We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Peaceful Retreat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alte Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Alte Hotel to your Saves list
Alte Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Estrada de Sta Margarida Montinho, Alte 8100-012, Portugal   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Alte
Algarve
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A Peaceful Retreat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

We visit A Cataplana Restaurant, part of the Alte Hotel, a couple of times a month, sometimes for a meal and at other times for a light lunch.

In wet weather we enjoy the fantastic far-reaching views to the sea from inside the lovely dining room and on fine sunny days, as yesterday, from the terrace.

We have never stayed in the hotel itself as we live nearby but can certainly recommend the venue to spend a few relaxing hours.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    13
    10
    6
    3
See reviews for
10
25
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011 via mobile

Located approx 1/2 mile outside Alte itself up long steep hill (NB: cyclists) - great views across Algarve to the coast. Rooms basic and rather dated but ok - nice little patio onto gardens. Restaurant adequate but more interesting and cheaper food to be had at cafe a ponte in the village.
Recommended if you want to stay in Alte

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, England
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

We called in for lunch on 10th.November - no other choice being apparent. The resturant and bar were under-staffed and apparently overwhelmed by a mini-bus load of unhappy-looking tourists.
Presumably the kitchen similarly suffered judging by the wait for our food. Whilst the resturant has an al a carte menue, they seem to prefer you to choose from the fixed price menue. This has three starters - soup and two salads and just one main, which changes each day.
My wife and I had the (lukewarm) 'vegetable' soup. It tasted like carrot soup to us but I suppose carrot is a vegetable. We both had the one-choice sliced chicken dish with rice. The rice was dry and hard and the chicken was dry dry and tough. We guessed that it had all been kept in a warming cabinet, which shouldn't have been necessary when they were offering only one fixed price dish.
We would like to think that this wasn't representative of this hotel, but we won't be returning to find out.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Alte hotels

Évora
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

We stayed for 2 nights incl. breakfast on a special rate that was so special in fact (as cheap as chips) that we expected to get no surprises, no extras, just basic bed & coffee. But .... we were in for surprises alright! We got to the hotel late, at 9pm, tired from a 3 hour drive through a storm and hungry, with 2 hungry tired kids in tow. The first thing we did was to sit in the Cataplana restaurant and eat dinner. The meal was simple but of the quality of the meat was fantastic ... so tender! The next priority ... because of the storms I came with a huge bag full of wet clothes that I didn't get the chance to run through a drier, hoping to find a place that would dry our clothes. Before I even finished asking, the clothes were whisked away. Not only did they dry our clothes, they ironed them and folded them ever so neatly and they were all ready for me at 8am! and ... they did not charge for this HUGE favor! Just for that I will be back! The kids stayed free. The rooms and the entire hotel was absolutely perfectly warm ... no need to even use the a/c even though there was a gail blowing outside! That was very important to us and the children's comfort. Breakfast was not very varied but more than we expected for the price we paid so no complaints there! We ate dinner at the hotel restaurant the 2nd night and again it did not dissapoint! Big portions and of the highest quality! The hotel was extremely clean and our rooms tidied up & cleaned perfectly while we were out. For a 3 star we didn't expect so much! We have experienced some really dodgy 3 star hotels! A simple, clean, comfortable, warm place to stay! Would stay again! Improvements: more staff connectivity with guests, a remodeling could boost this hotel to a 4.star easily, especially given it's location ... a beautiful view!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashington, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

We stayed at the Alte Hotel for 4 nights and had the most wonderful relaxing break, just what we needed, sunshine, peace and quiet, excellent food, stunning views and very friendly, efficient staff. Our hotel room was very clean as the rest of the hotel, the only negative comment I can make is the pillows on the beds were very firm. We cannot speak highly enough of the staff they were very accommodating even letting us have our room until 3pm on the day of our departure so we could shower before leaving. We stayed half board. The breakfast was the usual continental style but there was always sufficient. Our evening meal menu was limited but the food was fabulous, could not fault it. Some lovely walks in the area although not for the faint hearted, the Alte is on a steep hill and the climb back from Alte village certainly gets the heart pumping. You can stroll the cobbled streets of Alte and take in the architechture and the natural springs, although not a big place there are bars and cafes for refreshments. You can also walk up to St Margarida and there is a lovely track which takes you over the hillside and eventually drops down into Alte, the views are breathtaking. If you are looking for lots of nightlife near the beach this hotel is not for you, but if you are looking for tranquility in a beautiful location I would highly recommend the Alte Hotel!!

Room Tip: Room facing onto the tennis courts are cooler although fab views all around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2011

Hotel - Pretty, kind of quaint, clean, well laid out. Lemon, orange and fig trees grow round about it!

Location - Stunning.

Staff - Friendly, cheerful.

Food - Very very good. They do charge on the wines though!

Pool - Small but clean and quiet with beautiful views.

Apartments - Decent size, very clean.

Room service - Brilliant.

My husband and I spent our honeymoon here and fell in love with the place. The little village of Alte is beautiful and you can spend ages just wandering around the cobbled streets and quaint white houses. The hotel is very good, very clean, quiet and friendly. The staff are very helpful and you don't have to pay extra for a smile! I would describe this as a family friendly hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2010

Stayed at the alte in july 2010 was disappointed. the alte is a clean hotel thats its only good point! the location is terrible there is nothing for miles not even a bar or a restraunt! the hotel is as quiet as a funeral parlour. the rooms are dindgy and old! and the hotel has not been refurbished for a long long time. the pool is also TINY! i would not reccomend the alte hotel for a holiday!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Alte Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alte Hotel

Address: Estrada de Sta Margarida Montinho, Alte 8100-012, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Alte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Alte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Alte Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, HostelBookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Alte Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alte Hotel Algarve, Portugal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alte Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.