We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent choice for families with kids” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Triton Apartments

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nea Kydonia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Triton Apartments
Save
You added Triton Apartments to your Saves list
Chrisi Akti, Nea Kydonia, Crete 731 00, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Nea Kydonia
Tromso, Norway
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent choice for families with kids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

This was our fourth summer which we bring at Triton apartments in Crete. We will definitely come again. This time I was on the vacation alone with 2 small kids. And I have to say I experienced no problems at all. The Hotel is very securely located, extremely helpfull staff and right at the beach, without need to cross any roads. Nice outside park nearby where kids van play at well equipped playground and parents can work out/run. The hotel is very clean, to large pools are very clean too and the place is not experienced as crowded at all, despite bering full booket. I recommend :-))

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    19
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
20
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tonsberg, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

Stayed here with my familey in july 2012. Clean, spacious room and a very friendly staff. The pool was super clean and the resturant menu was perfect for our familey. Billy, George and Sofia from the staff were unforgetable! Not a single negative thing to say about Triton.

Room Tip: Ground floor, east side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oslo
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

We had a nice stay here in June with our two kids aged 1 and 4.

Plus sides
- nice layout with three different pools
- good sized rooms with balcony
- playroom and small playground for kids
- free wifi in reception (and sometimes we could even get it in the room)
- very nice and helpful staff
- clean
- close to beach with no need to cross any roads
- good sandy beach shallow quite far out
- nice little cafe on beach with good orange juice and cheese sandwich
- dead end street so no traffic
- a couple of nice restaurants nearby. One jst up the street ( if you enter in the back) with a kids
playground

Minuses
- a bit far from Chania if you prefer to go out. But only 5 eur in taxi and bus about every 20 mins.
- the bathrooms really showed the place's age. They were kept very clean as the rest of the place, but could do with a renovation. If they were newer I would give ths place a 5.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Triton is much better than all the competition in the "Chrisi Akti" area in which it is situated. I should know, as this is the third time I visit Chania and the Chrisi Akti area, but the first time at Triton.

Let me first say that this area is fantastic for families. It is quiet, with a local beach as the neighbor, with no roads to cross to get to it, and short distances to several supermarkets- some aimed at tourists, but also big ones, such as Inka and Lidl. The beach is great, safe and cosy, with lovely golden sand and safe for kids as the water is shallow far out. It is also a very short distance from Chania city, you can walk, take a taxi or bus. Bus fare is 1.1 euro (2012) and the buses are frequent and easy to use.

What sets Triton apart from all other places in this area is the layout and outside areas of the resort. It is fantastic- several separate buildings in a horse-shoe configuration with the 2.5 (small children pool) pools in the middle. The outside areas is very large, with grass, trees and room for playing ball-games and such. There are plenty sunbeds, with no need to get up early to get a bed. The place is relaxed, safe, pretty- with very well kept garden, and with a nice atmosphere. Very family-friendly, but not a place for young people looking for a party. Perfect if you have small children. The place is unique. I have been to several places in Spain, Italy, Bulgaria and Greece, but Triton is special if you value location and spaciousness and safety.

The service is great, with Canadian-Greek "Bill" being especially fantastic. Friendly, service minded and outgoing. That goes for all of the staff as well. At the same time, they are very professional. Problems are dealt with immediately and everything is well kept and clean.

Our apartment was spacious and nice. Quiet at night, with efficient and quiet air-conditioner. The beds are firm, and might be a bit to firm for some, but we all slept very well. There is a small kitchen with two cooking plates, a fridge and the necessities to do your own cooking. The bath was ok, but maybe the only place I saw signs of wear and tear.

The restaurant was perhaps the most limited aspect of the place. But quite similar to many other places. Food was ok, but avoid the salads, as the chef does not know how to make a salad. Pizzas are also made with ready-made crusts. Prices were a bit on the high side when compared to the nearby competitors. There are better places to eat nearby. But the food is safe- no stomach problems for us at all.

When I see how the neighboring places to Triton get 5 points in the reviews here, I feel Triton should have 6 points. It is much nicer, believe me! A bit more expensive, but it's worth it.

Guests were famiies: Norwegians, Danish, a few Swedes when we stayed at Triton. That means that the place is not very "posh", but cosy and safe and not very noisy. ;-). Triton is the best holiday resort I have ever stayed at.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

We stayed at this hotel in June 2011, and selected it because it was reccomended both by the travel agency and Tripadvisor.
We were not disappointed.
We travelled with our two kids (1 and 4 years), and they had a super time.
The great things about this place are:
- It's located in a quiet area
- The studios are fresh and large
- The staff is super friendly. They helped us with everything in every possible way.
- The pool area is great (just watch out for the tiles when they are wet. Quite slippery).
- It's safe to let the kids run around on their own.

The only bad thing is that there are not many good restaurants near by. We found a few 10-15 minutes away.

If we are going back to the same area, this is the place we will book a room at.

Room Tip: The rooms on the "wing" which is on the same side as the restaurant enjoys shaddow in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tromso, Norway
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

This was part of a package trip so we didn't have much of a choice or time to review our choices. We were very lucky. This is the best vacation rental in the area, on a quiet dead end road, and a short walk to the nicest uncrowded beach in the area.
The restaurant was Ok, but the kitchens in the apartments are well furnished so we made a lot of good food from local produce.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BODEN
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

I have been to Crete 5 times before. This place is great. Clean, everything looks new, staff is very kind and offers a good service. When I travel, I always look for Internet connecticity and was disappointed when reading a comment about badlLocal wireless lan. That is true, it only works near the reception, but it is free. What really made me happy was when I found out they have an ethernet connection in each apartment. I have been using it for 5 days now and it works flawlessly. It as a good speed too. I measured the downlink to 5mbit/s.
The air conditioning is free. We have 2 units, one in each room, and it is free of charge. The safety deposit box is also free. Restaurant offers food, but I miss the traditional greek dishes. Adapted to scandinavian families with children? However, a great site near the seas and no big road to cross. Look on Google Earth for Triton Agii Apostoili and you will get an idea. The local bus goes every 20 minutes to Chania and takes 5 minutes. There you can enjoy traditional dishes. For families with chidren this is a geat place. Calm, pools not crowded. You feel you have lots of space in the hotel area.
I recommend this hotel and could come back here.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nea Kydonia
0.3 mi away
Samaria Hotel
Samaria Hotel
#7 of 120 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 stars 215 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sunrise Suites
Sunrise Suites
#1 of 5 in Kalyves
5.0 of 5 stars 102 reviews
2.3 mi away
Niriis Hotel
Niriis Hotel
#3 of 11 in Agii Apostoli
4.5 of 5 stars 478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Elma's Dream Apartments & Villas
82.9 mi away
Triton Hotel
Triton Hotel
#44 of 98 in Malia
3.5 of 5 stars 303 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kriti Hotel
Kriti Hotel
#25 of 120 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 stars 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Triton Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Triton Apartments

Address: Chrisi Akti, Nea Kydonia, Crete 731 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Nea Kydonia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Nea Kydonia
Number of rooms: 87
Also Known As:
Triton Apartments Hotel Chania Town
Triton Apartments Crete/Chania - Nea Kydonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Triton Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.