle and bustle of the larger resorts. Hotel very clean and room had nice view of the beach and woods. Staff were helpful and spoke good English. Pool area nice and kept clean. Beach also good. Restaurant had large selection of food, breakfast and lunch had the best selection. Chinese restaurant also available, but must be booked in advance as only small. Rooms clean but beds were very hard, making them a little uncomfortable to sleep in. Had good air con which was essential at night. Drinks, snacks and ice creams also available. All perfect if you don't want to do that much or if you have a family and want everything in the one place. Not good if you want to party the night away. Rooms also have TVs with lots of different stations including BBC and UTV. This is an international hotel welcoming French, Russian and Italians, so lots of different personalities and cultures to accommodate, which I think they did well. All in all a good week.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    90
    31
    5
    6
See reviews for
105
54
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

We have just returned after spending a week at San Miguel resort and we have only good things to say about the resort.
The hotel room was simple but functional and more importantly cleaned every day and we had a lovely view from hour balcony.
We were all happy with the food in the hotel restaurant, plenty of choice and even managed to please fussy children. I would recommend the Chinese restaurant, you have to book in advance and it was well worth it as we all enjoyed our meal there.
I did hear that the food in the beach club restaurant was not very good and it was always hard to get a table.
The Western Saloon snack bar provides the basics to keep you going (more so the kids really) with chips, nuggets, etc. All the children enjoyed the all inclusive ice creams (magnums, cornettos, lollies)
Both pool areas are really clean and there is a children's pool in both. The younger children enjoyed the kids club and there were activities to keep the older ones amused too so the adults had opportunity for some peace!
The beach is lovely white sands, clear blue seas coupled with free pedalos/canoes with all inclusive. We did the glass bottom boat trip too which was lovely.
The evening entertainment was good Zorro and his team were very funny. We found all the hotel staff very friendly. Fantastic sunsets on the beach in the evening great for photo opportunities.
I've seen some negative reviews for this hotel which I think are pretty unfair, not sure how things would be in peak season but we were more than happy and had a great holiday and we may go back in the future. I spoke to several people who returned every year. If you're expective 4* luxury like Sandals resorts etc then no this would not be for you but this is a 3* hotel and it did exceed our expectations and we all had a great time.
The only negative experience we had was with the rude and grumpy shop owner in the hotel, she followed anyone with kids around the shop chastising those children that dared to pick up any of the little trinkets. Needless to say we didn't spend our money there and bought inflatables etc from the spar around the corner instead - her loss!!

Room Tip: Try and get a room with a sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TORQUAY
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

We have just returned from having 10 days at this hotel. It was great, all staff were helpful and friendly ,the food good and plenty of it and the hotel clean and tidy.
The hotel entertainment team were excellent and kept the kids happy all day and into the evening, when they entertained the adults.
We would definitely return.
Also the weather was fab!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

We stayed here for a week in September 2013 in the main hotel which is built into the cliff. You can also stay in the beach club, which is at beach level. The Beach Club is closer to the entertainment so might be better if you have kids, but the hotel itself seemed nicer. The hotel is also known as the Cartago Hotel.
The room was a good size with a nice bathroom, plus a big balcony that looked out onto the rest of the complex and you could see the beach from there. However the walls are very thin and when you end up with noisy neighbours you can hear everything that they do.
We stayed all inclusive so ate at the hotel the majority of the time. The food is all buffet and is what you would expect from an all inclusive hotel. In addition to the main restaurant, you can also book ahead to go into the Chinese Restaurant, which is definitely worth a visit. Free drinks are served until 11pm. The drink sizes are very small, but if you buy a cup from the gift shop they will fill this up for you instead.
The location is quite far away from the main part of Ibiza, near a fairly secluded beach in the north of the island. You can access other parts of Ibiza by bus but they are quite infrequent. We weren't going on a clubbing holiday specifically but we did want to see some of the bars/clubs. The distance from the rest of Ibiza, and the lack of transport at night stopped us from doing this as much as we would have liked. If you want to explore the night life, even if for just a couple of nights, I wouldn't recommend this hotel. If you want an all inclusive holiday where you don't have to venture too far from the hotel then I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

We visited the hotel on the 10th May for 7 nights, my husband, our two children aged 4 & 2 and I enjoyed our stay very much. My daughter had a great time at kids club and Chloe was especially lovely and warm with the children even when not working. We arrived at the start if the season and can imagine at the hight of the season the shortage of lifts might prove problematic but apart from that we would return and recommend to friends.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Got back 17th of may, when we booked our holiday we booked to stay in the san Miguel beach hotel on the ground floor, so we was a bit disappointed to find it wasn't even open yet. I wondered why the travel company would sell holidays which clearly weren't available. The first two room we were offered smelt so we refused them the third room was on the 8th floor right next to reception and it was fine. That first day we really didn't want to stay but the reps wouldn't move us hotels and couldn't get us a flight back home so we did feel trapped. Day two after a good nights sleep we had a really good day the two reps were really good, we hired a car and booked an excursion for our last day there. The reps Sally and Leigh were excellent we could not fault them at all, our holiday started as one of the worst we had ever had and finished as one of the best we have ever had. This was our second visit to the same resort and we will go back, 6 days out of 7 were perfect thank you Sally and Leigh you made our holiday one we will remember.

Room Tip: Try for a room on the 8th floor right next to reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

Stayed here from 7th-14th May 2014 with 4 adults & 7 children aged 16, 15, 12, 10, 7, 6, and 4 months. Had 3 rooms on the 1st floor. On first impression the hotel looks nice on the cliff side- the location of the hotel next to the beach is brilliant. The rooms were very clean and the furniture was nice- however they are quite small for families. The food was good, quite a good choice. The western salloon snack bar is good for the day time and the chinese resturant serves lovely food- well worth a visit or 2. The swimming pool areas are very good, again clean, lots of sun loungers and the pool is a good size. There are pool tables (you have to pay for), daytime activities such as archery and darts and evening entertainment (standard holiday entertainment although the kids loved their part of it). There are kids activites run by the hotel throughout the day and also a Thomson Kids Club (this was good and the reps were good but you have to pay 7 euros per child for some of the evening activities)
The resort is very quiet, 3 shops and a couple of resturants but is set in the countryside and is a nice setting. Get the bus to Ibiza town or Es Cana for a nice day out in busier areas.
Was not impressed with Thomson with regards to the excursions- we booked for 8 of us to go to the water park and it was cancelled twice so we ended up not being able to go.
negatives about the hotel- not enough lifts- you can end up waiting for ages for one and with the resturant being on level 8 we didnt fancy lifting the pushchair up 8 flights of stairs multiple times a day. We were put directly above the entertainment- annoying with young children and the size of the rooms were the only things that we werent happy with.
Overall I think that this is a nice resort and hotel and I would return although a week is long enough.

Room Tip: Do not sleep in rooms 106, 105 and 104- right above the entertainment- very noisy with children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to San Miguel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Miguel Hotel

Address: Carretera General del Sur, 07815, Port de Sant Miguel, Ibiza, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Port de Sant Miguel
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Port de Sant Miguel
Number of rooms: 260
Also Known As:
San Miguel Hotel Ibiza/Port De Sant Miguel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Miguel Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.