We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another tripadvisor gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brede Spisehus

Brede Spisehus
I. C. Modewegs Vej 1, Kongens Lyngby 2800, Denmark
45855457
Improve this listing
Cuisines: French, Danish
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Another tripadvisor gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

I would never have thought to go here by myself, it's well hidden. Great outdoor terrace with a view of the lake. Very nice building. Staff was helpful and pleasant. We had very good wines at about 500kr/bottle but the cheaper options are very limited. The menu of the day was excellent value and was great, but if you happen to not want that, then the a la carte was a bit pricey. Great for larger parties.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    16
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Authentic old world charm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

I hesitate to give away our favorite restaurants, because I want them to stay just the way they are! As a expatriate living in Denmark, this is one of our favorites. The building is the old canteen for the adjacent clothing factory, and has been restored to its original old charm. The first time we ate here it was for St. Morten's Day, a day Danes celebrate with roast duck. We've come to this restaurant for lunch as well... every time the food and service have been wonderful. And I always take note of how clean the restrooms are - which is often a problem in Denmark. Here, they are spotless.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farum, Denmark
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Quality in historic settings.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Hired the restaurant for a private function, and the restaurant served as the perfect setting for the event. Beautifully located, overlooking the lake and surrounded by the forrest, the restaurant presents itself beautifully. The staff and kitchen was excellent, everything was as promised. The food and service met our expectations fully.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Great food in idyllic location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Brede spisehus is located in a great natural environment north of Copenhagen right next to Mølleåen (Mill River) in a beautiful historical building. It serves really good food at a reasonable price. We live close by and go there quite often to enjoy this combination of natural beauty and good food - very recommendable. If you want to enhance your experience you could walk through the forest (easy hike) from Lyngby and arrive with a healthy appetite.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful location. Nice food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Very good food. French style. enjoy a nice walk by the river moelleaaen before the meal.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brede Spisehus also viewed

Lyngby, Lyngby-Taarbak Municipality
Kongens Lyngby, Rudersdal Municipality
 
Holte, Rudersdal Municipality
Kongens Lyngby, Rudersdal Municipality
 

Been to Brede Spisehus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brede Spisehus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.