We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Holiday, Beautiful resort and Brilliant staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Almyrida Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added Almyrida Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Almyrida Beach Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Almyrida Apokoronou, Almyrida, Crete 73008, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Almyrida
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Amazing Holiday, Beautiful resort and Brilliant staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

We stayed at the Almyrida beach after seeing the great reviews it had on trip advisor and was pleased to see they were very accurate. The hotel is beautiful, big, modern and clean. It's a family environment and is also perfect for couples (the swimming pool in Alymrida beach was often filled with children but across the road in Almyrida residence are 2 extra swimming pools which not only are quiet and more relaxing but one is on the roof top which really is soo beautiful). Also to top it all off opposite the hotel is the beautiful Almyrida beach with clean sand and sea.

The food was lovely there was always a wide variety to choose from and when we missed dinner due to an excursion the hotel staff saved us a plate.

The staff in Almyrida were exceptional. Nothing was too much and they were always very friendly and genuinely showed an interest in making sure we had a good time. Thank you Donia and Aphrodite you really did make a brilliant impression on us.

Overall its an amazing resort and the staff really are brilliant. We definitely recommend it, and hope to return one day in the future!!

Room Tip: Get the sea view, it's totally worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    130
    67
    11
    4
    2
See reviews for
61
107
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sutton,Surrey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

This was our second visit to Almyrida beach Hotel, and intend to return again next year. It's such an ideal resort for R&R with a great beach, warm clean sea and very friendly people.
I can't speak highly enough of all the staff at Almyrida Beach who work so hard to ensure a wonderful holiday for all.
We really enjoy both the breakfast and evening buffets, but if you want a change there are some very nice restaurants in the village.
Highly recommended, just don't tell too many people!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

We stayed at the Almyrida Beach at the end of September for 10 days. We have now booked to return in late June 2014 for a week followed by a week up in the mountains just to experience a bit of 'real' Greece.

The hotel is beautifully clean and the staff very friendly and helpful. My only comment is that I personally found the evening food a little repetative, and I struggled a bit so we went out to eat for several nights. This however is mainly down to me, I am a bit picky and had extensive dental surgery in the summer which meant I was struggling to eat properly. Everyone else on the half-board option seemed quite happy with the food.

Almyrida itself is a lovely resort - if you turn right along the sea front from the hotel the beach gets better and better and the sunbeds and an umbrella were reasonably priced at 5E for 2 beds and a brolly per day. The beds in front of the bar Costa **** (can't remember the full name) also provided a bottle of water for that price and the food there was very good.

The beach is very shallow and safe, although it can get a wee bit busy on a Sunday when the locals come down to enjoy it too. To me that can only be a recommendation in itself.

We have a couple of days where the weather was mixed and the hotel had a little booklet of walks - we walked to Kalyves one day (took a taxi back!!) and a beautiful village called Douliana which is where we will spend out second week. Don;t want to say too much as too many other people might find it too!!! :)

The band on the roof terrace of the Almyrida Resort (one night) were also excellent but I don't know if they are going to be booked again next year as some members were returning to the UK.

We don't usually return to the same place so the fact that we are going again speaks for itself!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

If your looking for sheer rest and relaxation,this is the place to come! We stayed at the end of October,the last week of being open.the weather was gorgeous around 25's,came back with lovely tans.The hotel is just great,exceptionally clean to very high standards,the maids must work very hard and indeed do have a sense of humour.All the staff are friendly and will help you with anything,we had a problem with the shower head,it was fixed straight away,just to mention no problems with shower curtains as mentioned by previous people.breakfast is taken in the residence hotel,which is opposite,short walk,breakfast is okay,one suggestion maybe change the coffee.The roof top bar catches the sun in the afternoon,cocktails are lovely,they have happy hour too,the views are stunning of the mountains and sea,you can watch the sun go down.Almyrida is just a lovely place to stay,quiet,no noisy groups or trouble.the beach is beautiful,sea lovely and warm,places to visit,costa nita,good coffee and lovely food,the staff are friendly,sits overlooking the sea.franscoise is great for cocktails and breakfast,they make you feel very welcome.plaka is a lovely small village to visit,a few tavernas and bars,if you walk it's about 15 mins,lovely views,If you catch sunset walking up,it's just beautiful,try elpis taverna,you won't be disappointed.All in all a lovely holiday in an unspoilt place,really recommend this hotel and the staff,they all work really hard to give you an enjoyable holiday,thank you we will be back.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Stayed at The Almyrida Hotel for two weeks at the end of September . Excellent friendly hotel could not fault it and can't wait to go back . Lovely beach just steps away with soft golden sands and turquoise sea . My husband and I did a lovely walk in the hills to a little Taverna overlooking the bay and again the locals are so friendly , even the dog Ethra brings you toys to throw for her and is quite a character . Must say it is one of the most relaxing holidays we've had ..

Room Tip: Room 212 , pool and mountain view .
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in the beach hotel although had access to the residence hotel facilities. Very clean hotel, friendly and helpful staff. €1 per beach towel to hire ie €1 each time you wanted to change them; quality beach towels too! Breakfast was a good selection, alternated daily some things eg scrambled for fried eggs, bacon for sausages. Great choice of dried fruits, fruit, yoghurt, cereals. Had lunch a couple of times here, it was good, didn't eat here in the evenings but the buffet smelled nice! Sun hits the beach hotel until about 2pm then more sun on the residence hotel side, which is a 2 min walk so no need to miss out on the rays! Bar closes at midnight which means no loud music into the early hours. Definitely an island attracting mozzies! So take insect repellent. Hotel has helped by having insect screen doors on the balcony so a thumbs up for that. Would stay again, very enjoyable.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle Upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed at the hotel half board for a week in September 2013 and had a FAB time. We had breakfast in the Aldymira Residence hotel next door the hotel was fab but the food was pretty basic. The evening meal was in our hotel and this was OK we got what we paid for as this was a reasonable price for our stay
I have to say the "Happy Hour" cocktails in the "Thea bar on the roof" at the Residence were ace!!!
There are plenty of places by the beach to have a snack at lunch time and to have drinks in the evenings. We had hired a car so visited a couple of nearby places. We went to Vamos which was a quaint little village up in the mountains. We stayed for coffee in one of the little tavernas in the town square and sat watching as all the locals came to buy fresh vegetables from a guy in a pick up. We then went down to the beach at Kalymera which was very nice. We had drinks at a little bar on the beach where you have the use of their sunbeds on the beach as long as you buy a drink. Another day we went up to Pakos which is just up the mountain from Aldymira. There's a little square with a few restaurants. Be prepared to share a main course as the portions are huge but very very tasty and totally authentic Greek food. One of th local bars just round the corner from the hotel shows quite a lot of sport which was handy for my hubby. The barman Alexis (Alex) was very accommodation. My husband drinks ale at home but most of the bars and tavernas sell lagers. We found a black beer called FIX Black which my husband liked. One evening we went in and he had none left but he went to the beer and wine shop round the corner to get some for my hubby which is fab customer service. The beach in front of the hotel is pebbles but there's a nice little beach near the Aldymira studios and you can use their facilities. If you use the sunbeds on the beach there is a small charge of 3 Euros but it's worth paying this as you're close to the water. The sea is very clean and gets a bit choppy when it is windy but it was in the 80's everyday so the breeze was a godsend.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Almyrida Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Almyrida Beach Hotel

Address: Almyrida Apokoronou, Almyrida, Crete 73008, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Almyrida
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Almyrida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Almyrida Beach Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Almyrida Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Almyrida Beach Hotel Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Almyrida Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.