We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great upgrades” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Almyrida Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added Almyrida Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Almyrida Beach Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Almyrida Apokoronou, Almyrida, Crete 73008, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Almyrida
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great upgrades”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We had our second visit to Almyrida Beach 28th June for one week - the second was spent in Douliana - a tiny village 5k inland.

Since our last visit in September 2013 the rooms have been upgraded and the bathrooms are now wonderful - no longer open windows onto an internal corridor and great new fittings.

The staff fall over themselves to be helpful especially Tonia, Aphrodite and Irini.

I would say that Almyrida is busier in early July than we would like which meant it was a bit noisier at night, but close the window and you are OK. Next time we will return in September!

Room Tip: We prefer a room at the back but this time it was a little noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    74
    11
    4
    2
See reviews for
64
114
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Waterlooville, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Just back from a 2 week stay on half board. the rooms in the hotel have recently been updated and were beautiful. The staff were excellent and nothing was too much for them, they were very friendly and enjoyed working there. We were able to use the facilities of both hotels which was a bonus and the Residence has wonderful live music on the roof terrace. Loved that you could hire pool/beach towels for 1 euro each and because they are trying to be green you decided how long you kept them for. No request was too much, a lovely bright and airy hotel 2 minutes from a lovely sandy beach. Amazing sunsets from the roof terrace.
Food was varied and good at both breakfast and in the evening and we loved the soups!! we didn't eat there every night and did venture out. We loved relaxing by the pool at the end of the day with a glass of something and haveing a game of backgammon. the barman even taught Pete the other 2 games they play in Greece.
We would definitely go back

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Just back from a 10 day holiday here on half board. All the staff were very helpful and friendly and sorted out our daily towel problems!!! Food was fresh and varied and sitting outside in the terrace of an evening for dinner was lovely. Hotel very clean and bathroom excellent with fabulous big walk in shower.
Right on the beach where you can hire sun beds with a parasol for3 euros a day and get free wifi at Atlantis beach. Sea very warm and safe beach for children.
Found bar prices very reasonable in resort and in hotel.
Definitely will return as quite idyllic for a relaxing break in the sun.
We got a private taxi to and from the airport and were on the beach 80 mins after landing.

Room Tip: Most rooms have sea view, although a few had a view of the mountains at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds uk
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We did not stay at the hotel but did need their services in an emergency. We needed to confirm a business transaction in the UK before 5pm and time was running out. We spoke with the hotel receptionist and she assisted us in receiving a fax from the UK, signing it and sending it back to our bankers. We were so grateful for the help.
That evening we visited the roof bar of the hotel and enjoyed a glass of wine in a wonderful setting, at a reasonable price.
An excellent spot for a summer vacation we feel sure.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Let me make it clear that this review relates to the Almyrida Studios which - though belonging to the Almyrida Beach Hotel - are located a few hundred yards away at the western end of the village. Apart from bar snacks there are no dining facilities in the Studios. We stayed there on a room-only basis, making salads etc in the kitchen area for lunch (there is a fantastic deli - The Pear Tree - just a stone's throw away) and eating out at tavernas each night. We simply cannot rate the Studios highly enough. The views of the bay are stunning. The place is kept spotlessly clean by the most incredible housekeeping team we've ever come across. Beautiful and ever-helpful manager and receptionists - Fofi, Invana, Irini and Artemis - ensure that your every need is met. Indeed, nothing is too much trouble for any of the staff. Clearly the happiness, comfort and well-being of their guests is their absolute priority. On two occasions we went to concerts in the roof garden of the Almyrida Residence (same ownership) and both evenings were a delight. We've already booked for next year!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bourne end uk
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Just back from our 3rd visit to this lovely hotel.Wonderful welcome from Fofi and her Reception staff. Same room as before, with newly refurbished bathroom, nice modern sink,new suite and
fllooring throughout the room and outside landing.The garden restaurant roofing has been replaced with a more modern style and altogether, the improvements have been done most
sympathically and given the hotel a better rating in our eyes.
The food was good and varied where ever possible, plenty of choice and service first class as always.The restaurant and breakfast staff efficient as always - cold food varied, but hot food
menu is the same on alternate days.Still more than adequate and plenty of it.
As always,the staff cannot do enough to make you completely as ease.This time we felt more
relaxed so quickly it felt like our second home!!.
This hotel set in such a picturesque spot with lovely beach and restaurants that it cannot be
rated higher enough.So many fellow holidaymakers were return visitors, it just speaks for itself.
Already looking forward to next year!!

Room Tip: The new refurbished bathrooms now have some with walk in showers as opposed to bath with shower.Idea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We have just returned from our second stay at The Almyrida Beach Hotel. Went 17th June for 10 nights half board. Fabulous hotel, beautifutiful and charming village. We picked up rental car at Chania airport, takes about 40 minutes at most to reach hotel. Lots of free parking at hotel.
Lovely welcome and we had room on 2nd floor with great sea view from balcony. Rooms have been all updated and look great, only criticism for us was that we both found the mattress very hard. Small fridge in room, we asked for and quickly received a kettle and cups. Flat screen TV on wall, reception fair, gets BBC world news which is only English speaking channel. Free WiFi was a bonus although speed very slow. Linen good quality and room and bathroom spotless.
Daily maid service fabulous and so efficient and friendly. All hotel staff lovely and so helpful. Lovely hotel pool and sunbeds, poolside bar. Hotel had Greek dancing and bouzoukis night which was very energetic for those who were that way inclined!
Breakfast buffet good, evening meal/buffet was excellent. Great choice each night and delicious desserts like profiteroles, baclava, moist cakes, ice cream bar and fresh fruit, couldn't fault it! Great value. Hotel was 2 minutes walk from beautiful clean beach, several small tavernas on beach, bakery and small supermarkets a few mins walk also. Great base for exploring Crete, we drove to Chania, over mountains to choral sfakia, Kournas Lake and lots of local villages through mountains. Prices of meals and drinks locally very reasonable. Hotel and village were quiet first week, but got very busy during our last few days. We got our beach towels from hotel, 1€ teach towel which was great and freed up suitcase space. If we return to Crete, we would love to go back the Beach Hotel. A really lovely relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Almyrida Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Almyrida Beach Hotel

Address: Almyrida Apokoronou, Almyrida, Crete 73008, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Almyrida
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Almyrida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Almyrida Beach Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Almyrida Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Almyrida Beach Hotel Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Almyrida Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.