We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location's great. But nothing else.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Kyriaki

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Kyriaki to your Saves list
Hotel Kyriaki
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Polyrinias Street, Nea Kydonia, Crete 731 36, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Nea Kydonia
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Location's great. But nothing else.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

Our room was unclean and small. The double bed was too hard. The sheets and towels had filthy spots on them. There was no shower curtain and the hot water ran out really quick. The whole room smelled of smoke.

The safetybox cost 2 euro/day and the AC 7euro/day.

The only good thing of this hotel is the location and the free Internet access in the reception. It was easy to take the bus to Chaina and the beach was just a minute walk away.

On the other side of the road a great traditional crete restaurant is located with really nice staff and delicious food.

We might go back to the same area in the future, but not to hotel Kyriaki.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    8
    2
    1
    3
See reviews for
5
10
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santiago, Chile
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

Small rooms, although all rooms are equiped with air conditioner it costs additional 8EUR per night to have it on and it was really needed when the nights were over 32*C hot.. Safetybox in the room costs additional 2EUR per day and was really small. The combined toilet and shower was terrible, no shower curtain to maintain the water in the shower made the small toilet soaking wet.

Further more we suspect that the cleaning lady stole make-up and perfumes from us. We had several newly purchased items and after two days some one had taken cream, perfume etc from the bottles. We talked to the owner who the next day paid us some money for the loss. We changed hotel short there after.

The beach at Kyriaki was however clean and nice.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piraeus
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2010

A family owned hotel with friendly staff. Fantastic scenery round the swimming pool. Clean and descent rooms. Best ratio quality over price. Ideal location ! Hotel is located next to one of the best beaches of Chania area and only a few minutes drive from city center. Above all we shall always remember the friendly atmosphere.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2010

We booked our first stop in Crete - Hotel Kyriaki - via i/n, to spend the night in Chania. So, the hotel owner did not bother to give us a "normal" room, if any, but a basement, without windows, or a/c, so we barely made it through the night. The room was smelling like a dead cat and the bathroom had benn purely cleaned. We had to ask twice for a second pillow, as there was just one the bed. The location wasn't convenient, as you couldn't get to Chania, unless you had a car. A rather unlucky choice of hotel for our first day in Crete, but we were recouped during the rest of our stay on the island.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roskilde, Denmark
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2010

Quiet location. Exterior very nice with pool bar. Very good restaurant across the street.
Hotel is family owned and operated with very friendly service, when available.
Spacious balkony and room but interior dull. Shower has no curtain which turnes the bathroom into a pool after a bath.
The hotel has the potential of becomming a 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canarias
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2009

- you will not have curtain in the shower, so, after having a shower, everywhere is completely wet.
- Breakfast is bad, poor, and service is very unhelpful. One day, we wanted to haver breakfast early, to visit the city, and waiters were one hour late... incredible....
- We did run out of toilet paper, and we had to wait two days for them to replace it.
- The room is very poor and dirty.
- the hotel is located 3 km away from Chania, so it is very far away to walk to the city.
- Reception is much of the time closed...

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Kyriaki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kyriaki

Address: Polyrinias Street, Nea Kydonia, Crete 731 36, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Nea Kydonia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Nea Kydonia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Kyriaki 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A recently constructed hotel, with friendly atmosphere which combines the traditional rhythm with natural environment. Build in beautiful gardens a quiet area 200 m. from the exquisite sandy beach of Chrissi Akti (Golden Beach). Municipality of Nea Kydonia. Our hotel is located 2,5 km in the west of the beautiful town of Chania, with a convenient bus transportation. We have parking area, pool for adults and children, restaurant, snack bar, and poll snack bar where drinks, juices, and snacks are available all day long. Our guests may relax and enjoy a drink at the inside bar and restaurant at the Reception building with living room with t.v. Should you decide that Crete is your destination for vacation this summer, we would be very happy to accommodate you and make everything needed for unforgettable holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Kyriaki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Kyriaki Crete/Chania - Nea Kydonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Kyriaki, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.