We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem for those who love walking and hiking” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SK Place

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added SK Place to your Saves list
SK Place
5.0 of 5 Lodge   |   almyrida, Almyrida, Crete 73008, Greece   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Best Price Guarantee
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A hidden gem for those who love walking and hiking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

The other reviews have said it all. We've travelled the world and not even the best 5+ star comes close to SK Place. But what no one has mentioned is the fabulous walking and hiking. Katerina provided us with great advice on where to find the best hikes. Trust her, she knows from experience. We stayed in the Almyra villa from May 5 to June 15 and in those 6 weeks walked / hiked approximately 400 km. Every day we walked at least 8 km and some days up to 20 km. Katerina provided us with easy to follow guide/map books. The routes took us off the main roads and followed dirt paths, donkey trails and gravel roads. We met locals along the way and enjoyed eating at tavernas in small villages. Most of the routes were loops that took approximately 3 hours. We'd start in the morning and finish up just after lunch. Some of the hikes were more challenging (the Imbros Gorge, recommended by Katerina was incredible, we used our hiking poles for this one). We rarely encountered any other tourists along these routes (which we view as a positive), and got exposed to the real Crete. This experience was beyond our highest expectations. Also, if you stay at the SK Place Villas, you have to eat at The Emerald Hotel. The Emerald Hotel is in Plaka (a short 20 minute walk from the villa). One of our favourite walks was the "Water Cave" route through Plaka (9 km with 250m vertical along easy land roads). If you time it right, you finish up at The Emerald for lunch.
Stay at SK Place Villas and eat at The Emerald. Life is good.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
45
9
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

We stayed for a week over Easter and didn't want to go back home. Everything about this place is carefully thought out and magical. Breathtaking views, brilliant facilities and wonderful hosts. The beach is a few minutes walk from the villa.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

We are a family of 4, and stayed at Villa Ammos for 1 week end April 2014. The villa is very well appointed with all the comforts of home (but without the chores!), and the region is picturesque and with more vegetation than other parts of Crete. The owners' attention to detail is second to none, and hospitality comes naturally. Awesome views, excellent swimming pool (heated for extra charge), daily housekeeping, speed dial to owners, guides of local food and tour pickings, home delivery from nearby restaurant, selection of dvd's, cute steam/sauna unit shower, and wifi. Strongly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

A very luxurious villa in a perfect location. Everything about this property is first class from design, build quality, furniture to facilities. The pool is magnificent as are the stunning views of the sea & white mountains.

The villa owner was very helpful both before & during our holiday, offering a host of entertainment options.

The town is only 5 mins walk from the villa & there are plenty of bars & restaurant from which to choose.

This is an exclusive villa where I cannot imagine you would have such beautiful & relaxing views.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We stayed at Almira, one of the three SK Place villas - a modern and minimal, yet extremely comfortable house. We were there to celebrate a friend's significant birthday and what a wonderful way to do it. The views from the villa were superb, our host Katrina charming and gracious, and I must admit to being partial to the bottle of family produced olive oil she left us! We began our day with a daily sweat in the hamam, which left us with glowing skins ready to face the world. Because three of us don't drive it was a bonus to have the village and shops so nearby. There are two bakers, a butcher (excellent organic chicken, but he insisted on us using his recipe, which we had to agree to or he might not have parted with the bird) and a few mini supermarkets.
Almyrida is a piece or heaven, lovely beach, excellent fish restaurants of which Thalami was our favourite - if you like grilled sardines, anchovies, sea bream - for starters don't miss out on the fava bean purée or the baked red peppers with Feta. Back at the coal face now with dreams of sunsets and the white mountains. Sigh.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Stayed with the family during the middle of September - had incredibly high expectations after the reviews and wasnt disappointed. Excellent villa, with everything you could need and a short stroll into Almyrida for a good selection of bars & restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We have just returned to the UK following a fabulous 2 week stay in Villa Almyra (one of 3 luxury villas belonging to SK Place) in Almyrida, Crete. It was our first visit to Crete and we couldn't have chosen a better place to stay. The Villa is fitted out to a very high specification, and every thought has been given by the owners, Katerina and Pavlos, to make sure that those staying there have a duly relaxing holiday. Katerina is on hand to make restaurant recommendations/bookings and to arrange taxis/activity excursions etc and no request is too much trouble for her. In addition to the daily maid service (two very friendly ladies who agree with you, on your first day, what time you would like them to carry out their cleaning duties, which cover everything from making the beds, to emptying the dishwasher, keeping the interior of the Villa spotless and even cleaning the barbecue!) Katerina has arranged for the local bread man to make a daily stop in his van outside the front door of the Villa so that fresh bread and pastries can be bought for breakfast. The village of Almyrida is less than 5 minutes walk from the Villa and has a good range of tavernas and shops to cater for most requirements. The views from the Villa are simply stunning - with uninterrupted views of the sea and the village and the mountain range beyond. In summary, if you are after luxury holiday accommodation, in a wonderful relaxing part of Crete, then the Villa Almyrida (or indeed either of the two adjoining villas that make up SK Place and which are each fitted out in their own distinctive styles) should be top of your list.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Almyrida
0.4 mi away
Niriides Hotel Apts Studios
9.8 mi away
Giorgi's Blue Apartments
Giorgi's Blue Apartments
#7 of 120 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 stars 193 reviews
11.0 mi away
Sunrise Suites
Sunrise Suites
#1 of 5 in Kalyves
5.0 of 5 stars 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Renieris Hotel
Renieris Hotel
#1 of 22 in Stalos
5.0 of 5 stars 403 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Irini
Villa Irini
#2 of 20 in Almyrida
5.0 of 5 stars 17 reviews
0.6 mi away
Langley Hotel Almirida Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SK Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SK Place

Address: almyrida, Almyrida, Crete 73008, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Almyrida
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Almyrida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — SK Place 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SK PLACE is a luxury development of three very spacious independent Villas overlooking the sea on the edge of the pretty fishing village of Almyrida with breathtaking views across the Aegean towards Souda Bay and magnificent panoramic views of the White Mountains. Each villa reflects a different architectural approach with either modern (Almyra), island style (Ammos) or traditional Cretan (Anemos) characteristics. The stylish interior décor combines simple elegance with subtle accents of comfort and luxury. Enjoy the most wonderful restful sleep in superior quality Swedish beds from “Dux,” relax on sumptuous sofas or dine out under the stars and have peace of mind with easy to use electronic control systems for satellite TV, music and air conditioning. The interior spaces flow seamlessly to the outdoor areas through the extensive use of glass, allowing the spectacular scenery to be embraced from inside or out. Whilst the lush colourful gardens of bougainvillea, citrus trees, laurels, jasmine and herbs diffuse their irresistible perfumes, be transported into the abyss of endless blue from your swimming pool overlooking the sea and beyond to where the horizon meets the sky. From the intimate atmosphere to the luxurious surroundings brimming with character and charm, we have thought of everything to make your stay unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your SK Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
SK Place Almyrida, Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SK Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.