We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique expericence” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bamboo House Goa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Bamboo House Goa to your Saves list
Bamboo House Goa
Plot Number 95/1, Mobor Beach behind Leela Kempinski, Cavelossim 403731, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Unique expericence”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

This is a great place to stay for couples who are in the search of serene place to stay. When i started planing for goa i searched for many hotels, resorts ...etc and finally zeroed on this after reading a bountiful of positive reviews. The service is excellent and staff were very supportive. They even arranged for a candle light dinner on our anniversary on prior request. It was a really memorable experience for us and we will gladly come back to this place anytime .Food at the near by restaurants is pretty good and worth a try though a bit on higher end in terms of cost

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    31
    7
    0
    2
See reviews for
24
62
13
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

It was very last minute for new years eve in Goa. Goa is sold out months ahead of new years'. I had been to North Goa in my numerous vists in the past. So decided to try South Goa which is less crowded, cleaner and has more beautiful beaches and the best past not exorbitantly priced. I stumbled across bamboo house and their concept intrigued me. Plain bamboo cottages with basic creature comforts except the Aircon. Being end of the year, Goa is pretty pleasant and you can do without aircon for most part of the day. And being right on the beach , the breeze kept temp under control. This place had just opened that year and their prices were astonishingly low for new years' week. Was a bit skeptical initially. When we arrived, was greeted by the friendly hosts who showed us to our cottage. Its a family run business and has its own shack with a limited menu. It was quiet good and the beach was the best part. Clean, secluded and great views of the adjacent hill and the river merging into the sea. The walks along the beach were great as we didn't have to negotiate swarm of tourists. Nights were restful. Hung out at the nearby beaches of Benaulim. Not the kind of place if you are into parties. Discovered a great restaurant nearby called the fisherman's wharf which serves great seafood sitting by the river. So, if you want to have a relaxed beach holiday and not just not do much apart from hanging out at the beach with your partner, this is quite the place to be.

Room Tip: Try get a room nearer to the beach so you can almost have your own private piece of sand.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delhi
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

A paradise. QUiet lovely beach
The huts are particularly well done and taken care of, with great mattresses, spacious and well maintained toilets, mosquito nets, all comforts. You do have to think that it is a bamboo hut, in all its pro and cons, if you are used to sleep within cement walls: no mosquitos or other nuisances, the feeling of the sea being so close, lots of birds (many crows thought) singing along since early morning, smell of drying fish, neighbors appreciating the mattresses in very vocal ways..;-)

Aman and Amar Bedi are great host, very helpful and kind. Amar, whom we took care of us at the resort, was a pleasure to deal with. The service is truly excellent without default. Amar was awake in the night to make sure everybody was comfortable despite the unexpected heavy rain. These people are more than businessmen, are great people!

If one could advise on how to make a paradise better, it would be avoiding drunkers to leave the blue whale at night screaming and peeing everywhere, or to accompany them out maybe?
Maybe put a few more sun bed on the beach, too?

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

My partner and I returned to BHG in January 2013, making it our base in Goa, travelling around but returning after each multi day excursion to our family in Mobor :) We first came to BHG in November 2010 when the cottages were being built, we then stayed there last January for the first time and loved it so much we couldnt wait to get back! 2.5 of our 5 weeks in Goa this January were spent at BHG. The location, the staff, the rooms, the atmosphere are all so perfect. Bonny, the manager on site, is one of the nicest, most genuine people we have ever met and goes out of his way time and time again to help the guests, at any time of the day or night. He really makes us feel very welcome and is an absolute joy to see his smiling face at the entrance!

The rooms are spacious, air, light, clean, comfortable and fun. The matresses are possibly the comfiest that we have ever lay on and the facilities are great.

Be sure to eat at the Blue Whale on the beach where Roque and his team will make you feel at home, fed and watered and relaxed.


Cannot wait to return!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

I had initially booked a week here over Christmas, then worried that over New Year it would be impossible to find somewhere acceptable at short notice so begged to be fitted in for 3 more nights. Luckily they had a cancellation. Then I worried that 10 nights would be too long on a deserted strip of beach.
It proved to be just not long enough. This is a magical place to stay. It is a beautiful looking resort, but perhaps more importantly, it is run by a team of people who show a genuine pride in the service they provide. We found that nothing was too much trouble. We have a special thank you for Nitu who looked after us wonderfully.
The resort is located at the end or Mobor beach, a short hike (or taxi/scooter ride) from Cavelossim. The Blue Whale restaurant is at the bottom of the garden, on the beach. We ate there very happily most of the time. It has the No 1 tripadvisor restaurant rating for the area which is well deserved.
It is a great base for exploring Goa - taxi trips or the bus. Or just staying put -incredible bird life, seascape and chilling on the beach. It is a fabulous place to be remote - alternatively we found the free wi-fi in the cottage and the restaurant an invaluable resource.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

My wife and I have just returned home from a two week stay here and we cannot speak highly enough of it. It has been the best 'room only' we have ever used, with the most comfortable mattress I have EVER slept on. I cannot blow a big enough trumpet for this establishment. Absolute peace and quiet, Superb staff who cannot do enough for you, and don't laugh at you, as I deserved, even when I locked myself out of the safe, 5 minutes, sorted.... . There is no air con, and for this time of year, there is no need, the tower fan is perfectly sufficient, in fact when the temperature drops 10 degrees C, by the morning it almost feels chilly. This place is as green as you can make it, even the hot water is supplied by the sun, VERY hot and loads of it. We are definitely booking for 2014, hopefully taking friends too!

Pros: Absolutely everything.

Cons: don't be late back if you walk along the beach you could get locked out (as we did)

Well done everyone concerned. This is a superb venture and Goa could do with more of them.

We have not reviewed the accompanying beach shack, as we did not use it enough to do so

Room Tip: There is no good tip for a good room, they are all excellent, all detached, and all quiet (dependant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Firstly i would like to tell you that this place is run by a 'Chacha Bhatija team' who have set their priorities right, which is CUSTOMER SATISFACTION. I had booked the place for 3 nights somewhere in November and had to cancel it twice due to circumstances not in my control. I had initially anticipated that the management woudnt be refunding my money and it would be a loss. But these guys had understood the problem and pleasantly accepted the bookings in Jan though it was a season time for them.
The property is beautifully located and its just a kilometer away from Leela. The beach is just a 10 second walk from the huts. Its quite a secluded place and its usually packed with foreign tourist. Amandeep takes care of the property and is quite helpful.
I would quickly list down the pros and the cons
Pros:
1 Superb scenic and secluded location
2 Very well maintained property and very neat and clean huts
3 Equal treatment to all the guest (the reason why i am mentioning this here is in GOA now you would find more foreigners than Indians especially if u are staying over the weekdays. And as an Indian, you would experience a neglected treatment at restaurants, hotels, shops.)
4 fair price
Cons
1 Pricey restaurant (however the food was good)
2 Security should improve a bit (i know the look of the property will get killed but i know Amardeep you would surely have some smart solutions)
3 No provisions for a joint double bed.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good ... no preferences
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amarbedi, Owner at Bamboo House Goa, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Our focus remains and stays on our guest. there is no question at all to treat someone differently due to his or her heritage, culture and all that. I am really pleased that you felt comfortable with us.
Due to the sickness of a family member, the night watchman was off-duty, but is now back. We were patrolling the resort during the night at regular intervals though.
By the way , we do have cottage ( actually the majority) which have double beds. You got a cottage ( due to we being totally full) with 2 single beds ( but joined together). I am sure we can make it up for that dring your next visit.
Do feel welcome anytime and thanks again for the constructive review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bamboo House Goa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bamboo House Goa

Address: Plot Number 95/1, Mobor Beach behind Leela Kempinski, Cavelossim 403731, India
Location: India > Goa > Cavelossim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Cavelossim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the most beautiful, serene and peaceful beach of South Goa. 10 aesthetically, hand made Bamboo cottages await you amongst a well laid landscape. The cottages are unique in design, interiors and are well equipped. Spacious, comfortable and above all- close to nature. All you hear is the birdsong and the rush of waves.The restaurant serves you the choicest of food and has been rated excellent on various travel sites/magazines.We believe strongly in the environmental cause and thus maximum care has been taken taken to lessen the impact on mother nature. Hot water comes through solar heating, waste is handeled responsibly and the waste water gets treated by organíc bacteria and released back to irrigate the trees.Corporate Social responsibility is not just a word but for us an everyday task.Our staff has 2 mothers working with us and their children are with them. They can adjust their work as to their own plan and childrens, needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Bamboo House Goa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bamboo House Goa Cavelossim

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bamboo House Goa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.