We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Leela Goa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Leela Goa to your Saves list
The Leela Goa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mobor, Cavelossim 403731, India   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Suite Indulgence
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Cavelossim
Chitradurga, India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Everything at The Leela Palace is top-notch from the room, to the staff, the restaurants, the spa the service, the water sports EXCELLENTTTT.....
The calm beach at the hotel, i never felt like going back to my room.
they know how to pamper and spoil the guests. The buffet spread at Leela is good
After our visit here we went to North Goa, it was really hard for us to adjust there after leaving LEELA.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shridhar_Nair, General Manager at The Leela Goa, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

We greatly appreciate you taking the time to post your feedback following your stay at The Leela Goa.

Thank you very much for your kind comments and it was with equal pleasure that your feedback was shared with our entire team.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Shridhar Nair
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    878
    287
    76
    26
    14
See reviews for
360
577
23
119
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We, two families x 10 people, stayed in the Leela for 3 nights - it was amazing! The rooms are superbly luxurious with luxury features throughout. The staff are incredibly helpful, friendly and knowledeable about any topic we required help with. We stayed during monsoon and the weather was great; just a few showers during the day which didn't affect our stay one bit. Access to other parts of Goa can be easily accessed by taxi or by hiring motorbikes in the shops near to the hotel. A local knowledge source is a Shop just 100m from the hotel who offers every day items, local information, and friendly advice. Overall our stay was awesome !!

Room Tip: If your staying in rooms ask for room in 5th block only ... it is very near to pool, restaurant, gym...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shridhar_Nair, General Manager at The Leela Goa, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback following your stay at The Leela Goa.

Your kind comments regarding our staff and services is greatly appreciated and has already been shared with our entire team.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Shridhar Nair
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

The Leela Goa is without doubt one of the finest hotel experiences on planet Earth .
From the minute the air conditioned BMW collects you from the plane and drives you the 50 mins to South Goa, the service is first class . We visited at the time a large Indian wedding was on, so the main hotel rooms had been pretty much booked out ..finding this , we upgraded to a Club villa and the service was certainly worth the money .. The complex of Leela Goa is like a huge garden , bordered by a river and the Arabian Sea . There's a main , modern hotel with rooms spreading out all over the garden , and a separate Country Club style building which has some large villas around it.. We stayed in the villa.. We had a fantastic butler, who watched over us every day , checking we always had everything we needed, when we needed it.. Golf carts to take us anywhere we wanted were always to hand..( we chose mostly to walk as the gardens are so lovely ) we ate in the Riverside Italian restaurant which was very very good, we ate in the Club too, and took breakfast there each morning .. Days were spent by the private Club Infinity pool.. It was totally idyllic .. I can only imagine what it must be like for honeymooners .. ! My wife and I absolutely loved it.. This was our first trip to Goa, first trip to India actually, and the comfort of the Leela and kindness and efficiency of all the staff made the whole experience wonderful . Could not recommend more highly .

Room Tip: If you see a good deal to upgrade to a club suite / villa, do it ..it's unbelievable !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shridhar_Nair, General Manager at The Leela Goa, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback following your stay at The Club at The Leela Goa.

We are very pleased to know that you had an enjoyable stay and your kind comments regarding our staff and services is greatly appreciated.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Shridhar Nair
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Though its been a few years back, but the name is still reminiscent of the good times had at this Hotel, The Staff was very good which of course adds on to the whole experience...!! The Hotel is in South Goa and the Beach is much quieter than most of the other properties that i can think of ..

The Restaurants are very good, The Pool is awesome and a very good property

Room Tip: we stayed in the Conservatory premier Room and can recommend to everyone coz its more airy, spacious...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shridhar_Nair, General Manager at The Leela Goa, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

We greatly appreciate you taking the time to post your feedback following your stay at The Leela Goa.

Thank you very much for your kind comments and it was with equal pleasure that your feedback was shared with our entire team.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Shridhar Nair
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nagpur, India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed at the Leela in third week of June 2013. The property is huge and located in the quiet and peaceful south Goa, far away from anything noisy. We had opted for a package inclusive of meals and Airport transfers.
A very efficient AC bus picked us up from the airport . Took about one hour to reach the hotel. Check - in was a breeze. A very courteous Mr. Vasudeo greeted us and had us checked in under 5 minutes. No need to stand in queue (like in USA) or handle the luggage. While he finished the paperwork we were offered coconut water (delicious). Ms.Ovina took us to our room and explained the basics about the property.
The lagoon terrace was spacious and clean with a view of the beautiful lagoon. The food at the restaurant was delectable and the variety included Punjabi/ south Indian/ continental/ oriental and a lot more. Immaculately maintained pool with a poolside bar. The private beach was clean and secure. The property is lush green and very well maintained. Enough of the facts; Now my opinion.
The Leela offers ultimate in hospitality and comfort. If you want to spend a relaxing few days, this is the place to be. Lie on the beach for hours and roam around the property on foot and on a bicycle. Beautiful trees with variety of flowers, no noise, secluded rooms with a view to kill for, food to satisfy everyone and the unmatched Leela hospitality - what more do you want? Special thanks to Ms. Mona at the reception, Ms. ovina, Mr.Savio at the restaurant and Chef Lenin.

While we were checking -in, I mentioned that I need to buy some fevikwik for the sole of my shoe and asked for a nearby shop; a bellboy appeared with fevikwik before we had unpacked.
Amazing professionalism.
I can keep on writing about our lovely experience, but you get the picture. Right..? So don't miss a chance to spend some time at The Leela.

Room Tip: Lagoon Terrace rooms offer best value for money. All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shridhar_Nair, General Manager at The Leela Goa, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback following your stay at The Leela Goa.

We greatly appreciate your kind comments regarding our staff and services and it was with equal pleasure that your feedback was shared with our entire team.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Shridhar Nair
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We stayed at the Leela in south Goa for 5 nights following a tour of the golden triangle and could not have picked a better place to relax. This is one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in. The grounds were beautiful and there was the opportunity to see a variety of wildlife just walking through the grounds. The rooms and the grounds were well maintained and the staff professional and friendly. There was a welcome drink of coconut water which was also a nice touch and also an orientation to the hotel .The hotel was quite a distance from the airport – fortunately we had arranged transfers through our tour operator and would recommend making transfer arrangements in advance.

There was a nice pool and the pool area was always more busy than the beach which was excellent- a long stretch of golden sands which was almost empty the whole time we were there. The beach was a pleasant walk through the hotel grounds. There was never any problem getting a sun lounger or parasol on the beach and towels were readily available. It is worth noting that there are different coloured flags on the beach to stick in the sand if you want to be left alone or if you want service. This was one of the most peaceful and relaxing beaches we have ever been to. There are a number of sellers on the beach but they do not come up if you are on the sun loungers and will only approach as you walk from the loungers to the sea.

The room was excellent- clean and well maintained with a balcony looking out over the water. There was a mosquito plug provided in the room. The bed was very comfortable and there was complimentary bottled water in the room which was replenished regularly. There was a good selection of toiletries and more than adequate storage space. We had a leak from our air conditioning one evening and the maintenance team came and sorted it out very promptly and arranged for the housekeeping team to come out to clean up the water that had leaked out.

There is a small shopping arcade on site – which is quite expensive (as might be expected) and we found it cheaper to explore the shops outside the hotel. There were a few shops within about a 5 minute walk of the hotel and a larger number of shops/stalls about a 30 min walk at the resort area of Cavelossim- either along the beach (where there are a number of beach shacks selling food and drink along the way- a cheap alternative to purchasing food in the hotel) or along the road (it is worth being aware there is no footpath so walk with caution). Some of the vendors in Cavelossim advised us that they would be packing up for the season during the few weeks following our stay.

Breakfast was included in the price and offered an excellent choice. We had an early start on our departure day and the hotel put together a breakfast hamper which we ordered the previous day. We ate in the hotel in the evening a couple of times (both from the buffet and a la carte in the main restaurant and also in the Italian restaurant) and whilst all the food was excellent it was very expensive. We ate the remainder of the time at the Fishermans Wharf which was within a 5 minute walk from the hotel and offered excellent food and very good value for money (much cheaper than eating in the hotel). The choice for vegetarians both within the hotel and outside is excellent.

We did not use the spa or the gym but presumably they operate to the same high standards as the rest of the hotel.

The hotel paid a lot of attention to the small details which make your stay special. We were there over Easter and the main dining area was decorated with eggs. We also came back to our room to a nice surprise of and Easter egg chick and other nibbles. Towards the end of our stay there was a wedding at the hotel – the preparations appeared well organised and a lot of attention had been given to the detail of the decorations to make someone’s day special.

We would undoubtedly stay at the Leela again and would highly recommend it to others if you want somewhere relaxing to stay. Thank you to all the staff for maintaining such a lovely hotel and their professional and friendly approach which made our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shridhar_Nair, General Manager at The Leela Goa, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

We greatly appreciate you taking the time to post your feedback following your stay at The Leela Goa.

Thank you very much for your kind comments and it was with equal pleasure that your feedback was shared with our entire team.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Shridhar Nair
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi, Delhi, India
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

The hotel is gorgeous! All rooms are around lagoons, so when you step into your balcony, you get a nice view of the lake. The rooms are actually villas. We took a lagoon suite and it had a nice spacious drawing room, a bedroom, 2 bathrooms, 2 nice balconies - it was a full apartment sans a kitchen :-) Highly recommended if you are planning a trip to Goa.

On the flip side, the hotel does pick you up from the airport and drop off as well, but it is done in a AC coach (bus). It is a 1 hr ride, not very comfortable, and I would have expected a cab. The waiters in the restaurants seemed lost and unable to handle the guests, even though this was off season and the volumes weren't as high as you can see in usual city restaurants. Finally, it is a bit far off from North Goa where all the nice beaches are. But if you are looking for plain relaxation and not so much of tourism, this is the best place to be.

But the food was good, the beach was awesome, kids room has nice activities to keep the little ones engaged and the pools were out of this world.

Room Tip: Lagoon suite. Ask for something close to the reception/ main restaurant. It is a big campus so you w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shridhar_Nair, General Manager at The Leela Goa, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback following your stay at The Leela Goa.

We are happy to know that you overall had a comfortable stay and your constructive comments are also greatly appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Shridhar Nair
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Leela Goa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Leela Goa

Address: Mobor, Cavelossim 403731, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Goa > Cavelossim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Cavelossim
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cavelossim
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cavelossim
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cavelossim
#1 Family Hotel in Cavelossim
#2 Business Hotel in Cavelossim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Leela Goa 5*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combine the opulence and luxury of 5 star hotels, The Leela Goa with the natural beauty and Portuguese heritage of South Goa for the ultimate beach holiday. The hotel is set in 75 lush acres with a pristine beach, a 12 hole golf course and world class dining making it the finest 5 star hotels in Goa. While the rooms and suites, The Restaurant and the signature Jamavar have been designed by Jeffrey A. Wilkes, the principal designer of DESIGNWILKES, the art and embellishment has been done by Mrs. Madhu Nair. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Prestigia, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Leela Goa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Leela Goa Hotel Cavelossim
Leela Kempinski Goa Cavelossim
Leela Goa
Goa Hotel Leela
Goa Leela
Leela Kempinski Goa Hotel Cavelossim
Leela Palace Goa
The Leela Goa Cavelossim

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Leela Goa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.