We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good, can be better!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Goa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Resort Goa to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Resort Goa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mobor Beach | South Goa, Cavelossim 403 731, India   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Cavelossim
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Very good, can be better!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

This resort is one of the more popular south-goa resorts and going by the reviews and the recommendations, we booked for Garden Plaza room package that included complimentary pickup and drop from railway station/airport, all meals, Usage of swimming pool and resort facilities, one complimentary steam and sauna and 1/2 day sightseeing in an A/C coach.

We arrived very early around 6:30 am via train and were provided with early check-in (although the regular check-in time was 1:00pm). The Front desk staff were extremely helpful and helped us to decide on which room to take. We were shown garden view, pool view, sea suite and family suite and were given choice on which room we wanted. This was a very nice experience since we were quite choosy about the room (as we have a 2.5 year old kid). In the end, we choose a family suite (at extra cost) which is almost 1.5 times than the regular rooms and comes with a Jaccuzzi. It turned out that this room was really ideal since it was very close to the front desk, swimming pool and the restaurant. We are thankful to the entire Front desk staff and especially to Mr. Jishnu for this nice experience.

The room itself was quite spacious (room 137) with a Jaccuzzi, Tea/Coffee makers, a mini bar and all the necessary toiletries. This room was in the ground floor with the sit-out leading to the
swimming pool directly. The only other point about this room is that it is near to the ballroom and that can make a difference on some days. More about this later... Housekeeping staff are very professional and they do their job very well. We are thankful to Ms. Suchita and Mr. Johny for their service and upkeep of the room everyday

Coming to the facilities in the resort, the swimming pool is very nice. It is quite wide and the little "island" in between is a very good pit stop especially for kids. Couple of improvements needed - The minimum depth in the main pool is 4' 2" and this can be a problem for beginners who are short and scared of swimming. A gradient from 3' 9" and above could have been provided. The
second point is about the kids pool. It is an even 2' 9" and quite deep for kids of 2-4 years age. Frankly, the kids pool was useless for my kid and I had to entertain him in the "island" area of the main pool with the constant "fear" of the 4' 3" depth next to him!

Buffet meals (including breakfast) are provided in the Mardi gras restaurant. The restaurant was quite near to the room and quite spacious as well. A special mention should be made about the restaurant staff - One of the best trained and courteous staff that I have ever encountered. They simply seem to know their job very well! Some names who brought smile to us - Goutham, Pritpal, Ramesh, Tikaram, Joy, Badri, Mahesh. While the staff were very good, the same cannot be said for the buffet spread. Generally, the breakfast spread was good and adequate whereas the lunch and dinner were left wanting in some areas. For instance, there were very less or no options for starters except for a chat or something in the live counter. Also, the vegetarian dishes prepared were not adequate for a 5* property and the same goes for the desserts. While some of the items in the restaurant were excellent some others were just ordinary! This is an area I feel that needs improvement. There are a couple of other restaurants - Fig and Olive with Mediterranean cuisine and Whispers of the Orient with Chinese cuisine. We didn't try any of these.

There are many activities for kids. There is an activity room which provides for some painting, toys, movies and so on that this seems to be maintained pretty well. There are many outdoor play

areas as well! There is an in-house "shop" that was very popular for people purchasing swim wear. One thing missing was a medical shop for which one has to travel for around 2-3 kms and there is no provision from the resort for the same. A suggestion: The Mabor beach area has some big names like Holiday Inn, The Leela and so on. So why not to fund and open an "emergency supplies" shop which is walk-able from the resort? Of course, two-wheelers are available for day hire for 350/- by paying a deposit of 2000/- which is refundable.

The Spa and Gym are quite good and as expected for any 5* hotel. Spa was offering 50% discounts on certain massages and we found that the staff in Spa were experienced and very professional. Ms. Rina was very helpful in explaining the different offerings and Mr. Jinto was very professional and experienced. The Spa also has a steam room and Sauna and I would say that these two are maintained very well and overall the spa was very relaxing.

The beach is a private one and quite ok. Nothing great and nothing bad about the beach. The life guard was extremely jumpy and would blow his whistle everytime some one took 10 steps into the ocean!

Now comes the "later" part about ballroom and private parties. As I said earlier, our room was next to the ballroom and this is where weddings are arranged. Luckily for us, there was no wedding during our stay and hence, we were comfortable. But as people in tripadvisor have mentioned, it can be very noisy if a wedding is going on and this can be a trouble especially after 10pm!

The other thing about this resort is that they seem to take in large groups and arrange private parties as what we witnessed on one of the days. This can turn a quiet holiday seem like the busiest streets in Bangalore and can spoil the holidays with loud music banging on till 11pm. And also, when there are group bookings, the resort feels like a 3* property... you know what I mean!

So, to cut the story short, here are the positives
- Excellent staff
- Excellent property
- Very good facilities

And things to improve
- Buffet spread
- Group parties/ weddings vs quite holiday - there should be clear differentiation
- Access to vital services
- No water sports organized by the resort

Room Tip: Pool view rooms are good, make sure to ask about marriages, private parties before check-in and sele...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

811 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    407
    278
    67
    37
    22
See reviews for
310
252
15
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We have the best experience during our stay in Holiday Inn in late August. The hotel is just adjacent to Mobor Beach which is greatly maintained by Hotel. We have taken Garden Deluxe room and the room was upto the mark. Service was Excellent. Meals were excellent. Though it was in south goa and for usual Goa trips we have to travel little fat to North goa which consumer few hours and but free from Hustle bustle was definitely the best option i could opt for. The Beach is one of the PLUS point for this Hotel. Would definitely recommend to anyone!.

Room Tip: Try to choose rooms which faces the main garden overlooking sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

I stayed with family in Holiday Inn Resort , Goa. The overall experience is good. The ambience and the property is also good. The Quality and the choice of Food in their coffee shop was really commendable. Generally in such locations we dont get good taste. However the variety and the taste was really good for all four days we stayed there. The Beach is also very good for morning walk and very shallow for spending good time with family.

Room Tip: The sunset suit room is ideal for a family of 3 .
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

The most admiring thing about the Hotel is the calmness and the ambiance. Its a well maintained property with perfectly placed rooms. The Hotel has private beach which is a plus point.. the SPA was an heavenly experience. The staff is very humble and the food is also good.

Would highly recommend this Hotel..

Room Tip: Ask for the room just besides the Swimming Pool.. As it is centrally located and have nice view to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navi Mumbai, India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Great location, good food, awesome staff ( always with a smiling face and ready to help). Won't forget the courtesy showed by Pritpal and Badri in Mardi Grass while preparing food for my 3 yrs old kid or Vineeta of Front office.

A very well maintained property right on the beach won't encourage you to rush to other beaches in and around South Goa.However, few negatives .House-keeping is bit reluctant, did find cockroach in the bathroom when my wife was helping my 3 yr old son taking his bath. Please be extra careful as this might ruin the carefully nurtured image of Holiday Inn Goa.

Thanks

Santanu

Room Tip: Better to have pool facing rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

The hotel has large lush lawns, a large pool, a volleyball court, tennis courts, and is located right on the beach! The rooms all have private patios and the normal attire of a 5 star hotel in India.Very well maintained room, swimming pool, and private beach. The food is awesome and the spa was heavenly. well lit up rooms, spacious balcony, good buffet breakfast and dinner, live music is good.Except for the distance from the city and airport, this is very quite place with private beach.amazing landscapes.beautiful in house private beach and watersports ,clean and greener surroundings .co-opertive staff soothing and very peaceful environment . excellent food

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The Holiday Inn is a great property in South Goa. About an hour from Dabolim airport, the hotel has large lush lawns, a large pool, a volleyball court, tennis courts, and is located right on the beach! The rooms all have private patios and the normal attire of a 5 star hotel in India. Food was above average, we travelled as a family of 4 and everyone was happy after a 5 night stay! Staff were all smiling and helpful. Really made our stay a great one!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Goa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Goa

Address: Mobor Beach | South Goa, Cavelossim 403 731, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Goa > Cavelossim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cavelossim
#3 Business Hotel in Cavelossim
#3 Spa Hotel in Cavelossim
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cavelossim
#3 Family Hotel in Cavelossim
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cavelossim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Resort Goa 4*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at a picturesque plot with wide beach front on the Mobor Beach, Cavelossim in south Goa. It is 17kms from Margao and 42kms from the Goa airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Goa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Goa Hotel Cavelossim
Holiday Inn Goa
Holiday Inn Cavelossim
Cavelossim Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Hotel Goa
Goa Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Resort Goa Cavelossim

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Resort Goa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.