We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the best resort in goa.....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dona Sylvia Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Dona Sylvia Beach Resort to your Saves list
Dona Sylvia Beach Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Cavelossim Beach | Mobor, Cavelossim 403731, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Cavelossim
Certificate of Excellence 2014
ajay_hapi
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“the best resort in goa.....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

was at this amazing Mediterranean resort in feb with family and it was nice to see the friendly and dedicated staff working round the clock to make it's guest stay a memorable one....
now of resort it is perfectly located near the beach, surrounded with lush green trees and palms....
having rightly balanced villas, swimming pool, restaurants, lawns... and list goes on...
it's will be harsh from my side to not to specially mention about front office staff.. who took care of us right from check in to check out... a big thanks to u all
surely we will be back next year....

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,020 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    487
    382
    105
    32
    14
See reviews for
251
516
5
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
hayes
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

Was at the dona sylvia in Feb with family & friends & had another wonderful time ,this was our 6th visit & returning next Feb.The hotel swimming pool is surrounded by coconut palms & is always kept very clean.The Restaurant, offering delicious Indian cuisine just improves every year and their professional chefs are so kind and happy to give their best to ensure we were well catered for.

The rooms with their balconies and terraces are comfortable and the route that leads to the lovely sandy beach is really amazing! It's worth leaving the swimming pool and getting your drinks from the shacks on the beach! Also, one can enjoy juicy king prawns from the shacks on the beach. A visit to Rosario's beach shack is a must.

The Evening Entertainment can be improved although each night after a lovely dinner, we enjoyed dancing! The Garden Parties are really great, dining under the stars and listening to music. Also, some of the shows are worth seeing.

The Manager, Vikram was always ready to help us when required and also the rest of his staff specially Macy, Sunni and Christina. We thank you all very much and are waiting to see you again next year. A big thank you also to the staff in Housekeeping.

Karen, the First Choice Representative, was outstanding with her constant assistance and very cheerful manner. A person we will never forget!

We cannot wait for next February and will counting the days til we go back for the seventh year running.

I have read a few recent reviews that seem to suggest the Dona Sylvia is not up to their standards, especially with the conference parties that use the hotel, but don't be put off by them.
I don't usually see these conference parties in February, but have done, when visiting in late March and April. Not found them a huge problem, but hotel need to be more strict and clamp down on their over enthusiasm.

Room Tip: Some of the upstairs rooms have lovely balcony's.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

We've just returned from the Dona Sylvia, having spent the last two weeks there, on our honeymoon. There are not enough adjectives to describe how lovely we found the place !!. We were treated like royalty from start to finish. The people who complained about the traditional indian wedding really need to take a look at themselves,,,,,it was a beautiful, happy occasion ,that we were invited to attend !!!. Yes, people occasionally swam in [what appeared to be] everyday clothes, for their religious reasons, & yes, they did have raucious games of volleyball in the pool. They were on holiday !!!, Families enjoying eachothers company & having fun !!!. Food was excellent. Room was excellent. Beach was excellent. Entertainment EVERY night [even though it was end of season]. Staff, in particular Lizann, peter, & resley the young chef, were an absolute credit. The veiw from our room was of palm trees, sandy beach, & beautiful indian sky, unbelievable. A magician doing illusions, or a saxophonist playing while you have your lunch,,,,,,the pluses go on & on. Our door refused to open one night, at 1am, we were bought drinks [free of charge] while we waited for the maintenance guy !!!. We really couldn't ask for more.A steak to die for at 'mama mias', a FABULOUS curry at 'Kebabs & curries', & Al fresco dining twice a week at 'The Haystack', made this a very, very special holiday. Heaven.

Room Tip: beach end is quieter, & double bed is HUGE !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southsea
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

We rather liked the look of this resort when browsing for a holiday.
The resort itself was pleasant. It most definately was not 4 star quality. Having stayed at other 4 star resorts I would rate this a 2 star one.

The management was shocking... not appearing to care about our opinions or wishes.
When an party of Indian guests decended on the hotel for a Bollywood wedding chaos reined.
The management had no control over the wedding goers. The party carried on for 4 days and nights, meaning none of the other guests could get any sleep!! Even the security guards couldn't control them.
There were also three conferences taking place whilst we were there and a large school trip, consisting of aprox 50 children.
At the beginning of the holiday we could make use of the facilities, but when the Indian guests arrived they completely took over and would not allow any other people in the pool!! They were playing loud games all day and had really loud music playing all the time.

I would say British tourists shouldn't be sent here after the first two weeks of April, when the Indian tourists start their holidays.

The food was very limited for choices,, definately not suitable for children, leaving just chips or bread as main meals!!


Would I reccommend this resort to my friends??
No I would not.

One thing I cannot fault was the general staff, who were friendly.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

A friend who stayed here had warned me beforehand to take nothing for granted... turns out he was right. The airconditioner in our room went dead on the first day, and it took a half dozen calls to reception over the next day and a half to get someone to come and fix it. A room service order of fried eggs, bacon and toast arrived with no salt and pepper, no butter, and perplexingly, diced bacon sprinkled into the fried egg.

The rooms are clean and well maintained, and the staff are extremely friendly and well-meaning, if hopelessly inept. The property is right on the beach, which is pretty clean and not too crowded. Stay here for clean, comfortable accommodations at a good price, but don't hold out for anything above rudimentary service. And plan your meals elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

Have been to Goa 8 times but never stayed in the Dona Sylvia. On arrival we were shown to our room and told if we did not like it we could change. The room was clean and tidy bedding and towels changed daily. Unfortunately the pool area was a different matter it was very dirty. Film was floating on the water and only once did we see the pool attendants with a broom. They did not appear to do any work at all. The food in the Mama Mia restaurant was inedible and would advise people not to bother eating there. On a lighter note we will be going back to the Dona Sylvia because it is in a beautiful location. We wont be using the pool the beach is much nicer. Strongly recommend Mike Beach Shack where you can avoid the hundreds of people who are on conferences in the Dona Sylvia. Take my advice and just use it as a base and you wont be disappointed.

Room Tip: Try to get rooms that dont have shared balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dalkeith scotland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

Having stayed at the Dona before we had no hesitation on booking again from 10/04/2012 to 24/04 2012, we managed a cheap visit in November to Sao Domingo and wished we had went back there instead, Im afraid standards have dropped. We were in 3 different rooms during our 2 week break because of loud drunken conference attendees to insect and snake infestation in another room.

It appears that due to the drop off in european visitors, due to the reccession more and more conferences and huge Family weddings are the new money maker, swimming in the pool fully clothed, shouting and slamming doors all night, they even segregated the dining putting us upstairs on the terrace whilst the indians ate in the comfort of the seagull, sorry Norman, we have known you for many years now but you showed your true colours, Having being going to Goa for many years and loving the place and I still do, I will never go near the Dona again, very disapointed.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Dona Sylvia Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dona Sylvia Beach Resort

Address: Cavelossim Beach | Mobor, Cavelossim 403731, India
Location: India > Goa > Cavelossim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Cavelossim
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Cavelossim
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cavelossim
#2 Spa Hotel in Cavelossim
#4 Business Hotel in Cavelossim
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cavelossim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Dona Sylvia Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dona Sylvia Beach Resort is spread over 20 acres of beautifully landscaped gardens on the southern coast of Goa, it nestles by the soft white sands of Cavelossim beach. The Resort offers comfortable air-conditioned rooms with all modern amenities in Mediterranean style villas with balconies and open sit-outs. The Resort has excellent conference facilities, extensive options for outdoor events / theme parties and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Dona Sylvia Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dona Sylvia Beach Hotel Cavelossim
Dona Sylvia Beach Cavelossim
Dona Sylvia Hotel Goa
Dona Sylvia Beach Resort Goa/Cavelossim

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dona Sylvia Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.