We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Leela exceeded our expectations and she said yes!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Leela Goa

Save Saved
You added The Leela Goa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Leela Goa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mobor, Cavelossim 403731, India   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Suite Indulgence
Ranked #1 of 11 hotels in Cavelossim
Bristol, UK
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The Leela exceeded our expectations and she said yes!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

We've had a memorable first trip to Goa made even better by the exceptional Leela. As it's nearly at an end I thought it was worth writing the review sat in our room whilst things are fresh in my mind.

The Lagoon Terrace rooms are spacious, ours had a comfortable king size bed, decent sized Sony LCD TV, walk in shower, separate bath, desk, a couple of chairs and a balcony overlooking the lagoon with an outside table and chairs. The electric sockets support UK, European and US plugs without adapters. Our one was fully air conditioned with the option of a ceiling fan. 2 large bottles of water per person (one for your teeth) are provided for free daily.

WIFI is available throughout the hotel but is quite expensive at circa £50 per week. You can get around this by signing up for a (free) Global Hotel Alliance card and giving the team the number after which it's free. It seemed fairly fast anyway.

In terms of facilities we didn't try the tennis courts but they looked decent, beach volleyball was a good laugh, the pool was clean and a comfortable temperature, the spa seemed a little expensive but we may try it before leaving, there's a big golf course which I suppose would appeal to people who like golf (colourful flocks of local birds seemed to be the main users) and the hotel can organise watersports. The watersports seem reasonably priced (cheaper than local competitors) but other places we've stayed (Indian resort in Mauritius for example) offered them free - perhaps something to consider. Something unexpected was the lack of Mosquitos, the hotel seem very effective at deterring them with incense and daily spraying. There's also a free DVD rental service, a free Pool table, table tennis and chess to occupy your time.

There are several places to eat within the resort including the Susegado (beach grill), Jamvar (Indian - pretty good), Riverside (unexpectedly excellent Italian, better than some food I've had in Rome) and the buffet. They're expensive by local standards but if you compare them to the UK they seem fairly priced (around £60 for 3 courses and drinks). To save cash, you may want to try one of the beach shacks but a couple of them upset our stomachs. Betty's (3 shacks down the beach) is excellent if you want a tasty meal for under £10. If you enjoy smoking shisha the hotel can provide hookahs (£8ish) in the reception bar or out on the beach, a lovely complement to the Goan sunset over the Arabian Sea.

The quality of the service was excellent. The hotel arranged a romantic meal in a secluded beach shack for our 7 year relationship anniversary and executed my secret plan for a marriage proposal with military precision setting off fireworks after she said yes. (For a price obviously!) Special thanks are due to Mayur for coordinating the whole thing with discretion, Sourash and Christopher for serving us and Chef Rama for cooking the excellent 5 course meal.

The concierge team were very knowledgable, especially Bhwanan and Priya but this is to be expected given that Leela team are consistently great (there are probably a few more people I haven't named here but deserved praise - I'm terrible with names!), I didn't come across anyone from the guards and cleaners to the management team who convinced me otherwise.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shridhar_Nair, General Manager at The Leela Goa, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your detailed feedback following your stay at The Leela Goa.

We are very happy to know that you had a memorable stay, especially since you were celebrating a special occasion, and your kind comments are greatly appreciated. It was with equal pleasure that your feedback was shared with our entire team.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Leela Goa.

Best regards,

Shridhar Nair
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,146 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    794
    244
    68
    26
    14
See reviews for
330
516
19
107
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Goa Undoubtfuly a great peace

& if U R at Hotek Leela , Goa its just a Heaven
Nice Place , Nice Place , Near Sea Shore , Fun , Music < dance < masti on Beach , Great Structure warm Staff and Hot Beaches Quality and variety of food is excellent

The resort grounds are amazing and lush. The hotel rooms are luxurious, large, and well designed. The resort spa (I visited twice) was fantastic. Hotel has personal beach with beach dining

From the airport pickup to the dropoff. Every need catered for with the warmest care from the most peaceful and pleasant staff imaginable. No request too much, in an absolutely heavenly location.

i like the place , u will also like it

Just Gooooooood ..... to

Best In Services

Just to say that
U Must Go

Room Tip: As such all rooms are good and the opposite to river ones are great the rooms give u just p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shridhar_Nair, General Manager at The Leela Goa, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback following your stay at The Leela Goa.

We are very happy to know that you had a memorable stay and your kind feedback is greatly appreciated. It was with equal pleasure that your feedback was shared with our entire team.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Leela Goa.

Best regards,

Shridhar Nair
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ahmedabad
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Hotel is very good for family accommodation having one bed and one couch with 2 LCD TVs in the room where kids can enjoy separately particularly with kid section . Room is very spacious and lake facing. Hotel has personal beach with beach dining. Quality of food is excellent.
unfortunate part is not to have AC in foyer and reception area where you have to pass daily and you definitely perspirate a lot.

Room Tip: Always ask for Lake facing or Pond facing rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shridhar_Nair, General Manager at The Leela Goa, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback following your stay at The Leela Goa.

We are very happy to know that you had a memorable stay and your kind feedback is greatly appreciated.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Leela Goa.

Best regards,

Shridhar Nair
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

By far the most exceptional experience, from the airport pickup to the dropoff. Every need catered for with the warmest care from the most peaceful and pleasant staff imaginable. No request too much, in an absolutely heavenly location.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shridhar_Nair, General Manager at The Leela Goa, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback following your stay at The Leela Goa.

We are very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and your kind feedback is greatly appreciated. It was with equal pleasure that your comments were shared with our entire team.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Leela Goa.

Best regards,

Shridhar Nair
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

The Leela Goa is situated on specatcular beach-front property in Southern Goa. The resort grounds are amazing and lush. The hotel rooms are luxurious, large, and well designed.

The resort spa (I visited twice) was fantastic. The staff is extremely professional and the massage therapists are top-notch.

The food, while certainly respectable, was not spectacular.

If you're heading to Goa and you're looking for incredible vistas, beautiful beaches, tranquility and relaxation, the Leela Goa is an incredible choice.

If you are looking for great food, you should explore other options.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shridhar_Nair, General Manager at The Leela Goa, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback following your stay at The Leela Goa.

We are very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and your kind feedback is greatly appreciated. Your comment regarding the food has also been taken up with my culinary team for corrective measures.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Leela Goa.

Best regards,

Shridhar Nair
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

Our 4th stay in this hotel and the only one we would choose in Goa as it is head and shoulders above the nearest competition the Taj Exotica....where I have also stayed.
Rooms are fabulous, luxurious and so relaxing...we had a conservatory premiere room...having stayed in these types of room before I recommend you aim for a first floor room as you get a small balcony and a larger bathroom.
They have renovated the restaurant area since my last stay which helps at busy breakfast times. We ate in all the hoel restaurants which were all good , however you won't have a bad meal at any of the beach shacks , or Fishermans Wharf ...they are all good, and the beach shacks are incredibly inexpensive.
The hotel had a very lavish large wedding party of 350+ guests however were thoughtful and considerate to cause minimum disruption to other guests.
This place is the most expensive in Goa....but hey its the best, and as with all things in life you get what you pay for.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shridhar_Nair, General Manager at The Leela Goa, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback following your stay at The Leela Goa.

We greatly appreciate your continued patronage and thank you for your kind feedback. It was with equal pleasure that your comments were shared with our entire team.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Leela Goa.

Best regards,

Shridhar Nair
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a week, the last week of Feb 2012. We loved the way the rooms overlook the lagoons, the birds and flowers all add to the beauty which help you relax. Service is fantastic, all the staff are knowledgeable and helpful, just what you would wish for. Fantastic gardens with flowers everywhere. Lovely terrace with a view of the lagoon. The terrace view is so calm and peaceful that you do not want to leave the room.
The Restaurant serves three meal buffet. all meals were well planned and palatable for both Indians and Foreigners. The most elaborate of all was the breakfast with all possible variety of Indian food one can imagine.
The most wonderful part is the Beach..sparkling clean!!
Their are Buggies at the leela to travel within the property. The music and ambiance at the lobby is great.. especially the santoor session by Imtiaz and Sharukh was ultimate..worth a stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shridhar_Nair, General Manager at The Leela Goa, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback following your stay at The Leela Goa.

We greatly appreciate your kind feedback and it was with equal pleasure that your comments were shared with our entire team.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Leela Goa.

Best regards,

Shridhar Nair
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Leela Goa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Leela Goa

Address: Mobor, Cavelossim 403731, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Goa > Cavelossim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Cavelossim
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cavelossim
#1 Spa Hotel in Cavelossim
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cavelossim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Leela Goa 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Leela Goa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Leela Goa Hotel Cavelossim
Leela Kempinski Goa Cavelossim
Leela Goa
Goa Hotel Leela
Goa Leela
Leela Kempinski Goa Hotel Cavelossim
Leela Palace Goa
The Leela Goa Cavelossim

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Leela Goa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.