We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Village Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Ocean Village Club to your Saves list
Ocean Village Club
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   PO Box 88 Ukunda | Diani Beach Road, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80401, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 31 Hotels in Diani Beach
Prague, Czech Republic
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

It's very nice accommodation, perfect service and location.
Rooms are spacious, very clean (cleaned up 2x/day), well equipped. We had family suite (for 4 people) so we had 2 bathrooms and an extra room equipped with a fridge, tea / coffee set, sofa and tv.
Beach was nice, clean, sea grass and creatures only during low tide. There were comfortable sunbeds and kind beach attendant, also drinks from the bar were served there. It was very nice to walk along the beach, only beach boys were importunate for a while, but understood "no" and also couldn't cross the hotel border.
Swimming pool was all the time clean and warm. There were also comfortable armchairs and beds with pillows.
Food was tasty, fresh, various meat and pizza were prepared on outdoor grill / oven. Sometimes tables were also moved outside so we had a dinner under the stars. Drinks from fresh juices and local alcohol were little bit strong, but amazing. There was live music or Masai dance every evening.
Service was excellent in the bar, restaurant, beach, everywhere. Always smiling and welcoming.
Spa and animation activities were also available, but we didn't utilize.
I can't imagine more worthy choice to stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    110
    10
    7
    2
See reviews for
87
177
15
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norway
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

We where here last year and were not disappointed in any way this year, on the contrary it was even better than year last year, if that was possible. We have been coming to Diani Beach for something like 20 times over the last 25 years and stayed in a few hotels along the beach during this period of time. Ocean Village is the undisputable winner. The deluxe rooms are great, plenty of room with a separate shower and a bathtub. The rooms are kept spotlessly clean our room boy Karisa did a great job. The air condition worked just fine and you could hardly hear it at all, got to be one of the first times in Kenya.

The food was fine and definitely a certain improvement on last year. We did however have a wonderful experience at the Sails restaurant in the hotel, where we celebrated our silver wedding anniversary with some friends, the restaurant staff were amazing, the lobsters so good it was evening we will remember for a very long time.

One thing we noticed is that the maintenance team were really on the ball and extremely quick to fix things, which makes us feel that the standard of the hotel will be kept up, this is important as we want to come back again and not be disappointed. It seems that the management and staff have done a good job after the renovations.

Finally the reception were always helpful with any queries and our booking handled by Grace was efficient and correct.

Would we recommend this hotel. YES

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

We came here after some time in Nairobi, busy and a safari, so were wanting to chill for a bit. This was the perfect location. The room was lovely. We had been upgraded on booking to the larger newly refurbished rooms overlooking the sea.and garden, and it was really lovely. Massive bed, lovely bathroom. Air Con worked when bathroom door was closed, as bathroom always warm. Not super cool but quite a pleasant temperature. Lovely wind kept us cool when it got hot. Service was excellent in bar, restaurant and room kept clean and tidy, without ever seeing anyone!
Food good, plenty of choice, buffet style, so you could mix and match to suit yourself. Staff happy to talk so learnt more about the local culture. The sea was warm , but there were usually people trying to sell things on the walk across the beach. We did go to one local cooperative wood carving place, and got some lovely wooden carved animals. Only a minute down beach. When we told other locals we had already bought stuff there, they politely backed off.
There were animateurs who arranged volley ball, boules and beach walks etc but they weren't pushy. The pool was lovely. In fact i can't really fault it. The inclusive drinks included cocktails, alcoholic and no, but the beer they included wasn't too great. We had wine with supper which was very pleasant. Would definitely return. So relaxed after our stay!

Room Tip: Worth paying for the slightly more expensive room with sea and garden view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Its the real definition of a beachfront getaway. The deluxe rooms are a must stay for someone looking for luxury and the interior is uniquely ultramodern. The hotel is also all inclusive and the cocktails have the funniest names ever that make you want to taste each one of them. Only concern is the TV channels are too few and DSTV should probably be installed.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the3rdrock
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

I thought it was exactly what I was looking for. It's not the Four Seasons but solidly good value. A charming, low rise, mid-sized hotel.

Extremely mellow (jazz by the pool), which was reflected in the clientele - mostly couples and groups of friends relaxing. Thank goodness this was NOT your standard AI with loud discos and package tourists knocking back shots and pints by 11am. Tourists were mostly French, German and Russian.

The beach is stunning. At low tide the inner reef is exposed and to swim you need to walk a few metres to the left. If venturing out between the inner and outer reefs, bring wet shoes as there are urchins.

I LIKED:
- 25-40% occupancy which was perfect - plenty of spare deckchairs and sofas so no need to fight and book shade spots
- charming service. Standout examples from Josiah Soloman (security), Athman & Salim (grill), Thomas (bar), Grace (reservations), Ali (front desk).
- newly refurbished Deluxe rooms - very charming and surprisingly spacious.
- excellent security (out of 5-6 hotels I popped into along the beach, this was the only that stopped me when a new guard didn't recognise me).
- decent food - reasonable quality and choice esp at lunch and dinner. breakfast was a bit same-y but acceptable.
- sympathetically designed grounds, elegant pool area.
- monkeys weren't really a problem, keep food and shiny objects covered.
- good location - an hours easy walk into town along the beach (not much other than Nakumatt, banks, souvenir and market stalls) - 45 mins walk the other way for kite surfing. 30KHS for a matatu into town.
- reasonable night entertainment - the jazz duo were excellent as were the traditional dancers. others were a little more mixed - sometimes hilarious.
- hadly any mozzies - due to the constant breeze from the sea which was a major bonus!

To be improved:
- shower gel and shampoo were barely acceptable quality which surprised me. No conditioner or body lotion but available for purchase in the shop (only slightly more expensive than Nakumatt). I brought my own toiletries given sheyashah's review and was glad I did.
- the gym was indeed a joke - 3 pieces of dusty equipment and a couple of mats. Not a big issue for me personally as there was an excellent ocean to swim in but either do a proper gym or don't advertise one - not sure you need one.
- difficult to find email and telephone details on the website. I had to google it and eventually found it on tripadviser. C'mon guys - you have a lovely hotel - you need to market this better.
- house white and rose wines were awful. The red was just about acceptable if you had to have something - most of the French guests stuck to this.

Overall: Absolutely loved it and thoroughly recommend it. They have done some really excellent work on the food and the renovations. The hotel is lovely if you are looking for a mellow, relaxing break. Hope to be back soon.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms in Blocks A and B can feel a bit exposed but not really an issue unless you are particu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

We stayed at Ocean Village club for 3 days. We were four friends and enjoyed every moment there. The hotel is inclusive of food, drinks and snacks. Hotel staff is good and caring.
There are indoor and outdoor games available. We played Lawn tennis, Table tennis, volleyball etc.
The swimming pool is good. we used to be in it at least twice a day.

Hotel hosts an event every night, We could see Music night, Masai Dance and one other tribal dance.

Rooms of the hotels are good and drawing room was quite spacious.

Overall the experience at Ocean village was awesome. And we enjoyed too much here that we even did not go out to see other places in Mombasa.

Amazing time. Thank you Ocean Village.

Room Tip: Rooms at beach side are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

With 2 kids with us, we were pleasantly surprised by the size of the room, ample space for all of us, with a good sized bathroom and balcony and even an external shower on the balcony. However in our room the neighbouring room could see into our balcony so the shower was not of much use.....poor design!

The room decor was modern/contemporary. The bathroom had a double sink but a very small bath tub with a powerful handheld shower and no curtain, resulting in water all over the floor.

The food was good, no tummy bugs for any of us which is always a bonus!!

Staff were generally ok with most providing half decent service.

The main pool didn't have a lifeguard during our stay, something we would have appreciated with young kids. However they do have a kids pool attached to the main pool.

The hotel had decent landscaping and gardens which the kids enjoyed.

Of course the beach is lovely, white sands and beautiful blue ocean!!

All in all a good clean hotel with decent facilities and food

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean Village Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Village Club

Address: PO Box 88 Ukunda | Diani Beach Road, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80401, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Diani Beach
#5 Romantic Hotel in Diani Beach
#8 Luxury Hotel in Diani Beach
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Diani Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Village Club 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As promised Ocean Village Club has , after major renovations, reopened on 1st December 2012.Most of the standard rooms have been demolished to make place for new Grand Tropical rooms. These rooms are between 42 and 50 square meters ( plus spacious verandah ) have both bath and shower, flat screen satellite T.V. minibar, personal safe, telephone, poster bed ,wifi and teack furniture.The overall concept remain the same : Ocean Village Club aims to give exceptional value for money, a smart, understated,environement for Clients that wish to relax, unwind, enjoy the sun, the beach, the ocean.As always Ocean Village Club has resisted the temptation to build too many rooms as the underlyng philosophy is that of creating an environment where clients feel part of a priviledged family, not just numbers....As always ......better yes, bigger no !! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Ocean Village Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Village Club Hotel Diani
Paladien Ocean Village Diani

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Village Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.