We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in the world, shame about the Russians” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Leela Goa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Leela Goa to your Saves list
The Leela Goa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mobor, Cavelossim 403731, India   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Suite Indulgence
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Cavelossim
Nottingham
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Best hotel in the world, shame about the Russians”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

Fabulous hotel. Voted one of the best in the world. President Clinton stayed here on a visit to Goa. The rooms are large and luxurious set around lagoons. All areas of the hotel are luxurious, the pool is stunning and plenty of comfortable loungers. There is a 9 hole golf course, and of course a children's area and pool. The beach is well kept with sun beds and umbrellas. Food in the several restaurants was excellent although expensive. Small town a short walk or bus ride away with plenty of shops, Banks and Restaurants. River trips ,and sea trips available. The Indian staff were all fantastic. So kind, willing and helpful. Only downside, Russians.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shridhar_Nair, General Manager at The Leela Goa, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

We greatly appreciate that you took the time to post your feedback following your stay at The Leela Goa.

We are happy to know that you had an enjoyable stay and your comments have already been shared with our entire team.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Shridhar Nair
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    874
    283
    75
    27
    14
See reviews for
360
574
22
119
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

Had great dining experience.Had gone for dinner with my wife.We were seated next to the river front.Staff were very attentive.Ordered sea food platter.Ambience was excellent .Thoroughly enjoyed the evening.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shridhar_Nair, General Manager at The Leela Goa, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback following your dining experience at our Riverside Restaurant.

Your kind comments regarding our staff and services is greatly appreciated and has already been shared with our entire team.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Shridhar Nair
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

This is one of the best properties in Goa, a world class beach resort. Leela maintains the top end luxury standards and its visible as soon as you are welcomed at the grand lobby. Man made lagoons all through the resort and landscaped gardens add to the grandeur. All rooms have a lagoon view. Its a feel of backwaters while its still Goa and you can walk straight to the beach from pool side. Breakfast was absolutely amazing and buffet lunch and dinner was good too (spread was dramatically different each day). To top it all, service was phenomenal across the board. All staff right from front desk to restaurants and housekeeping were extremely courteous and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shridhar_Nair, General Manager at The Leela Goa, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback following your stay at The Leela Goa.

We are very happy to know that you had a memorable stay and your kind comments regarding our staff and services is greatly appreciated.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Shridhar Nair
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Stayed at the Leela for a long weekend. Really enjoyed this hotel and its grounds. The beach area was excellent - the palms and trees hide the hotel from the beach. The lobby area was very well presented and even though there was no air conditioning it was cooled by a multitude of fans which worked well. The room was very comfortable with a separate area with a comfortable seat to view the natural-looking pools with lillies, fish and wildlife.

We thought the various restaurants were very good and the prices for the non-local wine were very reasonable. The staff were friendly and always tried to help.

We were picked up from the airport late on arrival and returned to the airport at the end of our stay. No hassles and good friendly service.

Would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shridhar_Nair, General Manager at The Leela Goa, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback following your stay at The Leela Goa.

We are very happy to know that you had a memorable stay and your kind feedback is greatly appreciated.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Leela Goa.

Best regards,

Shridhar Nair
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

A fantastic entrance lobby but that's not where you spend your time as it's not air conditioned.
The rooms are of a good standard but I've stayed at other hotels in Goa with better such as the Alila Diwa & Hyatt Goa. We spent 8300INR on the barbecue buffet on the beach and the food was not up to much at all. The pool is small for a hotel this size although the beach was lovely. Also to charge guests for WIFI when every other hotel provides it free leaves a very bad taste in the mouth particularly as even the beach shacks provide it for free.
Unless I heard they up their game considerably I wouldn't stay here again as I know what I can get elsewhere is considerably better.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shridhar_Nair, General Manager at The Leela Goa, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback following your stay at The Leela Goa.

We have noted that whilst your overall experience at our resort met your expectations, there were certain services and facilities that did not. Please accept my sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused and your feedback has already been forwarded to my team for corrective measures.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Leela Goa.

Shridhar Nair
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

We just recently visited this resort. This resort is best if you are looking for peace and quiet and remoteness from the hustle and bustle of India. If you are looking for a place close to north goa and shopping, don't pick this one. The sand on the beaches was very soft and the grounds were amazing. It made for some nice and scenic photos. The food was amazing and the deserts were wonderfully displayed. The one thing to note is you don't get good data reception for your cell phone and wifi is outrageously expensive. This resort is good for a honeymoon getaway and if you enjoy sitting on a beach and enjoying being in the middle of nature.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shridhar_Nair, General Manager at The Leela Goa, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback following your stay at The Leela Goa.

We are pleased to know that you overall had a comfortable stay and your kind comments regarding our staff is greatly appreciated.

Sorry to know that there were certain services at our resort that did not meet your expectations and your feedback has been noted.

Thank you once again and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Leela Goa.

Shridhar Nair
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

What a wonderful hotel and my wife and enjoyed staying here for just over a week as part of our multi destinaton Indian Honeymoon. The setting, the facilities and the general feel of the hotel were excellent. The staff were always incredibly respectful, helpful and there when you needed them. The room was wonderful even if it was perhaps standard fair for the hotel as i suspect all the accomodation would be to a very high standard indeed. The proximity to a wonderful beach was excellent too. The mini golf course was perfectly tended, well set out etc if not a little pricey at £18 a round. At half that price many, many more people would have played the course as in my opinion it was seriously underutilised. It was a very relaxing 8 day stay for us and regular trips via taxi added to the experience.
The only downside was the price of the food for what i thought was pretty average overall in terms of quality. The numerous beach front cafe's offered decent food for one third of the price of that offered by the Leela. Ok the surroundings were nowhere near as smart but really who cares when you are sitting there in shorts and flipflops.
Breakfast was a bit of a lottery some days - always very busy and the food was more than acceptable but the whole of the breakfast set-up at the Hotel required better supervision of the plentiful staff.
One last gripe and it has to be aimed at all the Indian luxury hotels not just The Leela Goa. £40 a week for Wifi..!! On top of the substantial amount of money we have already given you!! That is simply unacceptable in this day and age. If ALL the restaurants and cafes we visited provide it free to their clients why not you?
Overall a memorable stay at a wonderful hotel to be at just let down a smidgeon by some minor niggles. The wildlife was memorable too - I took a few cracking photos of the bird life - kingfishers etc.

Room Tip: Use the spa and the staff were willing to assist with adding or taking weights off the bar when push...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shridhar_Nair, General Manager at The Leela Goa, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback following your stay at The Leela Goa.

Your kind comments regarding our staff and services as well as your constructive feedback is greatly appreciated.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Shridhar Nair
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Leela Goa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Leela Goa

Address: Mobor, Cavelossim 403731, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Goa > Cavelossim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cavelossim
#1 Family Hotel in Cavelossim
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cavelossim
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cavelossim
#1 Spa Hotel in Cavelossim
#2 Business Hotel in Cavelossim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Leela Goa 5*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combine the opulence and luxury of 5 star hotels, The Leela Goa with the natural beauty and Portuguese heritage of South Goa for the ultimate beach holiday. The hotel is set in 75 lush acres with a pristine beach, a 12 hole golf course and world class dining making it the finest 5 star hotels in Goa. While the rooms and suites, The Restaurant and the signature Jamavar have been designed by Jeffrey A. Wilkes, the principal designer of DESIGNWILKES, the art and embellishment has been done by Mrs. Madhu Nair. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Prestigia and Tingo so you can book your The Leela Goa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Leela Goa Hotel Cavelossim
Leela Kempinski Goa Cavelossim
Leela Goa
Goa Hotel Leela
Goa Leela
Leela Kempinski Goa Hotel Cavelossim
Leela Palace Goa
The Leela Goa Cavelossim

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Leela Goa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.