We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place redefines luxury and impeccable service. Magnificent.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Leela Goa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Leela Goa to your Saves list
The Leela Goa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mobor, Cavelossim 403731, India   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
The Leela Moments
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Cavelossim
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Surrey, UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“This place redefines luxury and impeccable service. Magnificent.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2009

We were lucky enough to stay in an uber-exclusive Club room. Although this is more expensive, we had the advantage of having our own private outdoor Jacuzzi, and a swimming pool shared between only a handful of rooms. Since we are both keen swimmers, this was a massive bonus.

We had our own valet, who seemed disappointed when we didn't give him enough tasks to do for us!

The food in the restaurants is brilliant, and the service is so good, that I wanted to drag out all the shoddy hotel staff in supposedly great hotels in Europe and show them what good customer service really means.

Serious luxury, but so worth it!

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    981
    318
    82
    28
    17
See reviews for
394
656
26
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (379)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2009

Beautiful Beautiful property very very nicely done, just takes you to another world! Huge right on the beach and since its the last resort on the beach (after Taj,Hyatt etc), its almost like a private beach. we went in July when monsoon was at its peak, and goa is lovely then though true goa culture of shacks etc is all missing as its closed, so if you plan a trip at that time plan for a fantastic resort that offers plenty to explore. the property is huge and has many things to explore spice garden, lilly pools, birds, small gambling zone and much more. it just made very very beautifully and we got a steal of a deal of 3 nights 4 days, look out for these offers from early may till aug.
Do visit a restaurant outside the gate called Fisherman's Cove- excellent location, sumptuous food and live music

Stayed July 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2009

Great place to unwind. The beach is clean, but is not privately owned by the Leela thus has other people on it as well. Food is very average. The suite was great.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2009

I had a wonderful time here with my wife and daugther. The entire family had a gala time at the resort. The resort is self containing and you do not need to go out for anything. The cottages are very comfortable with a beautiful view from the balconies.

The bedroom size, the bed, the bathroom, living room and everything was so perfect.

In fact we felt like our second honeymoon here.

i later sent my parents to this resort and they enjoyed the stay equally. I think this is one of the finest places in Goa for a memorable holiday.

  • Liked — The large resort with all in-house facilities including golf-course
  • Disliked — the accessibility from the main road and lack of transportation from outside the hotel
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2009

Stayed for 4 nights.

Stayed September 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2009

After a long flight, the airport "experience" and the long and bumpy journey in searing heat in a so called air-conditioned "bus" we arrived at The Leela. The gates to the resort were ceremoniously opened and we entered into a world of utter calm, relaxation and luxury.

First impressions of the hotel were stunning. Welcomed by a garland of flowers around your neck we were escorted through the magnificent entrance into the equally impressive Yali lounge where we were immediately served with a welcome drink. All the formalities were discreetly carried out as we relaxed and gazed at the quality furnishings and calm surroundings and we had our first hint of what this hotel would excel at - its service.

We were placed in a white buggy and driven through the resort to our room which was quietly situated towards the back of the resort. We had a pavilion room although we had asked to pay the supplement for a conservatory room but none were available. However our room was nice, very clean, nicely furnished and on a lagoon with a flower laden balcony. Had the weather been cooler we would have spent many an hour there with our pre dinner drinks in the tranquil setting.

This is a true resort hotel, very spacious with manicured gardens, an abundance of brightly coloured flowers and accommodations beside lagoons. It is superbly set out and a series of bridges and walkways create a nice ambience.

The impressive pool is quite large with a waterfall feature at one end. There are plenty of good quality sunloungers all around the pool although we preferred to sunbathe on the grass verges overlooking the golf course and the sea beyond. The pool attendants take great delight in getting everything ready for your day in the sun and no sooner are you settled and starting to feel the effects of the heat and some fragrant cold towels are offered to refresh you.

Leaving the pool area it is a few minutes walk to the sea where sunbeds are dutifully attended by the beach attendants and nicely set under the palm trees. You are also given two flags. Red for "Leave me alone" and Green for "Please serve me".

You have several choices for lunch and dinner. The food at all restaurants was excellent.

The Cafe, overlooking the pool, served breakfast lunch and dinner. Breakfast was a feast with the traditional English / American fare but also the more spicier Indian fare. Lunch was either buffet style with a huge choice or a la carte and dinner was a la carte or a themed buffet.

Jamavar - the Indian restaurant - served dinner in atmospheric surroundings either indoors in the air-conditioning or outdoors under a fan. Food was delicious, many dishes being spicy as one would expect. Service was exceptional.

Susegado is set on the beach serving lunch or dinner. The emphasis is on seafood and the setting, overlooking the beach and the Arabian sea, is just great. The food tasted so fresh (everything served is caught that day) and was cooked to perfection. Once again, service was impeccable. There was the occasional themed dinner which looked great.

The Riverside restaurant serves Italian cuisine in a separate restaurant just outside the hotel. They only serve dinner. Ask for a table on the main deck right by the river. It is in a beautiful setting with food that will not disappoint in any way. Service was attentive and faultless.

The Poolside Bar served good quality snacks near the pool and was the least formal of all restaurants. Prices were lower there too. But it was service with a smile - and great service at that!

We had massages at The Spa. They were very reasonably priced and The Spa was a welcome retreat from the heat of the day. The surroundings were tranquil and it had a nice ambience.

We did not try the Gym. We were on holiday!

We decided to upgrade to half board before we left. The prices of the meals equated to the cost paid in the UK but we liked the convenience of doing so and we would do so again. You could eat in the beach shacks outside the hotel - there are two nearby serving drinks and food at a fraction of the hotel prices - and they are great places to drink a large beer and have a nice lunch. They are also very popular as the sun sets - well worth a visit then too.

If you want quality surroundings, peace and tranquillity, great food with a service that just could not be beaten anywhere, then book this hotel. It's not cheap to go there but what you get is ample reward for what you pay. We left feeling pampered and humbled by the service that was offered to us. Every single member of staff showed us courtesy and attention that we more than happily returned to them.

We will soon return to this Goan Paradise.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2009

I never thought I’d find myself saying this upon returning from the Leela Goa but I’m glad to have left and won’t be staying here ever again. It’s not too much to say I wouldn’t stay here again for free. This is a reasonably nice hotel with OK facilities but worrying management. I booked a long weekend with my wife, arriving on a Thursday and departing on a Sunday.

We booked a Lagoon Suite which was two rooms, one living room and one bedroom overlooking a man made lagoon. The room was nice but a little dated. The two TVs were ancient and as is becoming more and more prevalent in top end hotels the TV reception was rubbish.

Aside from the Café there were 3 other restaurants. One served Indian food, one served Italian/seafood and the other down on the beach served seafood/burgers etc. We ate at the Indian restaurant and the seafood restaurant and found both to be reasonable. Neither will serve the best food you have ever eaten, both are unlikely to make you ill.

Down the beach from the hotel (30 meters) there are three beach restaurants serving food at far more reasonable prices. We would have tried them had we not been on an all inclusive deal. Given the emptiness of the restaurants in the hotel each evening this must have been where people went to eat.

My major issue with the hotel came towards the end of my stay. I appreciate times are tight for the hotel industry but my stay was ruined by the arrival of 30 men from a large telecommunications company holding some kind of conference. This resulted in this group lying around on the grass drinking, monopolistic the pool, shouting, drinking and generally making a nuisance of themselves. Complaints to the management elicited responses such as “it’s hard to control a large group of men” or “..but they are all from a top company”. The hotel was clearly far more interested in making sure that these 30 men had the run of the hotel causing whatever havoc they chose at the expense of the other guests.

This has left a very bad taste in my mouth. I spent a significant amount of money for the three nights I was there and came second in terms of priority to the drunken idiots in the eyes of the management. It’s a shame. Having stayed at other Leela hotels in the world the management at this one really let the side down.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PDupuis, Owner at The Leela Goa, responded to this review, March 21, 2009
ppreciate the feedback. At The Leela Kempinski Goa, all guests are treated equally. When the group of people were in the pool and making noise and disturbing other guests, the pool attendant did approach them and asked them politely to reduce the noise but nothing happened. This matter was immediately brought to the attention of the Duty Manager and after discussion we got them to stop and to leave the pool. These group of guests happened to be on a "friend re-union" after 25 years.

No action of any guest which is detrimental to another guest is tolerated by the management. This matter was attended to immediately.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Leela Goa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Leela Goa

Address: Mobor, Cavelossim 403731, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Goa > Cavelossim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Cavelossim
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cavelossim
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cavelossim
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cavelossim
#1 Spa Hotel in Cavelossim
#2 Business Hotel in Cavelossim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Leela Goa 5*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combine the opulence and luxury of 5 star hotels, The Leela Goa with the natural beauty and Portuguese heritage of South Goa for the ultimate beach holiday. The hotel is set in 75 lush acres with a pristine beach, a 12 hole golf course and world class dining making it the finest 5 star hotels in Goa. While the rooms and suites, The Restaurant and the signature Jamavar have been designed by Jeffrey A. Wilkes, the principal designer of DESIGNWILKES, the art and embellishment has been done by Mrs. Madhu Nair. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Orbitz, Venere and Expedia so you can book your The Leela Goa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Leela Goa Hotel Cavelossim
Leela Kempinski Goa Cavelossim
Leela Goa
Goa Hotel Leela
Goa Leela
Leela Kempinski Goa Hotel Cavelossim
Leela Palace Goa
The Leela Goa Cavelossim

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Leela Goa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.