We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Resort very nice service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dona Sylvia Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Dona Sylvia Beach Resort to your Saves list
Dona Sylvia Beach Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Cavelossim Beach | Mobor, Cavelossim 403731, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Cavelossim
Northampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great Resort very nice service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Great resort lovely holiday.
if i had to pick a fault i would say the only thing would be that the entertainment should be more Indian and reflect for all staying with the hotel as it is more English.
The Christmas & New Year gala was wonderful as well however very English.
The Spa is very expensive and would need to question however very good service.
The staff at the hotel are more than accommodating and nothing seems to be hard for them.
The GM Mr Atool is very approachable and actually comes and greets you to ensure you are having a good stay.

Can't recommend it enough.

Room Tip: Ash for a room with a large balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResortDonaSylvia, General Manager at Dona Sylvia Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Mr. Nitesh,

Greetings from Dona Sylvia !!

Thank you for your review and it was indeed a pleasure to have to stay with us. We will definitely look into and consider altering our evening entertainment to suit all nationalities. Happy New Year to you !!

Regards,

Atool Mulgaonkar
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

884 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    420
    332
    93
    28
    11
See reviews for
222
451
4
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

On arrival at the Dona Sylvia you are greeted with a face towel and a drink, with the check in quite simple with your cases ending up in your room within minutes.
The rooms although being pretty small and basic with a nice balcony are decently maintained with tea making facilities, fridge and a tv.
The main buffet restaurant has a limited choice for breakfast but is much improved for lunch and evening meals where we experienced a few themed nights such as Mexican and where the buffet was served in the gardens which was a nice change. The mama Mia restaurant serves more "English" style snacks for lunch with burgers, chips sandwiches etc this then turns into an a la carte restaurant for the evening which is definitely worth a visit along with kebabs and curries which is the other one and you get a voucher to use at both on check in.
The pool area is great and the guys around the pool always made sure you get a sunbed and towels were readily available. The pool bar was open from 11am for drinks and you can choose from a range of beers kingfisher, bud and fosters, usual soft drinks of coke and sprite, plus local spirits and cocktails. The wine is ok and tolerable. The evening bar would serve the same drinks until 11 pm. Where i feel the hotel lacks is the evening entertainment, there were 2 singers who would have the cheeky girls turning in their grave and dancers at times who wouldn't look interested, but I suppose it's difficult to cater for all tastes and cultures.
The hotel is extremely well placed with a 100 yard walk to the beach with its own private entrance where you be greeted by a couple of shops and then about 10 shacks all serving food and drink within walking distance. They are definitely worth a visit for a change of scenery and all at local prices (50 rupees for a beer and about 150 rupees for food). I would so recommend going down the beach and get a cocktail and watch the sunset it's amazing! These bars will also have a beach party on a wednesday evening with fireworks and dancing.
Out the front of the hotel there is an abundance of local shops all selling much of the same and some popular bars like mikes place and the jazz inn which are definitely worth a visit. Just up the the road towards the holiday inn (150 rupees taxi ride away) there is the fisherman's wharf and although is expensive (similar to UK) is worth a visit if celebrating an occasion or you fancy splashing the cash. A few doors down is Betty's which is another nice bar serving great food and they also run a boat trip during the day which is 850 rupees but includes all drink and a 3 course meal which was stunning.
In regards to trips with Thomson we done the laid back waters which is a 2 hour taxi journey to the north but then you set sail on a local made boat with two other couples and just do nothing but eat, drink and chat. You do need to be lucky who get as this can make or break the trip. You have your own ensuite private room which is really nice and you get three decent local meals while aboard. Thomson charge £76 for this trip and for what you do and get with the travelling involved I'd give it a miss.
Overall I'd say this is a place definitely to stop at although not luxurious is great value for money and in a prime spot in cavelossim.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResortDonaSylvia, General Manager at Dona Sylvia Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Dona Sylvia !!

Thank you so very much for your review and we shall definitely take corrective measures to improve our evening entertainment.

Hope to see you and meet up during your next visit to Dona Sylvia.

Regards,

Atool Mulgaonkar.
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
middle dimson
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

stayed at this hotel from 15th dec 2012, very nice spot, loverly grounds, beach great, staff very freindly, room was ok, great range of food in the seagull, all was very nice , food is all inclusive on our deal, but you get a ticket for a meal on the complex for use at mamma mia or curry and grills, please beware on one point on these, we had a bottle of normal rose wine and where charge about £15 for the bottle, this to put this into context, we dined at "mikes place" across the road from dona sylvia , both had full meals and drinks and paid £8, can recommend mikes place as a change from eating in hotel, we did the trip to "cola beach" through the thomson rep karen, who was great, as was the trip, cola beach is loverly, staying in the tent might not be for everyone , bug wise, but was comfortable with and en suite attached, my wife got a bit edgey because a cat run out from under her bed and a few lizards and other bugs got in, me i had lots of brandy and slept like a log, micheal the guide who took us was great, paid £45 each inlcluding all food but paid for drinks, jai,s just up from the hotel seemed to be the place to change your money ( turn left out of hotel, 100 yards up on the left at bend ) , hotel will change for you but charge a bit more . was 32 degrees in daytime, get some bug spray as they like to bite you in the evening, the seagull moved outside twice when we where there and set up el fresco on the grass which was nice, again staff where great, just another quick note, i got a bit of dehli belly which i put up with for 2 days, dont! , my rep called the doctor on a sunday, was there within half hour, injection, tablets etc, cost £8 , was right as rain 1 hour later, local traders badger you quite a bit, if you dont like that, stay on the left hand side of road, if you cross to the right every trader will engage you, just be polite and say no thankyou ,we got some bargains, so please do have a look and they will expect you to haggle, was getting 10 to 20% off depending on price , all in all had a very nice time, read some negitive reveiws befor we went which i couldnt understand, but can only recommended : ) enjoy

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResortDonaSylvia, General Manager at Dona Sylvia Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Mr. Kevin,

Greetings from Dona Sylvia !!

Let me thank you for your review and valued feedback. Looking forward to having you stay with us in future.

Regards,

Atool Mulgaonkar
Resort Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, Delhi, India
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We visited here in Sep 2012 and had a real wonderful time. Had bought an all inclusive package and was absolutely worth it. Great food, easy access to beach, vast pool and activities around it makes it worth staying in and around the resort itself. Though we did take a day drip to South goa (Church, Goa city, river cruise etc.) but realized that we would have been better off chilling at the resort itself.

Food is great with lots of options for both veg and non-veg and you may ask the chef to prepare something of your choice. I did that and they actually followed-up the request till they delivered...

I would recommend the resort to other fellow travellers - especially ones with families and who are not looking for sight-seeing, place-hoping etc.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResortDonaSylvia, General Manager at Dona Sylvia Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Mr. Saurabh,

Greetings from Dona Sylvia !!

Thank you for your review & valued feedback. Hope to see you again at Dona Sylvia in near future.

Regards,

Atool Mulgaonkar
Resort Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancs
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Don't let my title mislead you, I have no problem with the Dona Sylvia, my problem is with a scam that I fell victim to at a jewellers outside the hotel! The jewellers I am referring to is Zanskar Arts, directly opposite the hotel!
I bought jewellery at this shop in 2010 and 2011 and have had no problems with the jewellery itself. However, when we went to order a specific piece of jewellery to be made in 2011, Mr Bilash offered to have all my own jewellery cleaned for me so that it would all look sparkling once more. One of the items I gave him for cleaning was a £ 3500 diamond solitaire set in a gold band. (I know, it was a stupid thing to do but hindsight is a wonderful thing!) The jewellery took a lot longer to be cleaned than he had originally promised but when I got it back it did indeed all look sparkling!
However, within a few weeks of returning home the "gold" had turned black and so had my finger. The diamond also did not look right. When we returned this year, I took the ring with me and explained the situation to our rep, Karen,. She was horrified and took me to an independent jeweller who examined the ring who confirmed my suspicion that this ring was indeed a fake. We then went to confront Mr Bilash who denied any wrongdoing, and there was nothing that I could do about it. All I know is that the only time this ring was EVER off my finger was when I gave it to Mr Bilash to be cleaned! You must draw your own conclusions, but BEWARE.
I HAVE HAD A LOT OF JEWELLERY FROM THE HOTEL JEWELLERS AND THAT HAS ALL BEEN EXCELLENT!
I would also suggest trying Classic Tailors which is down a little side cut by the Jazz Inn. We always have clothes made there when we go, you can take your own material from home if you find something you really like!
As far as the Dona Sylvia is concerned, this was the fifth or sixth time we have returned and we have already booked for 2013, I think that speakes for itself.
Alright, the hotel is probably more shabby than chic nowadays, but the room are clean and comfortable and have everything you need.
The food is really excellent, but please try dishes outside your comfort zone as local dishes are superb. Both a la cartes are very good and it is nice to be waited on for a change.
All the staff are smiley and friendly, its nice that they remember you and your names from year to year!
Slight problem with guests from the next door Radisson coming in and using Dona Sylvia facilites but once this was pointed out to the management, they were taking steps to stop it.
If you do have any problems, make sure you raise them as the staff all want you to have a good time and encourage you to go back again, so will always try and put things right for you.
One disappointment, nothing to do with the hotel, was that the Indian Government has brought in a new law that prohibits the shacks on the beach from having more than 5 sunbeds. This has totally decimated their trade and is a real shame. There is a lot of controversy about it and hopefully things night change!
So, in conclusion, if you want beautiful weather, wonderful staff, fantastic swimming pool, first class food and simple entertainment then this could well be the place for you! Don't go expecting 5 star luxury, this is a third world country, enjoy the simplicity of what is on offer and appreciate the genuine hospitality!

Room Tip: We like upstairs rooms as they are lighter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResortDonaSylvia, General Manager at Dona Sylvia Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Madam,

Greetings from Dona Sylvia !!

Thank you so very much for your wonderful review on Dona Sylvia and I am so sorry about your ring. Looking forward to seeing you again at Dona Sylvia on your next holiday.

Warm Regards,

Atool Mulgaonkar
Resort Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012 via mobile

We chose Goa because its hot..We chose Goa because its our honeymoon.That was all we knew about a place that people had told us slightly mystical..So we gave it a visit..What a fantastic place to holiday..Getting off the plane the heat is intense but bearable. The journey to Doña Sylvia is full of speed/horns blaring/vehicles overtaking/overtakingx2..breathtaking with 3/4 people on a little motorbike..fantastic!!driving passed the slums is a reminder of where you are..The streets just bustle with people/vehicles & animals.Our resort was 100m from the beach.On arrival we were offered cold towel/drinks & huge warm handshakes.All the staff were so pleased to see you..Is this how royalty feel??Our room was spacious airy with a huge 6x7 bed!!Aircon & fan all working.This lovely place is brilliant if you want no hassle/sunshine..We met loads of Brits making they're 3/4 visits always coming here & not the Radisson Blu next door.We saw eagles soaring right over the fab pool,fruit bats in the trees,huge dragonflys,wild life is a dream &its all around you.The beach is lovely but does have pedlars who can be a pain.If your in a beach bar pedlars will be extremely friendly with the patter & good to..but they will try to sell you jewellery!!Speak to the experienced Brits there who will tell you where to shop & you must haggle!!A week wasn't long enough to try/see it all..The lasting memory will be the people we met/sunshine & the fabulous food..If your a veggie it's unbelievable.Curry for breakfast now that was a first!!Give it a try as India is there to see!!Look past the non existent fly tipping laws around the streets..just go with the flow!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResortDonaSylvia, General Manager at Dona Sylvia Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Dona Sylvia !!

Thank you for the wonderful review and it is indeed our pleasure to have you stay with us. My sincere apology for a delayed response.

See you in Goa and Dona Sylvia on your next holiday.

Regards,

Atool Mulgaonkar
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Firstly, if you are travling from Madgaon bus station then please dont pay more than Rs.550 to cab to go to resort. The resort did reimbursed that amount to us but cab drivers were demanding exhorbitant amounts initially. When we checked in, the staff was very much helpful. The resort property is excellent and quite spacious. However, few group tours have come which made tht resort over crowded. The food quality is excellent and non veg food has good variety. The spa is also quite a value for money and do try hot stone massage there. The room are good but certainly not of 5 star standard. The swimming pool is nice but we could use it only after group tour people checked out. The best way to enjoy over there is spend as much time as you can in the resort itself. The hotel also organises half day tour for goa. Dont go for that, its waste of time. The beach adjacent to resort is very calm and safe. Overall good experience..

Room Tip: Select room on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResortDonaSylvia, General Manager at Dona Sylvia Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Mr. Kaustubh,

Greetings from Dona Sylvia !!

Firstly, let me apologise for delay in responding to your wonderful and helpful review.
We will set right all the hiccups that you experienced during your stay with us and would like to assure you of a fabulous experience on your next holiday at Dona Sylvia.

You can reach me on atool@donasylvia.com before booking so we can make to trip pleasurable right from your arrival in Goa.

Warm Regards,

Atool Mulgaonkar
Resort Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dona Sylvia Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dona Sylvia Beach Resort

Address: Cavelossim Beach | Mobor, Cavelossim 403731, India
Location: India > Goa > Cavelossim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Cavelossim
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cavelossim
#2 Spa Hotel in Cavelossim
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cavelossim
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Cavelossim
#4 Business Hotel in Cavelossim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Dona Sylvia Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resort Dona Sylvia is spread over 20 acres of beautifully landscaped gardens on the southern coast of Goa, it nestles by the soft white sands of Cavelossim beach. The Resort offers comfortable air-conditioned rooms with all modern amenities in Mediterranean style villas with balconies and open sit-outs. The Resort has excellent conference facilities, extensive options for outdoor events / theme parties and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Dona Sylvia Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dona Sylvia Beach Hotel Cavelossim
Dona Sylvia Beach Cavelossim
Dona Sylvia Hotel Goa
Dona Sylvia Beach Resort Goa/Cavelossim

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dona Sylvia Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.