We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good bar/restaurant for a decent meal and a late drink.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Goan Village

Goan Village
Cavelossim, Cavelossim, India
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 39 Restaurants in Cavelossim
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Francophile in the UK
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A good bar/restaurant for a decent meal and a late drink.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

This was the bar owned by our hotel (Sao Domingo) and was literally 10m from our front door.
We spent a good many late nights in there drinking Honey Bees and Old Monks (local brandy and rum) with Xmas Eve rocking until 4am!
The food was very good, I can highly recommend the Goan squid vindaloo where the squid was cooked to perfection and the spice balance was just right (you can order whatever level of chilli heat you like).
This is also where you will have your breakfast if you are staying in the Sao Domingo guest house and the breakfasts are pretty good too.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    9
    10
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Good Decor, Bland Food, Ordinary Service.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We were very impressed with the Ambiance of this restaurant and immediately decided to have our meals here. It was very beautifully decorated for the Christmas and appeared to be very well professionally organised restaurant. The moment we entered this restaurant, there were too many mosquitoes and we were not attended imediately. We experienced and saw the speacial treatment that Foreigners get as compared to we Indian in this restaurant. We were slightly dissapointed but however we said "Atithi Devo Bhava"! The food that we ate was very bland and without any salt, it appeared that the same was prepared to give comfort to the foreigners visiting the restaurant. The vegetarian dishes that we ordered contained smell of meat and fish, since I am a pure vegetarian, had no other option but to offer all my food to my other family members who were eating non-veg dishes. Over all, I feel the person who is comfortable eating bland food can visit here. Best place for Foreigners!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, UK
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Ticks every box”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Great welcome from the friendly staff. Lovely setting amongst the Palm trees. The food is great quality and value. Nice atmosphere which gets lively when they have live entertainment.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Long established ,good atmosphere, one of our favourites in the village - the owner Edwin takes an active part in managing the restaurant, this is reflected by the staff and service. Has an open air feel to it. The guest house hotel Sao Domingo and hotel Luciano's are in the same ownership.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Best cheese garlic naan bread in Goa!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

The cheese garlic naan bread is the best we have ever tasted in 18 years of visiting Goa. The Goan fish curry rice was superb- generous portions of king fish. Delicious and thoroughly recommended. The service was also excellent- the staff friendly and attentive. We stayed at the hotel across the road, owned by the same people who own the restaurant. That too was very good indeed. Our room was spotlessly clean and well furnished. We have already re-booked for next year.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Goan Village also viewed

 

Been to Goan Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Goan Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.