We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“back again,” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Niriides Hotel Apts Studios

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Niriides Hotel Apts Studios to your Saves list
Niriides Hotel Apts Studios
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Almyrida, Crete 73008, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Almyrida
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“back again,”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

had not been to almyrida for five years it was good be back, We were fortunate that we went back to niriides as this is a excellent location. The owner manager is very helpful and can help with a taxi from chania airport to his appartments, The lady that's cleans is loverly and very good at her job even helped me with my cases to the first floor, looking forward to going back.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
33
20
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

I stayed here in September and found it ideal in every respect. Nektarios, the owner, was so pleasant and helpful and has put alot of thought into what travellers want from a holiday apartment....everything was there and we always felt safe and secure. Although we hired a car for driving around this lovely island, everything in the village is easy walking distance.........convenient shops, beach, many good restaurants. I loved the pool and the thoughtful box of "left behind" pool and beach toys, to which I added my woggle when we left! I also liked the big table of books in the halllway.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BARNSTAPLE
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

My wife and I spent 2 weeks here in October. I am aiming to give information that would have been useful to us before we went but couldn't find.

Firstly, let me say that when we arrived Nektarios (Manager/Owner?) was waiting for us and carried our suitcases upto our 1 bedroom apartment on the first floor (there is no lift). He was on site quite often but not all day or every day (maybe because it was the end of season) When he wasn't a pleasant young lady was often on reception. A mobile number is provided should you need to contact them when they were not on site. Nektarios is very helpful and we had many interesting conversations and help with our Greek speaking. His dog ZEUS some kind of spaniel is absolutely gorgeous and is often wandering around.


ROOM 205
On arrival we were given a welcome gift of a bottle of water, a bottle of wine and a plate of fruit. Our room overlooked the pool and had a very large balcony with patio doors from the lounge and the bedroom. On it were four chairs and a table and also a good clothes airer.This side of the hotel faces north so only had the sun for a couple of hours in the morning. I think earlier in the summer it would get more and also in the evening when the sun sets over Souda bay. From this side of the building you also look over the road and the bakery opposite. Some reviews have said that it is a quiet side street but in fact it is very busy during the day as it is the main route through the village (there is a crossroads just to the side of Niriides. For the first few days the noise from passing traffic bothered us but then we got used to it and it became interesting watching the world go by. Also the bakery has a counter outside where they serve freshly ground coffee. There are often locals outside chatting away to each other (upto 9pm) but again like the traffic it was quite interesting. It is quiet at night though. The rooms on the rear of the building get the sun all day and face over a garden area and would be quieter if that's what you prefer. Note - parasols are provided for balconies but plans are in place to put pergolas on the balconies so maybe they won't be so necessary in future.

The rooms are serviced 6 days a week and we got clean towels every other day and sometimes 2 days running. The bed linen is changed every 3 days.
In the kitchen area there is a oven with ceramic burners on top, a full sized fridge and various cooking impliments, cutlery and chinaware. A washing up sponge, washing up liquid and tea towels were provided.
In our lounge there was a bed for a 3rd person, a settee that was so deep it could be used for a bed and was rather uncomfortable because of the depth. There was a sausage shaped cushion at the back which you had to manipulate into position behind you to make it more comfortable.
There is a television but with very limited channels and really only BBC World News was worth watching.
The twin beds were comfortable with sprung matresses but unfortunately mine had 2 or 3 springs which pinged loudly when I turned over. There are bedside lights and cabinets. The bedroom has the air conditioning unit in it. We used it once and it was efficient but wasn't really needed in October. There is a double wardrobe with 2 drawers below. This also houses the safety deposit box .
The shower has concertina doors on 2 sides but once inside it is quite tight for space and our shower head was fixed at 7 feet height, so if you don't like getting your hair wet bring a shower cap! There was always hot water but sometimes it took a while to come through.There was a glass shelf over the sink where you can put a few toileteries but you would need to keep a washing bag in the bedroom. You are provided with a small tube of shower gel and shampoo each when you first arrive but it is not replenished. Toilet rolls though were provided throughout our stay.
We found the soundproofing of the rooms to be lacking and could hear the breathing/snoring of people in the next room. As the floors are ceramic tiles people moving about can be quite noisy as can televisions (but normally quiet after midnight). As I am a light sleeper I had ear plugs with me and when I used them I got a much better sleep.

THE POOL AREA
The whole area is kept very clean. The paved area around the pool is swept frequently and washed down when required. The pool is very clean, in fact we didn't see a cleaner pool anywhere else during our stay. As stated by others, the water is cold but if you have a shower before entering as requested it helps and once you are in it is great. We had it to ourselves most of the time. Apart from the sunbeds there are also 10 or 12 comfortable chairs with a couple of large parasols and 2/3 tables which are pleasant for eating at or reading as an alternative to laying on a sun bed.

OTHER INFO
In reception there is television and there are probably 50 or more books people have left behind
and also a few games you can use. The reception door is closed when Nektarios or the other lady are not present for security. You do get 2 keys to this door. There is also CCTV coverage of this area and outside.

In your room you put a card in the slot just inside the door to operate the electric. This is on the same ring as the door key.At night when entering the room it is hard to see the keyhole in the dark to lock the door so would recommend you have a small penlight or similar.

THE RESORT

There are a lot of dogs in the neighbourhood which barked a fair amount during the day. We were probably more sensitive to this as we have a problem at home with neighbour's dogs.
There are 2 supermarkets within 50 yards which is really handy for carrying bottled water back to the room.
Immediately next to the Niriides was a jewellers and joining this was a cafe bar. This was closed in October, it might create some noise when open although havn't seen it mentioned in any other reviews.

There are a few tourist shops selling the usual beachware, several bars and coffee houses and about 7/8 tavernas most of which are adjacent to the sea. We went to Dimitris taverna everynight but the first (went to Lagos then and didn't like it - surprising to us as it is rated No1 in resort). At Dimitris we received good service, consistently good food and a free dessert when we didn't order one - also free raki which we declined as we don't like it. It was really lovely having dinner watching the waves roll in just a few feet away.

The beach is quite narrow but the sand is really fine and the sea crystal clear when calm and pretty warm as it is shallow.

If you bring travellers cheques as we did the only place to change them in resort is in the 2 big hotels on the front (Almyrida Residence & Almyrida Beach) with 5% commission. We found one cash machine next to the estate agents on the Plaka road. Didn't use it so not sure what cards it takes.

The buses to Chania stop right outside Niriides and there are about 4 a day cost I think about 2 euros 60 each way.

It is worth walking upto Plaka. It is a steep walk and mostly uphill but the views are great and just outside the village is a Taverna called Sunset . This has stunning views of the bay from the rear balcony and the food we ordered (stuffed mushrooms) was absolutely sublime. I am sure in mid summer the sunset from there would be absolutely spectacular.

There is car hire in resort at Flisvos. We hired a car for a week and went to many places that are worth visiting i.e. Georgioupolis, Rethymnon, Plakias on the south coast, and closer to home Kalives and Gavalachori .

To sum up, when the sun came out after 3 days of grey cold weather, the October weather was lovely and we had a really good time. During the last few days there was only one other couple on site so it was like having your own private villa! On leaving we were given a present by Nektarios - a bottle of Raki which he said would be much better than the free stuff in the tavernas and a bottle of local olive oil - it was a nice surprise.

Would we go again YES!!!

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the pool (ours was room 205) are north facing so are cooler but get some noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

My husband and I had a lovely week at this property. As was said in other reviews, the owner kept quietly in the background, but provided good local knowledge when asked and was prompt in fitting a sun umbrella on our balcony, a very pleasant man. The young lady who worked in the hotel was also very pleasant and even gave us some Greek lessons! The apartment was ideal for us, basic but very clean and a lovely balcony with sun all day. The shower was small, but adequate, The pool was cold to get in but very refreshing when you mustered up your courage. We ate very well. Our favourite restaurants were "Lagos" and "Elpis". The house wine was very cheap, only 6 or 7 euros a litre. I suggest you try before you buy as we settled for the rose as the red was not great. We ate breakfast with the sea lapping just below us at "Francoise's". The beach was quiet and the sea crystal clear.
A lovely holiday, we will return.

Room Tip: Room 204 faced the mountains and had the sun all day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Just returned from a lovely week's holiday at these very nice apartments. Perfectly placed with everything just a short stroll away. Several small supermarkets and tavernas two minutes away. Although there is a bakery just opposite the apartments, we found one of the "ladies" there very unhelpful. We made it clear which cakes we wanted but she put a slightly different one in the box. When we advised her of this, to our dismay she said "I've put it in the box now and they are all the same so that that"!

The beach was a lovely surprise with crystal clear waters.

Our studio room had everything we needed, Although it was very nice of an evening to have a night cap sitting on the balcony after an evening meal out, unfortunately we didn't have any sun there first thing in the morning, so a bit chilly eating breakfast outside.

As mentioned in previous reviews, the owner was quietly in the background, but very helpful dealing with any requests.

Although we didn't hire a car, the bus stop is literally outside the entrance to the apartments so couldn't be more convenient. We caught the bus into Chania which is well worth a visit.

If I had a couple of little niggles they would be that the great sized swimming pool was probably the coldest one I've ever been in - freezing cold! Secondly we were woken up twice by the overzealous cleaning lady banging about at 8am!

However neither of these small and silly things would put us off returning and our only regret was we were only there for a week!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We very much enjoyed our second stay here. As other reviews say the accommodation is very clean and very good value. The pool is beautiful and was rarely very busy during our stay. The location is very convenient for the supermarket and bakery, and the sea is just a few minutes away. The owner is very helpful in a quiet unobtrusive way.
(The apartments are self-catering but there are loads of restaurants within easy walking distance)

Room Tip: We enjoyed our room at the front overlooking the pool- there is lots to watch from the balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakewell, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I'd read the reviews thoroughly before plumping for these apartments, but you've always got a feeling in the back of your mind that reviews can be misleading (people can get angry or ecstatic over the most insignificant of things and it's possible for hotel owners to skew results in their favour with the help of friends and family) but in this case, I completely understand the wealth of positive reviews.

The staff (it is a family run set of apartments) are warm, friendly and polite. The rooms are clean, well designed, spotless and have everything you need for a week or two in the sun. The pool is big enough, immaculately maintained and always clean. To be completely honest, my only *tiny* complaint is the wireless signal in the apartment we were in which dropped occasionally and was very slow, but this may have been because we were on the end of the building and to be honest, we weren't here for the internet connectivity!

Almyrida itself is a beautiful little village in a cosy little bay, with a good selection of food establishments and shops along the seafront. Yes, the mini supermarkets are a bit overpriced and lacking choice, but given Greece's economy and the fact that tourism is probably the only source of income here, who can blame them. The meals at the various local restaurants are reasonably priced and all seem to have helpful and friendly staff, so we never ate in much, other than sandwiches and crisps.

Overall, the apartments helped us have a wonderfully relaxing and interesting holiday, and if I came to Crete again I would definitely be tempted to stay here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Niriides Hotel Apts Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Niriides Hotel Apts Studios

Address: Almyrida, Crete 73008, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Almyrida
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Almyrida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Niriides Hotel Apts Studios 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Niriides Hotel is a small complex of 12 comfortable apartments. Air-conditioned studio-apartments and two-room (one bedroom) apartments are situated inside a beautiful garden, each with its private bathroom, satellite TV, safe, telephone and fax facility, wireless internet and a fully equipped kitchen. There is wheelchair access and parking space. The hotel is only 150m away from the two shallow, sandy beaches of Almyrida while it also has a large swimming pool (12,5m X 6,5m) with a special section for children. Almyrida's beaches have been awarded the blue flag, a symbol of quality based on strict criteria, and there is always a lifeguard on watch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Niriides Hotel Apts Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Niriides Hotel Apts Studios Almyrida, Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Niriides Hotel Apts Studios, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.