We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A warm welcome” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mike's Place

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cavelossim
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mike's Place
Save
You added Mike's Place to your Saves list
Opp: Dona Syliva Resort, Cavelossim 403731, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Cavelossim
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A warm welcome”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We didn't stay at mikes... We were across the rd at casa de Chris but we ate breakfast at mikes and had three meals in the evening during our stay x excellent service, food great but we were uncomfortable on one occasion listening to the staff getting bollocked for the glass breakages?

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    10
    7
    2
    5
See reviews for
9
21
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
england
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Went to this restaurant several times. It is a hotel with rooms upstairs and a lovely balcony where you can watch the world go by. Nothing special in the way of food several things which we ordered from the menu were not available. The leg of lamb was good, you need to order it in advance. The staff were very friendly as was Mike the owner, the nights when they have entertainment are definitely worth trying.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

You will find average food and service here, it's not bad just average. You will find similar food around cavelossim for less money, however Mikes river boat trip is another matter, it was fantastic. The service and food and drink were sublime not to mention the dolfins and eagles the we saw, this is a must for cavelossim visitors, it was the best value that we redivided during our stay.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noida, India
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

This is highly overrated place with average food quality. Most of the waiters and hotel staff & management are not interested to take orders and talk in a friendly way to Indian tourists. We felt neglected and frustrated with the behavior and attitude of their staff. We felt that we are not in India, but in some hostile nation.

Room Tip: If you are Indian avoid it
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

We have booked a table at Mike's one day before New Year's. It seemed a good place in Goa to have a pleasent evening and a meet New Year. We were asked to order some food so it would be prepared for the next evening. What a disapiontment was expecting us, when next day we were told, that they never had a table for us and there were no free tables left!

Mike himself told us laughing to go away. No one cared about clients and for the wasted evening we had.

If you're willing to know what bad service is and you want to waste time, Mike's place is the place!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, UK
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Not sure why this is shown as a hotel, it is a restaurant, although Casa de Cris across the road is part of the family business is a great place to stay. See separate review.
This is a little gem, in a beautifully screened setting right in the centre of Cavelossim.
The staff are very friendly, welcoming and attentive.
The food is fantastic quality and great value – get them to show you the days fresh fish.
Live entertainment some nights make for a real party atmosphere, but even on the other nights, Mike’s has a very special atmosphere.
If you get the chance, go on the boat trip, it is a wonderful day out and super value with a beautiful meal and drinks included.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, England
Top Contributor
365 reviews 365 reviews
120 hotel reviews
Reviews in 115 cities Reviews in 115 cities
213 helpful votes 213 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012 via mobile

Overall this was our favourite restaurant. This is based on a combination of reasonable food, great service and a good range of entertainment.

The menu is extensive and prices comparable with the competition.

The staff are very friendly and helpful

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mike's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mike's Place

Address: Opp: Dona Syliva Resort, Cavelossim 403731, India
Location: India > Goa > Cavelossim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Cavelossim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
Mike's Place Goa/Cavelossim

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mike's Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.