We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful resort in Diani Beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Baobab - Baobab Beach Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added The Baobab - Baobab Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Baobab - Baobab Beach Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   P.O. Box 32, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80400, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 30 hotels in Diani Beach
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful resort in Diani Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We have just returned from a week stay at this resort end of June and I would highly recommend this resort. Baobab Beach resort is without a doubt one of the best resorts in Diani Beach. We arrived in Diani Beach after our 4 day Safari in Masai Mara. We flew with Safari Link from Wilson Airport in Nairobi to Ukunda Airport in Diani Beach which was a 90 minute flight and only 10 minutes road transfer then from Ukunda Airport to the Baobab, it was really convenient flying into Diani rather then Mombasa Airport and then taking the ferry etc. On arrival at the resort we were greeted by a really sweet lady called Mama Africa which is her nickname at Baobab Resort. Each day she was always so well presented in stunning African outfits. Mama Africa was always in great form and making sure all the guests were okay.
We stayed in the Maridadi Section of the resort which was absolutely beautiful, we had a really spacious hotel room, beautifully decorated with a very large bathroom and walk-in shower and large balcony. All the furniture in our hotel room including our four poster bed was coconut wood which was amazing. Our room attendant Justin always kept our room so clean and tidy!! Maridadi section has a beautiful cascading pool along with a swim up bar, this section of the hotel is more chilled and quieter compared to the main pool at Baobab. It is nice to have the option of having a quieter pool area if you wish or if you want a bit of entertainment and music there are always pool side activities at the Baobab pool.
We dined in both the Baobab and Maridadi restaurants during our stay and the choice of food is exactly the same in all sections of the resort for breakfast, lunch and dinner. It is buffet for breakfast, lunch and dinner and the choice on offer is absolutely fantastic, food is delicious!! The service in the restaurants was fantastic, we got to know so many of the staff and they were always smiling and very helpful including both Milly and Sammie in the Maridadi Restaurant who are fantastic at their jobs!!
Baobab Resort is located on a beautiful stretch of beach, turquoise waters and pure white sand. We enjoyed lovely walks along the beach when the tide was out in the morning time, yes there are beach boys coming up to you a lot of the time but once you say No they do tend to get the message and keep walking. When the tide is in you can simply walk down few steps from the resort straight into the ocean which is beautiful and there are no beach boys to hassle you then. There is a really good watersports centre at the resort where you can book to go diving. There are excellent diving spots in Mombasa and very reasonable also.
We had an excellent rep service during our stay at this resort which were Pollmans Representatives and they had an office at Baobab Resort which was very handy. Naomie our Rep was always so helpful and friendly, they provide an excellent service.
I would highly recommend this resort if you are looking to go to Mombasa Beach. We felt really safe in Diani Beach during our stay, there is excellent 24 hour security throughout the resort. Staff are so warm and friendly and always smiling which makes Kenya such a wonderful destination to visit!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

949 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    666
    213
    51
    15
    4
See reviews for
201
570
22
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kisumu, Kenya
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I should have written this review a long time ago since I was there in February 2012 for my honeymoon. I tried to book a room in the baobab division but unfortunately it was full and I was booked in Meridadi. And it qas even better! ! The room was perfect in every aspect. Neat, clean, had perfect view and spacious! All the restaurants had delicious food varieties from different cuisine. The staff are friendly and helpful! Everything worked perfectly for our honeymoon in Baobab! I'd definitely go there again whenever I get a chance!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My boyfriend and I visited this hotel for a week in early May but the weather let us down. Rain all day and all the restaurants nearby the hotel (out of the resort) were shut due to off-peak season. Staff very attentive and food generally very good. But our timing was off. And the beach boys were INCREDIBLY annoying and at times even aggressive when you said no to them, which ruined any walks down the beach we tried.

Room Tip: Stay in Maridadi wing to have close access to pool without loud music (baobab).
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ceske Budejovice, Czech Republic
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Stayed here with my wife from 14 Jun - 25 June - transfer is a bit long, but it is great experience drive through Mombasa. The resort was beautiful, well maintained, kept extremely clean and located in beautiful tropical gardens.

The staff were truly amazing, everyone would go out of their way to help you whether you tip or not. This was right through the hotel from the waiters on breakfast to the pool attendants exchanging towels! They had always smile on their faces and were so friendly.

We went on the 1 night Tsavo East adventure safari organised by JT Safari who has a new office near Diani Sea Resort. I can't recommend them enough. Our tour guide Ken was amazing. Ken was very friendly, very experienced and knowledgeable. Ken was punctual throughout our safari ensuring that we were always informed of the plan for the day. He was excellent spotter. There would be plenty of animals which we would never have seen without his excelent knowledge and eyes. He always made a few jokes and whole trip was full of fun and animals.

All in all the holiday itself was brilliant for the amazing time on safari and time spent at Baobab.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife and I came here on honeymoon and the Baobab was really special. The location is idyllic and the food is absolutely amazing. Much of it is cooked fresh to order. My wife is a vegetarian and had plenty of options during our two week stay.

The monkeys are great and provide a lot of entertainment. Boys on the beach are a bit of a pain.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I visited the Baobab Beach resort and Spa on business. I had for a long time wanted to book a holiday at Baobab. The property is huge. With 3 hotels in one, it looks really amazing. The swimming pools are fantastic and pleasing to the eye. If staying at Baobab, it is possible to use the pools and restaurants at any of the other two hotels- its like free access.

I stayed on the Baobab end, and took a standard room. The rooms are ok, nothing out of this world, but for a few extra shillings (about 2,000 at the time of this review) I would recommend that one takes the superior rooms, they are more spacious and look fantastic. Furniture is even much better than the ones in the standard rooms.

Food was alright, nothing out of the ordinary. However, I feel that service will really let the hotel down. Being a local, I felt that the service received was skewed in favor of foreigners- some staff are not really interested in listening to you/ serving you with the same standards of excellence as they would for the foreigners.

It rained quite a bit on my visit there, when the rains stopped, one would find the corridors wet from the rain water- which in itself is a hazard.

Otherwise, I would rate it as merely OK, nothing in particular would make me strongly recommend them.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra and get the superior rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Everything you read about the monkeys is true. Follow all the instructions about the monkeys. They will steal your food, but there are guards always On the watch armed with catapults.
The pros:
1)Beautiful rooms I.e the Maridadi wing
2)A few enthusiastic employees especially the porters, Linda,Rama and Dorcas at the Maridadi hotel.

The cons:
1)A non existent kids club. Their idea of fun for a 6 year old is a game of Bao, a game played by old men while sipping beer at the coast.
2)Some of the staff feel bothered to assist the guests, an attitude we picked from the reception. We went to pick an umbrella while it was raining and we had an infant, only to be told there were none and there was nothing they could do about it.
3)We had our own mobile internet but It's a SHAME that they charge for internet in this day & age while whole towns & 1 star hotels have free internet in Kenya.
4)A lot more can be done about the food as it tended to be monotonous & lacked flavor.
5) We requested to stay for an extra 1.5 hours late check out. The reception persistently deffered our requests to the morning of the check out despite the hotel being half empty. We stayed there for 4 days and were only requesting for 1.5hrs because the weather had become rainy and cold and we had an infant. Our taxi was scheduled to arrive at that time.On the check out morning the receptionist told us we had to pay 1000ksh per person to remain on the hotel grounds whether in a room or not for 1.5 hrs past our check out. He said the reason for this was that the hotel was all inclusive and he was not going to monitor wether we would eat or drink anything for the 1.5 hours after our checkout. Please note that this conversation was occurring immediately after breakfast on our checkout date. It took the intervention of our travel agent via the front office manager to be allowed to sit in the room for 1.5 hrs till our taxi arrived.
6. All inclusive : Most hotels where we have gone to in the past that were all inclusive put in some few sodas in the room fridge just in case you did not want to sit at the bar. At Baobab, if you want the all inclusive soda you have to go to the bar to pick one in a glass. If you request for the same soda in a bottle for your room fridge then you have to pay for that. So anytime the kids wanted soda and it was raining outside we had to go down to the bar to come back up with two glasses of soda.
7. The beach boys at south coast are more aggressive that those at the north coast , they hardly take no for an answer and leave you with little privacy to enjoy the beautiful sand and ocean in the south coast.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Baobab - Baobab Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Baobab - Baobab Beach Resort & Spa

Address: P.O. Box 32, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80400, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Diani Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Diani Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Diani Beach
#6 Luxury Hotel in Diani Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Diani Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Baobab - Baobab Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the world famous Diani Beach. The resort comprises three luxurious properties – The Baobab, The Maridadi and Kole Kole, offering a unique selection of exquisite accommodation and facilities spread across the resort grounds. Guestrooms have been specifically designed to provide paramount comfort and luxury for all our clients. Guests may utilise leisure facilities across the resort including 3 swimming pools, dining areas and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com, Despegar.com and HotelsClick so you can book your The Baobab - Baobab Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Baobab - Baobab Beach Hotel Ukunda
The Baobab - Baobab Beach Resort And Spa
Baobab Beach Hotel Diani

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Baobab - Baobab Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.